Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Royal Road to War
Before World War I the belief that monarchs ruled by divine right was alive and well in Europe--at least among the monarchs themselves. George, Nicolas and Wilhelm were cousins who reigned in Britain, Russia and Germany during the years leading up to the war. By the end of the war Tsar Nicolas and his family had been assassinated, and Kaiser Wilhelm was in exile having...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Jaylia3

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too condescending to be an objective history
Unfortunately, I cannot rate Miranda Carter's book as highly as many of the other reviewer's have. And this is mainly for two reasons. First, the book is confusing. Although there is a general historical progression throughout the whole book, beginning with the births of these three rulers and ending with the aftermath of World War 1, within each chapter and sometimes...
Published on 19 Aug. 2012 by R Helen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and informative book given the complexity of the situation ..., 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear and informative book given the complexity of the situation between those who saw themselves as absolute rulers, appointed by divine right, surrounded by 'yes people' seeking to hold on to power and maintain the social status quo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lacks balance, 5 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was arduous trying to read this very negative view of the royal dynasties in Europe at the start of the last century, and this is a shame because the author's arrangement of the source-material is often skilful. Ms.Carter appears to be uncomfortable with the entire scene. There is a continuously unsympathetic edge to the narrative, which is very hard on the characters involved -and more and more dreary for the reader to get through. These people weren't perfect, but were human beings after all, and most of them were doing their best as they saw it at the time. No allowances are made here: in Ms Carter's book they are all hopeless and nothing is to be said for them.

These royal and imperial rulers may well have been in some respects inadequate, made mistakes, been incompetant (and there are few rulers who aren't!), but none of them exhibited ill-will, or actual hatred towards their own people, in the sense that Stalin, Hitler and other recent tyrants have. Ms.Carter omits this distinction completely. Personally, I'd much rather have this bunch than the Hitlers and Stalins etc. who emerged afterwards.

About half way through, the author arrives at the accession of King Edward VII in 1901 -and at this point she finally lost me. The new King was, by most contemporary accounts, a man of goodwill and a generally positive influence on the international stage. But no, Ms.Carter prefers to see him as hopeless like all the rest, "a flop" we are decisively told. That's a step too far, a silly judgment which isn't sustained by the contemporary evidence. A flop was one thing he wasn't, he was arguably the most respected figure in the world- though not faultless.

By then it was clear that a negative view was on the cards for all the characters, and the whole story. I couldn't face reading more of this slant, and I'm sorry to say, had to put the book down. The book is wanting in balance. I regret this remains a review of the first half, though I looked further on. The book contains some interesting photographs, and 'Hello' magazine gets a mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Kindle Edition)
Well written and full of facts. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three cheers, 29 Dec. 2009
This is one of the better general reader-type histories I have come across in a long time.

It is well written, and tries to be fair when pointing out that however stubborn, small minded, or plain foolish the main characters were, it was not entirely their own faults, what with their education, families, and general isolation. It does, however, demonstrate quite clearly that the breeding practises of Europe's royal families produced the sort of people who would perhaps make better lap dogs, these being the only other creatures I can think of with such pedigrees off the top of my head.

Using the three emperors (although no British monarch except Victoria has ever seen super keen to use the imperial title) as a method of examining Europe and the lead up to the First World War emphasises again what a horribly pointless and hopeless exercise that was. It is interesting that it seems of the three only to have been George who was distressed by the outrageous loss of lives. Indeed, for all the faults of the English "emperor" under discussion, and we are provided with many (the refusal to offer the Tsar refuge being horrifying, Lloyd George taking responsiblity being more than touching), it seems that those of us within in British Empire/Commonwealth at least had the best of them. Carter is not discussing the history of the Empire, yet does mention some of the horrors of its rule, but when compared with the alternatives, we should be rather thankful.

This book provides a fascinating combination of biography, and national and royal histories, coupled with several interesting photographs of one of the world's leading collections of moustaches. An engaging read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent captivating pacey, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Kindle Edition)
Really great read, gives a factual and personal review of 3 kings which shaped our political landscape. fleshed out the men that are normally only referred to in statistical terms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Emperors, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a gift for my partner who really enjoyed it. He said it was really interesting to cover the 3 cousins as they travelled through the same period of history together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Kindle Edition)
Illuminating - what scholarship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a gift to my husband and he was thrilled with it. Again as it was packed in Amazon cardboard so it was in perfect condition when we received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well detailed. Very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely interesting, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written. Liked the family trees at the front as the relationships are very complicated. Makes sense of the TV programmes covering this period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews