Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Survivors Series 1 & 2
I originally watched the original Survivors bu Terry Nation on TV many years ago in 1975 and found it spellbinding. Years later I bought the complete box set and have since watched it all over agin twice. I watched the remake with Julie Graham when that came out and have recently bought the box set to watch again. The remake is not as good as the original series which is...
Published on 24 Nov. 2012 by Zeger

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Could Have Been So Much Better!
This remake is definitely not in the same league as the original BBC series. It's very much a precis of the original and as such lacks essential details regarding character and plot. I appreciate that thirty years separates the original from this remake - it could still have been so much better than this attempt at contemporizing Terry Nation's brilliant ideas about the...
Published 23 months ago by CraigG


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Could Have Been So Much Better!, 28 May 2013
By 
CraigG "CG" (Walsall, West Mids) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This remake is definitely not in the same league as the original BBC series. It's very much a precis of the original and as such lacks essential details regarding character and plot. I appreciate that thirty years separates the original from this remake - it could still have been so much better than this attempt at contemporizing Terry Nation's brilliant ideas about the decimation of the human population by The Death. I am disappointed with this recent BBC attempt at post-apocalyptic Britain. I'll go back and watch the original!
I recently viewed the original BBC series, Survivors, from 1975-77 and thoroughly enjoyed this extremely good, character lead drama. Each episode was very well produced by Terence Dudley and based around a theme which all characters responded to in their own unique way, touching some very ethically difficult areas as they proceeded to a great finale. There was no grandiose Sci-Fi based around research scientists in high security bunkers, which plays a key role in the remake! Observing how people would realistically react to the end of the world on a day by day basis made the original series so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Survivors Series 1 & 2, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I originally watched the original Survivors bu Terry Nation on TV many years ago in 1975 and found it spellbinding. Years later I bought the complete box set and have since watched it all over agin twice. I watched the remake with Julie Graham when that came out and have recently bought the box set to watch again. The remake is not as good as the original series which is longer and to my mind better but it is still a good series that is well worth watching if your into "end of the world virus" scenarios
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable and gripping series., 28 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I've never seen the 70s version, nor read the book, so this was very much new to me.

As a very basic outline, this series follows several survivors of a deadly virus; as things open we see them dealing with the crisis on an individual basis, but as their lives very quickly converge together they encounter a series of rather unpleasant events and increasingly sinister characters on the way. It's far more than just a sequence of events detailing survival though, as there are strong ongoing themes and the group has certain bonding issues. However, to detail them here would give the game away a bit too much...

It's interesting to read the other reviews as it confirms my thoughts that this was always going to polarise opinion in a big way. It would be hard to be indifferent about this series and I think all of the reviews, whether positive or negative, basically make fair comments. If that sounds like a contradiction, well, perhaps it is a little, but it's all relative to your point of view - personally I enjoyed both series from start to finish, but I can understand why others probably won't. If you can suspend disbelief in a big way (in a very big way in fact) then you'll enjoy this series a lot - it's well polished, the acting and direction is good (for the most part, though there are exceptions) and there is a lot of tension as individual episodes reach their climax. There's also a fair smattering of flame and explosions to keep you action fanatics happy. On the other hand, if you are looking for something that accurately depicts a community learning to live in a devastated world then you will be extremely disappointed as too many practical challenges are conveniently ignored.

I have to admit that I couldn't bring myself to award it five stars because, as other reviewers have mentioned, the politically correct casting was far too contrived (not the fault of the actors, but a consequence of where the characters have been placed); it's not as simple as race and gender either, it attempts this on other levels but I suspect that any half intelligent viewer will find this aspect more than a little patronising. Even someone as open minded as me was struggling to be generous on this point.

Otherwise though, I'm looking forward to the third series.

I've yet to try a repeated viewing, but my thoughts are that it will probably stand up well when you pick it up again in a couple of years or so. My only doubt is that maybe I should have held out for the Blu-Ray version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Survivors Series 1 -2, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Last week when I was snowed in at home and couldn't go out I watched the 1970s "Survivors" Series 1-3 from beginning to end without a break except to sleep, eat and to do you know what so I was able to compare it to this 2008 version and for me it confirmed just how good the earlier version was in comparison to this one. Although now rather dated in its style and allowing for some episodes being better than others the 1970s version is more thoughtful and subtle and examined in a more considered and intelligent way the implications of a plague wiping out most of the human race forcing the survivors to become self sufficient, to learn old skills from bygone ages because modern technology was now useless and how radically different conditions lead to new types of relationships and communities being necessary in order that people could live, protect themselves, adapt and survive.

The 2008 "Survivors" is very much a product of the modern age - flashy, action packed and superficial with little time for anything cerebral and not exactly guaranteed to strain the brain too much but it is enjoyable and entertaining. The casting with its emphasis on a neatly balanced ethnic and social mix is rather artificial and some might call this politically correctness but I suppose this more accurately reflects the makeup of modern society. To me the 2008 "Survivors" is essentially a wasted opportunity and this is sad. It could have been and should have been so much better but it is well worth watching although there is nothing that stays in the memory like some of the scenes and characterisations in the 1970s version and I cannot imagine it having the same long standing appeal of the "old" survivors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fiona in Oz, 18 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I had to go on line and purchase this series as our commercial televsion only showed season one late at night and as I now know in an abridged version. Liked the series when it was on TV enough to buy it. The DVD's are much better than the television version which cut a lot of relevant scenes. It was good to watch both season one and two together. There are only six episode in each season but gets through a lot of character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars later survivors 12 episodes, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
tho s short series of 12 episodes,it has a more current "possible" feel to it.excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but the original was better, 18 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Very good but not as good as the original series.

Also docked one star because they cancelled the series before the planned third season meaning it ends on an unsatisfactory cliffhanger.

Worth buying but make sure you get the far superior original series first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average BBC production, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This modern retelling of "Survivors" seems to suffer from lazy writing. Episode after episode expects huge leaps of faith from the viewers over and over again, with our characters behaving unrealistically, and worst of all, truly outlandish and unbelievable coincidences happening far too often.

The writers seem to overlook the true story to tell here, a world where most people have died and which is now slowly crumbling with all the infostructure gone. Instead they seem more concerned with introducing unecessary nemesis after unecessary nemesis for our survivors to overcome... The gem of the series goes to "evil coal mine owner" who captures fellow survivors in order to force them to mine coal. Here we see the true lengths the writers are willing to sink to in order to create yet another villain for the survivors to face. In reality every coal power station, every coal mine and coal depot would have huge mounds of coal, just lying there waiting to be taken, but instead the inept writers decide to ignore this obvious reality, in order to contrive another story.

Contrived plots, littered with outlandish coincidences, happens over and over and over such that it all becomes mushy, unbelievable and ultimately forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars didnt survive to series 3, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I do like this series and was gutted they didn't have a third series, WHY!!! the city when everyone was gone was done brilliantly. the characters where brill too and stories I have no idea why they axed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Survivors -series 1 and 2, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching a few episodes of this when it first aired on bbc a few years ago, and thought I'd give it a go after finishing watching the walking dead and being in the mood for an apocalyptic style series. I have to say Im not disappointed one bit, great acting by both the deeper main characters and the one dimensional 'bit part' characters along with a great story line.

I would have given it the full 5*, but like so many good tv series it's cut short at the end of series 2, disappointing as i'd love to have seen this through a few more seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD]
Survivors - Series 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] by Julie Graham (DVD - 2010)
£15.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews