Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The liverecord that makes you feel like you are there yourself, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Koos "Koos Reitsma" (Groningen, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
It's rough. It's tough. It's raw. It's energetic. It's emotion. It's power. It's audience. It's like you are there yourself. It's like you are a part of the audience. It's like you can touch Sam Cooke himself.

It cracks. It swings. It smashes. It sweats. It will make you feel Sam Cooke is exhaustion at the end of the show. It's 100% live soul. It's Sam Cooke at his peak. It's Sam Cooke delivering 100%.

At the time of writing this review: It's missing in Amazon's top 25 live album of all times. It's missing in Rolling Stone reader Top 10 poll. It's missing in NME's top 20. The record is missing in a lot of top live albums.

And that's a thing I just can not understand. This live performance from 1963 (!) shows how an artist or a band should deliver a live performance. It's such an excellent energetic performance it blows me everytime away. You actually can hear little cracks in Sam Cooke his voice, but his voice doesn't collapse. It is impossible to sit still, to read a book or to stand still once Sam Cooke starts to perform with this performance. His invisible hand will grab you and will drag you to the speakers.

It's still my all time favorite live record. What a record. What a live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT! BUY IT! BUY IT!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
I thought this would be brilliant; it was better. Electric performance from one of the greatest singing talents ever. A shame that there isn't more of it. You'll be singing these songs for weeks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest of all live albums., 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
As every reviewer has already said, this is a fabulous recording - an absolutely stunning live performance that just sweeps you away. It ought to be at the top of every poll in every book or magazine, but oddly it isn't - don't ask me why. Personally I rate it higher than JB's Live at the Apollo, and BB King's Live at the Regal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute gem, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
One of the greatest live albums of all time. Sam Cooke's vocal performance is quite different to the majority of his studio recordings, raw, soulful and charismatic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Sam Cooke, 19 May 2013
By 
Mr. P. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of Sam Cooke as long as I can remember (and I'm ancient now). This album shows Sam at his best, working a crowd in live performance with a powerful, exciting performance, in contrast to some of his RCA recordings which came perilously close to easy listening. The live album is closer to his work with the Soul Stirrers and I recommend it unreservedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let me tell you `bout a place..., 14 Mar 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
You know how people (quite rightly) go on about how great James Brown Live at the Apollo or B.B. King Live at the Regal are? Well this is just as good, even though it`s a mere 37 minutes long.
Sam Cooke had one of the most subtly soulful voices of them all, being one of the first `soul` singers to be so called, and to hear him live at his torrid best is to to hear one of the greatest popular voices of the last century.
The clean, smoothly soulful Sam you hear on the studio hits is heard here as a man working himself and the appreciative crowd into a swingingly soulful sweat, voice cajoling, seducing, caressing...
You don`t want it to be over so soon, which is the only drawback to this precious set from 1963 (just before Sam died) but what`s here is totally compelling, committed and as danceably atmospheric as it gets.
If you love Sam Cooke, then you must have this (and probably do). If you`re curious about the late soul pioneer, this would be a grand place to start.
It`s a steaming, soul-stirring thirty-seven minutes of your time, and I defy you to sit still while it`s on.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of All Time, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
This has got to be the best live album of all time. Sam Cooke works the audience like no other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
Very very good live recording from one of the founding fathers of soul, much rougher than his studio records, you can hear where Otis got a lot of his inspiration. Great band, great singing, what more do you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Party, party! Atmospheric Live Album, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
Brilliant live album from a musical genius. A musical talent snubbed out far too soon due to his political opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough of Sam and his wonderful voice., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Night Stand - Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963 (Audio CD)
I'm loving this set, can't get enough of Sam and his wonderful voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews