Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont take it seriously
This film is a good film to watch on a saturday evening with a few beers. I see there have been alot of negative reviews made about it but the truth is its a film not to take seriously. Yes some of the acting is a bit static and some of the jokes we have seen before but who cares? Its a fun story which im sure we can all relate too. Its not comedy genius but it is a small...
Published on 20 Mar 2010 by S. Jnr

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!
I bought this film mainly after seeing a trailer which prompted my wife to say "that looks good" plus the fact (a) that is was a fairly cheap price and (b) Vince Vaughan starring. Unfortunately the actual film did not live up to the blurb. Very disjointed,rarely funny & tiresome. We both could not wait for it to end.
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Mr. C. M. Skrzypczak


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont take it seriously, 20 Mar 2010
By 
S. Jnr "mrice87665" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is a good film to watch on a saturday evening with a few beers. I see there have been alot of negative reviews made about it but the truth is its a film not to take seriously. Yes some of the acting is a bit static and some of the jokes we have seen before but who cares? Its a fun story which im sure we can all relate too. Its not comedy genius but it is a small outstanding gem in the treasure chest of comedy films that are out there. Definitly worth a watch but for others who take film a little more seriously probably not a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. C. M. Skrzypczak (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Couples Retreat [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film mainly after seeing a trailer which prompted my wife to say "that looks good" plus the fact (a) that is was a fairly cheap price and (b) Vince Vaughan starring. Unfortunately the actual film did not live up to the blurb. Very disjointed,rarely funny & tiresome. We both could not wait for it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun-Loving Film, 15 Jun 2010
This review is from: Couples Retreat [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a great, fun-loving film that will really get you in the holiday mood! It is based on the idea of struggling couples who go to this island in search of relighting their fire, each discovering they have more problems than they thought.
It was filmed at the St. Regis resort in Bora Bora and the setting is truly breathtaking!!

Bearing this in mind, the scenery still does not detract from the short, funny quips that the film has to offer - with noticeably good performances from ALL the cast. (Some of whom are only familiar faces in previous commedies.) Even Jean Reno's character - Monsuire Marcel - is fantastically funny yet still believable as a therapist.

The film is light-hearted and inoffensive with some awkward, yet funny scenes involving a good-looking yoga instructor and in contrast, Vince Vaughn is covered in chum, then overly exaggerates his experience with some small reef sharks! (Amusing the others at dinner.) Both these scenes and some others (such as the Guitar Hero playoff) in the film make it an enjoyable watch and it is definately worth the price.

However the film does lack an in-depth story and has a somewhat predicatable ending - but what more do you want from this genre anyway??
For those who enjoy a light-hearted giggle and some hilarious episodes, with a bit of originality, this film is worth the watch. If you are looking for some intense acting and a hard-talking storyline, then this is not your kind of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean Reno pulls it all together, 17 Feb 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Couples Retreat [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
A couple wants to see if their marriage is worth saving and want to go to a retreat for that purpose. The Retreat is too expensive so they invite there friends to participate. The friends only have to go and have fun. Yeah sure. They never anticipated a lesson in etiquette, tantra yoga, and an agenda that includes Jean Reno at his best.

We already know the formula. Today it is usually just a couple where one partner is either a rat or just out to prove something at the other partner's expense. There have also been couples interactions as in "The Four Seasons" (1981) with Alan Alda. However it is not the formula as much as how the story flows and the actors pull it off. There may be a few twists and turns that add to the fun.

The location is Bora-Bora, Tahiti, French Polynesia, and really looks inviting in Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 5 Mar 2010
By 
I liked this film a lot and give it 8/10 for laughs. Vince Vaughn held it all together well, with some fine supporting acting from Jason Bateman and Jon Favreau who provied some of the more wry comedic moments in the story. I definitely thought there was some food for thought in the 'teachings' of 'Marcel' (Jean Reno) and suspect it might make more than one couple take a long hard look at their relationship.

Good fun and easy on the eye .. and I'm not just talking about Vince Vaughn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good actually - 3.5 stars, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When a couple whose relationship is on the rocks (Jason Bateman and Kristen Bell) they invite their friends (including Vince Vaughn, Jon Favereau and Kristen Davies) to a tropical resort (filmed in the truly breath-taking Bora Bora) to attend some relationship therapy as this means that they can go for cheaper. When the couples arrive there, it isn't quite as fun as they were expecting and the other even begin to question their own relationships.

I wasn't expecting too much from this film to be honest but I was pleasantly surprised that this was a very funny and good fun film with some real laugh out loud moments and decent characters. As well as the jokes, it does have some interesting insight on relationships - old and new - and love. The location is simply stunning and in Blu Ray it looks absolutely outstanding, to be honest, with all the bright colours, this is one of the best looking films I have seen on the format. The plot is fairly straightforward and I could complain that it is a little predictable but what more would I expect from a rom-com? This is a great date movie, not just for the ladies either, and one I'll definitely be watching again soon.

FILM - 3.5 out of 5
PICTURE - 5 out of 5
SOUND - 5 out of 5
SPECIAL FEATURES - 2 out of 5 (including a pointless alternative ending)
OVERALL - 3.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars CR, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Couples Retreat [DVD] (DVD)
Good film. It was a bargain so I had to buy it. The story line is good and it's entertaining to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny movie, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The wife and I really enjoyed this film. An easy going film with plenty of laughs. Definitely one to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 14 April 2014
By 
Ms. V. J. Taylor "V Taykir" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Couples Retreat [DVD] (DVD)
A fab film, I have watched this over and over again and cant get bored. The cast are brilliantly put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uplifting comedy, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Couples Retreat [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film if u need cheering up. I found it funny and uplifting. I actually ordered it whilst watching on tv over christmas as i liked it so much :) Recommend this film to all in need of a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Couples Retreat [Blu-ray] [2009]  [US Import]
Couples Retreat [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] by Peter Billingsley (Blu-ray - 2010)
£6.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews