Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S ALL ABOUT JULI
The story consists of first person narrations. First his story, then her story. As always things are never as they seem. It is 1957 when Bryce moves next door to Juli. Juli is forceful, even at age 7. Bryce has great hair, eyes, and smile. Juli is bright and has personality. Byrce's family is somewhat shallow, except for the grandfather. Juli's family is poor by...
Published 14 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed
had seen the reviews and clips of the film on internet really had a difficult job being able to get it for the UK i paid far more than expected for it £15 is quite a lot these days and although i enjoyed it, it was quite a let down for me as id expected it to be much better, nevermind.
Published 19 months ago by Chrissy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S ALL ABOUT JULI, 27 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flipped [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The story consists of first person narrations. First his story, then her story. As always things are never as they seem. It is 1957 when Bryce moves next door to Juli. Juli is forceful, even at age 7. Bryce has great hair, eyes, and smile. Juli is bright and has personality. Byrce's family is somewhat shallow, except for the grandfather. Juli's family is poor by comparison but they have different priorities. The story quickly moves to the seventh grade when Juli realizes that Bryce, while good-looking, may indeed be shallow and not the person of character she should be seeking. Meanwhile, Bryce realizes his short comings and sees that Juli is a person of substance. In addition to the good back and forth for what may be expected for kids that age, it includes as a bonus a good father-daughter relationship film as Juli learns what she needs to know about life from her father. What is good about the movie is that the characters are real. They are not all good or all bad, but human beings attempting to do what they think is right in spite of their flaws.

This movie has an indie feel, and is enjoyable to the young at heart for people of all ages, but may be especially enjoyable to seventh grade girls.

Rebecca De Mornay is barely recognizable as an early 60's mom.

One scene of "violence" when Bryce's dad slaps his teen daughter for calling him an a-hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good watchable movie for a weekend, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Flipped (Amazon Instant Video)
Really Good watchable movie for a weekend..well filmed, well cast - it seeps nostalgia and is a family friendly film which will delight.. predictable plot but it is soooo good to watch you don't even notice...

Centred around a young girls view of her 'crush' and the boy's view; its a must for a slow sunday..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent child actor drama, 26 Jan 2012
This review is from: Flipped [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Well, I didn't know anything about this. If I'm honest I was actually downloading a torrent for Blue Valentine and this was what I got. I checked IMDB and saw a good review and thought "what the heck I'll keep watching". What an excellent evocative show of growing up and perspectives. Buy it, download it, whatever. But watch it. Great performances by young and old. I would recommend this to mums and dads too, a rarity these days. Didn't make a lot of money but who cares?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING FILM!!!!!!!, 10 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Flipped [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
WOW

i decided to watch this on the plane as i was going to NYC in december 2010 just randomly all all i can say is what an AMAZING film

really tocuhed me the acting and story is wonderful and it really warmed my heart a small movie but it had so much love and passion it it, i couldnt help but fall in love with it

was probably my fave film of 2010 AND one of my faves of all time, i couldnt stop thinking about it the whole time i was in NYC and even watched it again on the way back!

its the sort of film i want ALL my friends to see because its so beautiful and special!!!

the acting by the young actors in it are brilliant!! and the story is just so sweet and charming

the only problem is this dosnt seem to be available on region 2 here yet (in the uk) which i am really disapointed about, and i am hoping there is a release for it soon

if you get chance PLEASE WATCH IT so so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite romcom of all time, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipped (Amazon Instant Video)
Nothing like your usual romcom, simply amazing! And realistic. Less mushy, more realistic and appeals to all age groups .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flipped [DVD] (DVD)
had seen the reviews and clips of the film on internet really had a difficult job being able to get it for the UK i paid far more than expected for it £15 is quite a lot these days and although i enjoyed it, it was quite a let down for me as id expected it to be much better, nevermind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superbly acted, charmed by the story and the way it was told, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Allan Kenny (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flipped [DVD] (DVD)
This film is for anyone with a heart and sole. M or F. I have watched it twice now on the aircraft, and have looked in desperation to find a copy for region 2, but alas for an inexplicable reason there appears no sign of its release on the horizon?? Come you guys, release it in the UK so my wife can see it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and Quirky!, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: Flipped [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film last night - on a download since it is not available yet in the UK for PAL formats. I was hugely impressed with the quality of the acting by the teenage cast. They carried the story with competence and credibility. It is true that the reflections of the young characters were pretty mature and maybe more reflective than we would expect at their age - but it worked well with the back-and-forth perspectives of Juli and Bryce. In the end, however, it is the charming love story that makes this film worth your time. Juli is unusual from the start - and very soon you wish Bryce would wake up and see what an extraordinary girl she is. If you remember your own adolescence, you will find yourself in this film. A lovely story, well acted and well directed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Flipped (Amazon Instant Video)
Gorgeous film. Will take you right back to your first crush!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Flipped (Amazon Instant Video)
This is such a cute film. There's no other word that could describe it.
First crush, young love, it's adorable. I'd never heard of this film but I'm so glad I chose to watch this. Definitely recommended if you want a feel good film :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flipped [DVD] [2010] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£7.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews