Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magische Musik
With little more than a piano and some minor but
highly atmospheric augmentation from a celeste
and reed organ, German-born composer Nils Frahm
spins a diaphanous and enchanting web of sound.

There are three compositions in the collection.

The first, 'Ambre' is an elegant, gently rolling piece,
whose piano part is an exquisite...
Published on 24 Feb. 2010 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOMETHING TO GROW
I purchased this follow hearing a track on Radio 6 at first I was disappointed as it seemed to be going no where but I could feel the winter in all the tracks. As I have listened again and again it has grown on me but I am not quite there however I am in no doubt this Nils Frahm is talented.
Published 15 months ago by bargainhunter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magische Musik, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wintermusik (Audio CD)
With little more than a piano and some minor but
highly atmospheric augmentation from a celeste
and reed organ, German-born composer Nils Frahm
spins a diaphanous and enchanting web of sound.

There are three compositions in the collection.

The first, 'Ambre' is an elegant, gently rolling piece,
whose piano part is an exquisite autumnal melody subtly
enhanced with half-heard overtones from the celeste. Magical.

The second 'Nue', after a shimmering opening we encounter
the reed organ for the first time. Its plaintive song is not unlike
an old weatherbeaten voice from the sea; the accompaniment
perhaps the sun reflecting on the turning waves.
Two thirds of the way in and the organ strikes up a half-hearted
attempt at a spirited dance. Left to its own devices it eventually
spirals away into oblivion. A perfectly constructed little drama.

The third and longest piece 'Tristana' is a laconic series of
variations for all three instruments; rising and falling so
delicately, both in tempo and dynamic structure, that its gentle
forward movement would be unlikely to lift a leaf from the ground.
The reed organ occasionally delivers a statement of deep foreboding,
like a dark cloud passing over the landscape.
A beautifully sustained vision.

'Wintermusik' is a simply stunning listening experience.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wintermusik, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (MP3 Download)
An appropriately named album, evoking the feeling of winter perfectly with beautiful and ethereal soundscapes. This pieces of music deserves to be listened to properly and not just used as background filler sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ethereal and evocative 🍂, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (Audio CD)
As would expect from Nils a beautiful ethereal collection of pieces . Unfortunately there are only 3 pieces of music on the cd which was a little disappointing for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than programme music, 23 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (Audio CD)
Sometimes I am watching a film or TV programme and the music is startling captivating. There are elements of Nils Frahm's Wintermusik which are a little bit like film programme music, but I have to say I love it and am pursuing others of his discs, as I also had Spaces which i liked very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I want to relax and listen to some beautiful soothing music for a half hour I put this ..., 5 Oct. 2014
By 
F. Hassan (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (MP3 Download)
When I want to relax and listen to some beautiful soothing music for a half hour I put this on and it helps me do exactly that. Gorgeous stuff for those ambient moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wintermusik, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Rikki Pearshouse (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (MP3 Download)
I love Nils Frahm's enchanting music and this cd didn't disappoint. I have played it over and over again and notice something newly delightful each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gentle if a little samey, 9 Oct. 2013
By 
A. C. Cox "Art Monster" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (MP3 Download)
recommended as bedtime listening, it works in a meditative setting, but will do for any moment when you want a sense of calm and beauty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine-tingling, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (MP3 Download)
3 absolutely gorgeous pieces of music and well worth paying for the mp3 download as you won't find this album on any torrent site!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 13 Dec. 2014
By 
B. L. J. Webb "webbski7" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wintermusik (Audio CD)
Only 3 tracks and half an hour long, but maybe Frahm's best work- subtle and beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soothes the soul.., 1 April 2011
By 
Fwm Van Steenbergen (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wintermusik (Audio CD)
this is music you can listen to endlessly, never bores, always soothes. all piano tracks fall in the category new and eternal. amazing music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wintermusik
Wintermusik by Nils Frahm
Buy MP3 Album£3.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews