Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever made ?
Faultless from beginning to end. It's rare to have a film like this that you can go back to countless times and still get huge enjoyment from watching it.Timeless might be an overused expression but it fits perfectly in this instance .
Bogart proves what an all time 'great' he was.. Even when hitching up his trousers which was his 'bit of business'in all his films...
Published 10 months ago by lardzeppo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Classic story of the effect of greed on man's nature. Humphrey Bogart excels as the crazed with greed Fred C Dobbs.
Published 3 months ago by Paul O'Hanlon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever made ?, 27 Sep 2013
Faultless from beginning to end. It's rare to have a film like this that you can go back to countless times and still get huge enjoyment from watching it.Timeless might be an overused expression but it fits perfectly in this instance .
Bogart proves what an all time 'great' he was.. Even when hitching up his trousers which was his 'bit of business'in all his films he did it with style!
Trying his hat on again after his haircut still makes me laugh every time I see it
He was when the film was made the top box office attraction worldwide and did'nt mind going a little mad and ending up like a tramp before his demise. Other stars of the era would not have agreed to behave in such a way as it would have impacted on their 'image'... Gary Cooper was one who certainly would not affect his public by behaving in such a way a and certainly not dying! Cary Grant was another as was Clark Gable .
Even in the casting of the support parts this film has stand out memories. Of course I am referring to Goldhat or 'stinking badges' himself Alfonso Bedoya.A small contribution by him but one which leaves a lasting impression and makes you look forward to his appearance.
They simply don't make them like this anymore -- nor sadly will they ever again .
If your happy watching the latest Hollywood crapola with BruceWillis, Nicholas Cage, Adam Sandler or any other non actor then 'Treasure ' is not for you .
Pure class from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy and great, 13 Sep 2013
the whole transaction was easy and I did'nt have to wait long for the delivery.
I have waited years to see this film but it never seems to come on the telly and I have never been able to find it in any of the big retailers or any smaller indy shop.
I would recommend this product to anybody who likes Humphrey Bogart or classic films from this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, It's that Good, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Eric John (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
'Treasure of the Sierra Madre' is, I think, one of the greatest films ever made and, contrary to reviewer Humpty Dumpty, I would argue even a bit UNDER-rated. The storytelling is masterful; there are omens, foreshadowing, turns in the plot when you least expect it, but best of all, is the psychology that makes this film so riveting.

I first saw this film on a late winter night in a hotel in San Diego at a time when I myself was down on my luck. Before that, the name Humphry Bogart didn't mean very much, but after seeing 'Sierra Madre', I was instantly a Bogart freak. If I had to choose one Bogart desert island DVD, I honestly could not tell you whether it would be Sierra Madre or Casablanca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theres More to Life than Gold., 11 May 2009
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This film directed by the legendary John Huston in 1948 is based on the cult 1927 novel by B Traven. It is unusual for the time in that it was filmed entirely on location in Mexico, which later became a very popular trend. It is set unusually in 1920s Mexico shortly after the revolution. The country was still in turmoil and patrolled by the ruthless Federales. A sort of local Police with attitude. Their justice often being of the summary kind, and the final verdict being decided with a bullet for the miscreant.

Into this arena enter three Gringo prospectors and general down and outs. Humphrey Bogart never at ease in Western guise plays Fred Dobbs the lottery ticket winner who invests all his money in prospecting equipment. He is joined by the younger Bob Curtin played by Tim Holt and the older and wiser Howard played by Walter Huston. Howard predicts trouble and he is not far wrong. The three strike it rich but the gold causes Bogart to lose his mind with greed. This leads to confrontation in the group and ultimately to tragedy. There is a rather fitting twist to the story at the end.

The film was nominated for an oscar for best picture, but lost out to Oliviers "Hamlet". Perhaps the films main flaw lies in Bogart's metamorphosis from Mr nice guy to a frothing lunatic in such a short space of time. A little heavy handed for someone as skilled as Huston. Bogart seems to have been rehearsing for his later role as Captain Queeg in "The Caine Mutiny", where he again loses his marbles big time. The film is a strong morality fable and could almost be taken from a Biblical parable. Gold and riches are not the most important things in life, and lusting after such wealth can lead to tragic consequences. It is a cautionary tale of old but still posseses great power.

Watch out for the brief one line appearence of Tim Holt's father Jack Holt the old silent screen hero. He is one of the men down on their luck. Overall the film is still very enjoyable despite the flaws. A fairly generous 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Pat "Sci-fi fan" (Sarnia, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality blu ray with some pleasing extras. The film is a classic and I'm finally pleased to see it on bluray. Love the steelbook. Amazon keep the steelbooks coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Treasure of the Sierra Madre Blu Ray Version, 15 Feb 2010
By 
G. Wright (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Treasure of the Sierra Madre is set in the 1930's and tells the tale of three men who set out prospecting for gold in the Sierra Madre Mountains. The three men start out as friends but by the end have been completely driven apart by greed ambition and stupidity. This film brilliantly explores the nature of manhood and friendship as all three characters fail to balance these attributes. This film was one of the best films to come out of the 1930's and Gained john Houston and Walter Houston Oscars for best supporting actor and director.

The picture is much better on the Blu ray version and is region free so will play in any country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent..., 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with this purchase. Have wanted this film on bluray for a while now and it's one of the better looking (black & white film) blurays in this series of recent Warner Bros vintage steelbooks. I was pleasantly surprised too by the quality of the actual steelbook- it looks better in person than in the pictures. It has a nice satin finish and quality feel. The cover art has a nice 'retro' feel to it and looks great with other older b/w steelbooks on my shelf like 'Touch Of Evil', 'The Lost weekend' and 'Double Indemnity'.
Great purchase especially at the low price point. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's Treasure Everywhere, 3 April 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Never forget the golden rule - he who has the gold makes the rules.

Bogart and Holt are down on their luck, trapped in a post-revolution Mexican hellhole, much like the protagonists from the Wages of Fear. Dumb enough to be suckered out of their honest pay by an unscrupulous oilman their trust in their fellow man begins to gradually fragment. They hook up with old-timey prospector Walter Huston (the director's dad and Sean Connery prototype) and head into the hills to find their fortune. Neither of the young men are cut-out for the effort and have no clue what they are doing while slowly learning from and distrusting their mentor.

The real, and perhaps only, cancer in their group is Bogart's Dobbs. His lust for wealth and desperate personality crumbles under the weight of mistrust and the anxiety of outside forces stealing their loot.

It's possible to find many morality lessons in John Huston's most famous film, but the main point is to be happy with what you have and if fortune comes your way then so be it, pursuing it aggressively may not lead to a happy ending. There's a lot of tension in the heavy, sweltering Mexican air, and no one feels it more than Bogart, who's performance as a man going to pieces under pressure is one of his best.

Not exactly Sunday afternoon viewing, keep it for a Saturday night, watch with the lights off and immerse yourself in the near perfect black and white photography.

The 1.37:1 1080p picture looks flawless with DTS HD-MA sound and a huge amount of great extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT STUFF, 22 Dec 2013
By 
R. Rule "Film Fan" (Tyne & Wear England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film, excellent blu-ray presentation, excellent extras.
The movie itself is a classic adventure story. The picture quality is very good for a film over 60 years old, and there are loads of worthwhile extras including a very interesting commentary.
Recommended to anyone interested in "old black and white films ."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last of the greats., 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again this is a lovely steelbook that has a reproduced film poster on it - the blu ray is excellent with the addition of the UV and extra material. Brilliant movie as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Treasure of Sierra Madre  [DVD]  [Region 2 Import]
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews