Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD brings The Jam at their very best. Much criticised at the time for being revivalists
This CD brings The Jam at their very best. Much criticised at the time for being revivalists, they were nevertheless my favourite of the first generation punk bands (and I used that word unequivocally). I saw them live in 1977 and 1978, and this CD captures the excitement well.Their slogan Fire and Skill is so true, as both the Peel Sessions and the live recordings bear...
Published 7 months ago by Punk Snail

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Prompt service by seller that's the best thing I can say.
Ok ish not the best album I have ever bought
Published 4 months ago by JD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD brings The Jam at their very best. Much criticised at the time for being revivalists, 12 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
This CD brings The Jam at their very best. Much criticised at the time for being revivalists, they were nevertheless my favourite of the first generation punk bands (and I used that word unequivocally). I saw them live in 1977 and 1978, and this CD captures the excitement well.Their slogan Fire and Skill is so true, as both the Peel Sessions and the live recordings bear testament. Disc 1 has the Jam in the early stage, with a raw, power pop edge to them. The second CD is more nuanced and melodic, pointing the way to The Style Council and Weller's solo work. Never embarrassed to show a love of both Doctor Feelgood as well as Motown, besides being inspired by seeing The Pistols and The Clash, the band also perform several cover versions with their usual gusto.
This is the power trio at its best. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
I knew of The Jam in the mid 80's thanks to my elder brother. At the time their sound didn't do much for me. In the mid 90's I got into Paul Weller solo which led me back to The Jam.

This collection of Beeb recordings is a must for anyone out there who has been a fan of one of the best bands to ever release an album.

As a side not the Paul Weller solo BBC double disc is also a great purchase if you like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars alternate, 6 Jan. 2015
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
these recordings are probably some of the last officially available
more live albums will see the light of day eventually
this is an alternate greatest hits, so essential for jam fans
I saw them live in '79 and an edited show is included here
with no in the city, all around the world, a bomb or English rose
it would be good to have the complete concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jamtastic, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
Fantastic double cd featuting a great variety of Jam tunes. Some tunes appear more than once (different recordings of course) so perhaps they could have replaced those songs with others, but this is still a great double cd and sounds great in the car on a rainy drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
As new brilliant :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jam At the BBC, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
Great to hear The Jam as they were, brought back great memories of seeing them live in 1980.Any fan of punchy, angry young man, punk/new wave music will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars present, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
My partner Steve loves this band and has played this album frequently whilst dancing and singing around the house. Loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Christopher Noone (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
Highly recomended to any fan of The Jam; high quality, but at the same time energetic, stripped down, and raw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommended album for Jam fans, 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
CD arrived quickly , as described, recommended album for Jam fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jam At The BBC (Audio CD)
Excellent- thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jam At The BBC
Buy MP3 Album£14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews