Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big game hunt
The average rating here for this DVD doesn't really do it justice - there's no way it can be compared with the unholy mess that was Aliens v Predators; the cast are much better, there are actually some reasonably-developed characterisations, the Predators themselves are great, and it's got Larry Fishburne as a crazed survivor - what's not to like?!
I wasn't sure...
Published on 15 April 2011 by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, bland
What did I just watch? I as expecting alot more action with this story.

I either missed the scene in the trailer where all the red dots appear from the predators or they decided to put it into the trailer only to make the film look better.

The plot is ok but seriosuly the whole film drags, no real action or decent characters to care about. The whole...
Published 6 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big game hunt, 15 April 2011
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
The average rating here for this DVD doesn't really do it justice - there's no way it can be compared with the unholy mess that was Aliens v Predators; the cast are much better, there are actually some reasonably-developed characterisations, the Predators themselves are great, and it's got Larry Fishburne as a crazed survivor - what's not to like?!
I wasn't sure about Adrien Brody initially but he proves to be a strong lead and the chemistry between him and Alice Braga's Israeli sniper is good too. The format, whereby the seemingly disparate bunch are picked-off one by one sticks closely to the original's template, and there is even a fleeting reference to Arnie's character from the 1987 movie.
Overall this isn't a cerebral film or a thoughtful Sci-fi study; it's a wham-bam Hollywood popcorn movie, and with that in mind it certainly ticks all the right boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great return for the predator., 6 Nov 2010
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
This film does exactly what you would want from a predator film. It takes a little while to get going but once it does it goes at a very entertaining pace. It's a 15 rating so its not as blood thirsty as the first 2 predator films but there is plenty of action and enough blood to keep everyone happy. Adrien Brody plays the lead very well, the supporting cast is good and there are plenty of duels, explosions and laser cannons to go around.

The only disappointment for me is that a fight scene with a samurai sword wielding yakuza mumber against a predator was just not long enough, but still great fun. And if that wasn't enough, we even have the legendary predator fighting an even bigger, badder predator. What more could you want? Anyone who enjoyed the first 2 films will definately like this one. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because it was never going to be better than the original. GET TO ZE CHOPPER!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, bland, 15 May 2014
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
What did I just watch? I as expecting alot more action with this story.

I either missed the scene in the trailer where all the red dots appear from the predators or they decided to put it into the trailer only to make the film look better.

The plot is ok but seriosuly the whole film drags, no real action or decent characters to care about. The whole alien animal dog thing was just stupid aswell.

Worst part for me was when Laurence fishburne uses a predator stealth suit, oh please -_-.

Dont get me started on the little scene when one guy is talking about rape, not cool.

2 stars for visual effects and for keeping the original soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The return of a great franchise!, 1 Nov 2010
By 
theone&only (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
It's always good to see Predators back on the screen as they are so iconic. Recent efforts (AVP, AVP: Requiem) have not been the best films but we all love Predator and the film makers know this so they don't have to try very hard!
Now the new one 'Predators' is trying to redress the balance of being a good film which we should all be happy about!

So the first thing you have to wonder when watching this movie is WHY?? Why try to remake the original so closely?? Predator 2 managed to be a really good film without jungles and soldiers so couldn't they have done the same here? Its hardly an original idea - soldiers running around in the jungle being hunted. Oh. I've seen that before somewhere.... Adrien Brody has been getting all kinds of accolades as being an excellent actor in this film. I'm not sure why as there's not the greatest amount of acting and emotion here. Just American hero bluster as usual. The supporting cast does an OK job but they were never going to be iconic as Blain, Billy, Poncho, et al so why bother trying to do that again?

Another downside is the Predator planet itself. It looks like Earth, has the same gravity, atmosphere, vegetation etc. Couldn't they have at least tried to make it look like an alien planet....just a little?

Those gripes aside, once we finally get into the action, Predator fans do get a treat. The Predators look cool and make short work of the heroes one at a time which is what we want to see. The dark edge and Royce's escape plan finally give the movie some direction and go on to build the tension nicely (even though its not difficult to guess where its all going) towards the end. The ending is where the film finally pays off and it all gets good so its all worth it!

Overall this is a weird film to judge. If you're not familiar with the old Predator, you will love this and wonder where the great ideas came from. For us more familiar people, its hard to complain about the quality of the film....we've just seen it all before. Its like when your favourite band has to rip off its former glories to make a half decent album which is an uncomfortable feeling, despite the fact you want to praise them for giving people what they want. So a decent movie then but by no means a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's yer piano?, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
...Arnie

...Danny Glover

...Adrien Brody ....Who???

If you're going to make an action film, put an action hero in it. Not somebody who was known form playing a fella that played a piano! Sheeeesh!

All said and done it was better than Aliens vs Predators Requem, ...but then again, so is static interference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predators - OK addition to a once great series, 14 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
After the somewhat abysmal Alien vs. Predator Requiem, the Predator series was badly in need of a reboot if it was to continue. And I felt that it should continuum because AVPR was such a sour note to leave a once great series on. Robert Rodriguez took on the challenge, and has produced a film that doesn't achieve the greatness of the first two films, but is a lot better than AVPR and a worthy addition to the series.

