Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2012
Never purchased fully water/wind proof clothing before, However:
-Lives up to Berghaus claims, not a hint of water penetration after over an hour of walking in near
gale force wind & torrential rain.
-Not a lot of insulation value in the jacket, but be sensible, either wear a good pullover
underneath, buy a zip in fleece for it, or buy a different type of jacket. After all it is a shell
jacket & no claims are made for it offering good insulation.
-The extra length is very welcome,ie, wet from knees down, not from thighs down! Just make sure you
order the LONG Cornice, as confusingly, there is a standard length jacket with the same Cornice
name.
-Pockets are usefully huge, do a double search when you are looking for small to medium items in
them!!
-Usual great Amazon service.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
I was really looking forward to using this coat but the snap buttons ob the front of the coat have started to come apart already. One has broken and I'm afraid some of the others will do the same. I will probalby have to send it away now to be repaired and have the rest checked. I havent had it all that long, and it has only had light use.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Jacket as received looked good and fitted well - however main zip was very fiddly and difficult to make work. Wore a couple of times and jacket performed well in wet weather and breathability great. Hoped zip would "wear in" but did not get better so complained to Amazon and very good service with a very rapid replacement. However zip on the replacement just as bad! Spent some time fiddling with the zip and found it worked fairly easily with the jacket off and laid on a flat surface - but when trying to work the zip with the jacket on, almost impossible. Eventually found there needed to be a specific routine to make the zip work as the bottom end closure not fixed as in most zips but free to run. Sad to say a very good product spoiled by a small but very important detail!
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
I've been looking for a long time for a longer breathable jacket. Couldn't find any!
Fortunately, I finally came across Cornice Long! This one is great!
I'd recommend it to any hiker looking for a breathable jacket that would also cover their a** from the blows of wind.
CAUTION: I normally wear M size, had to buy S for myself. M was way too large!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Very light to wear and comfortable. I'm a 38" chest but bought the large size to allow for adding inner layers as required. I also use it over a formal jacket for the commute to work. Bought it almost 2 months ago and my impression is that it is good protection against wind chill and rain although I've not worn it in extreme conditions yet. The extra length is also great if you are wearing jeans and just popping out for a quick pint. No more soggy denim sticking to your thighs! Saved at least £40 over the Cotswold Outdoor price and delivery from Amazon was prompt.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
This is a classic coat that combines comfort and practicality with a modern style. I bought it to wear with a suit and use on a commute as much as on the hillside, as it is long enought to cover most suit jackets.

One limitation to note; whilst there is a good map pocket and two outside pockets, there are no inner pockets. This is because the coat is designed to zip in an additional fleece, but when worn normally, such a pocket would be useful.

Very weatherproof as you would expect, with the usual goretex working well.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
I recently completed the Coast to Coast walk of 200 miles. Jacket performed very well in heavy rain and very strong winds.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Delighted with jacket - good length - easily covers a suit jacket, and has proved to be completely waterproof in some recent downpours as long as you shut the pockets properly! (they open across the jacket so rain can easily pour in if you're not careful). Good price on Amazon compared with elsewhere.

I've since bought a Berghaus micro-fleece which zips into the jacket, attaching well round the sides and clips into the sleeves although doesn't attach so well at the collar.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Item now used for several weeks and the rain just seems to roll off. I stay dry and do not over heat with this jacket. I thoroughly recommend this for wet weather wear.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This is the raincoat to get if you want to stay dry and don't want to fuss with waterproof trousers, The hood is also well designed to keep you dry even in windy conditions, I have had it a year and am very pleased.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)