Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
129
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£48.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 December 2011
Good points
Very solid and extremely heavy. Feels like it would survive a bomb blast.
Carrying handle - it's surprising how many of these boxes don't have one
Reasonably spacious inside - you can fit in A4 papers lying flat but the internal space is not that huge compared to the exterior box

Bad points
The handle is plastic. I think it should be metal and much tougher than it is
The lock feels a bit on the flimsy side. It is well protected by the case but, basically, it all comes down to a small lever that the key turns up to lock the lid to the box. The two silver flip down clasps are not lockable and offer no added security really
There is no anchor point on the box to lock it to, say, a heavy chain and padlock for extra security. You can use the handle, of course, but this could be broken with a jemmy.

Overall, I would give it 6/10
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2011
The internal dimensions are 333 x 216 x 94 mm

The external dimensions are 407 x 320 x 166 mm.
22 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
A good A4 fire safe. One strange thing is they go on about keeping the key number safe for security reasons, and then engrave it on the front of the lock. This means that there is actually no security value in the box at all if you wanted both fire protection and security this is not the answer for you..
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
So, this safe is supposed to hold A4 documents without folding but it's a tight squeeze. If you have more than 1 sheet of A4 paper YOU WILL STRUGGLE. It seems well made but is not adequate for the purpose I intended. I wanted it to hold passports, bank books, deeds and car documents etc.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
The box is big enough to house your most important documents passports birth certificates etc, it does weigh a 10kilo so not the lightest but certainly looks strong enough for what i need it for.

The lock is nothing brilliant and could be picked easily enough but the purpose i need it for is to house all my documents ina fireproof container so its ideal for that...Hope i never need to test just how fireproof it is but in that event its got a lifetime fire gurantee so if damaged by fire they will replace it free of charge..What more could you ask of a product costing less than a night in the boozer.
22 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
This is not supposed to be a SAFE.
It is a fire & waterproof box.
I really think it will be effective in a fire or when doused with water from stopping one.
The handle is plastic but feels sturdy enough when picking the rather heavy box up.
Comparing it to the Sentry ones I checked out in store at some places this seems a quality product.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Chose this item as it looked much sturdier than others on website. Wasn't disappointed. It is a strong heavy box which certainly looks as though it will offer maximum protection. It will not house A4 documents in envelopes without some curvature. However if documents are removed they fit fine. All my important documents are now stored in safe fireproof and waterproof environment. Item was not bought for security reasons so the absence of any method to secure it to floor is irrelevant. A previous review stated that the box was heavy and would need to be placed close to any escape route in the event of a fire. However the whole purpose of this box is to prevent the loss of important documentation or precious belongings and I for one would not be wasting time dragging a heavy box out of the house if a fire occurred. I would rather return and retrieve the box and contents after the fire is extinguished !!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
I purchased this tin to keep house deeds safe. The quality of the tin I think is excellent. It is heavy which I think is a good thing. I had to take the documents out of the plastic wallet the Building Society had been stored them in as it didn't fit but the documents themselves fitted into the inside space without being folded at the edges. There is room to store some more documents.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
I cannot recommend this product. The box is extremely sturdy which is great and very much fit for purpose. Unfortunately the key (upon a recent attempt to lock) has unbelievably snapped in the lock rendering the box totally useless. This happened when applying absolutely no pressure to the lock. Incredibly, it simply bent on turning and sheered off stuck in the lock. As a result I am having to purchase another product.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
I coud store all my A4 documents
I could store my Backup Hard Drives
I could store a number of Jewerlry Boxes.

It was all strait forward, good quality and fast delivery.

Great Job
Thanks
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)