A miscellany of humans, chosen seemingly for their killing prowess, find themselves transported to a strange jungle. It slowly dawns on them that they are being hunted, but by what? Slowly they put the pieces together and, inevitably, come up with a plan to fight back.

It's an OK film. It's a good premise, with the predators plonking the humans into their own game reserve. It manages to have some continuity with the original predator, but is self contained and can be easily understood by people who haven't seen the previous films. The tension is nicely built up in the first half of the film, with some nice set pieces as the group find out about each other and the situation they are in. But then it all starts to go a bit tepid. Here, as the title implies, there are lots of predators. In the original films there was only one, and it seemed a real threat. Here, there are many and they seem to be killed off rather easily, and seem less of an actual threat to our heroes. So the big fights and action scenes lose some of their edge for my taste. It's well staged, and has a decent ending that leaves things open for a possible sequel, but it just isn't quite in the same league as the first two films. So only 3 stars - it's watchable, but no classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Return For A Favourite Franchise, 17 April 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
Saying almost anything about the plot of Predators (others than it has lots of twists) is going to spoil things. The franchise is alive and well and staying within its own story boundaries. This particular scenario permits us a much wider range of humans for whom to root. There are lots of clues given to later events, so the film repays careful watching, and the sight of Adrian Brophy as an action hero is certainly impressive. Predators does not step outside the style of the first film, so if gore, fighting and problem-solving are not your thing then you'll not enjoy it. I did enjoy it, especially the way it always pulled the rabbit out of the hat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'THERE IS NO HIDING PLACE', 13 Jun 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Predators [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Eight 'Elite Warriors are unexplainably brought together on an alien planet with no idea how they got there., however
they will soon learn that they are 'prey' to be hunted down by a merciless 'Alien Race' known as 'Predators'
A tense and often gory battle of survival against the skills of the Alien beings.
Among the cast list - 'Adrien Brody' as 'Royce' 'Topher Grace' as 'Edwin' 'Alice Braga' as 'Isbelle' 'Laurence Fishburne' as
'Noland' and 'Danny Trejo' as 'Cuchillo'
When released there were many negative reviews about the film, however if you've seen the others you know what to expect,
For me it does manage to bring back much of the flavour of the 'Arnie' film, when we were first introduced to the species that are 'Predators' (Of course that was a classic movie)
i enjoyed this myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predators, 2 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
What it says on the back of the box.

Robert Rodriguez presents Predators, a bold new chapter in the predator universe. Adrien Brody stars as Royce, a mercenary who reluctantly leads a group of elite warriors in a mysterious mission on an alien planet. Except for a disgraced physician, they are all cold blooded killers - mercenaries, mobsters, convicts and death squad members - human "predators". But when they begin to be systematically hunted and eliminated by an unimaginable horrifying alien, it becomes clear that suddenly, they are prey!

Run time - 102 Minutes

Special features - Crucified (motion comic) - digital copy.

Review
The version I have purchased is the DVD version with the digital copy and not the blue ray version so that it is pretty much in keeping with the first 2 films in the series in my collection. The motion comic is ok but will probably be more for the younger viewers than older ones however it does kind of answer some questions raised about why you have a predator tied up in the predator camp. The digital copy that came with this DVD works with I tunes and is the typical 1 use deal that you normally get which is understandable for them to wanting to restrict the number free digital copies going out but a bummer if you buy the film second hand and some one has already claimed the film. The Digital copy it's self seems to flicker slightly but this could just be my PC requiring some newer parts.

The story is as it states above in the summary and if you've seen the adverts you will have pretty much gained the idea of how it goes. It consists of various creatures and humans who have been selected to be hunted by the predators the storey suggests that they are all selected for their predatory nature which is why you have a cartel drug enforcer, African enforcer, yakuza mobster, Russian special forces, Israeli defence force sniper, mercenary, death row inmate and a serial killer. The new element to the predator universe/world is they have introduced a new type of alien predator that is bigger than the old one oh and they have predator dogs.

The film is in my opinion one of Rodriguez's best films so far up there with from dusk till dawn, the faculty and sin city. The film is well shot and flows in similar fashion to the first predator film with the script also in that style, basically it's a 80`s action movie shot with people not on steroids. I would have liked to have had the crucified comic as a hard copy and they could have added in that short back grounds to the human characters either in the film or the comic. Another thing I would liked would have been more shots of the other creatures in stead of just the 1 half way into the film. The film is worth adding to your DVD collection if you liked the older films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars he does a great job in a visually fierce addition to one of ..., 19 Oct 2014
By 
genregeek (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Predators (2010) [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw Adrien Brody cast in this, I was initially a bit dubious. He's not exactly Arnold. However, he does a great job in a visually fierce addition to one of my favourite film franchises. It was a great fresh take, both on 'alien abductions' and taking the Predator universe to a new level, showing them turning on each other as well as the standard hunting fayre.

I definitely want to see more films in the franchise on this vein. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predators [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews