Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-Ray release
A good friend bought me this edition of the woefully underrated Caprica from Amazon's French website.

As other reviewers have stated France was the only place to release a blu-ray copy which is a tad bizarre.

The set has been put together really well by Universal. The picture quality is lush and very appropriate for such a high concept show. The DTS...
Published on 11 Feb. 2013 by Moonpig

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow start
A disappointing very Slow confusing start to a prequel. I know it is scene setting but for me it had no real hook to grab my interest
Published 13 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-Ray release, 11 Feb. 2013
A good friend bought me this edition of the woefully underrated Caprica from Amazon's French website.

As other reviewers have stated France was the only place to release a blu-ray copy which is a tad bizarre.

The set has been put together really well by Universal. The picture quality is lush and very appropriate for such a high concept show. The DTS 5.1 Master Audio (in French and English) has a lovely clean and sharp sound and the surround is well balanced.

There are some decent extras as well. Plenty of deleted scenes, video diaries (essentially mini behind the scenes features), documentaries and audio commentaries offering some good insight in to this cerebral show.

The producers have also been savvy enough to include Bear McCreary's astonishing score in a beautiful 2.0 DTS mix with lovely graphics. This makes up several hours of original music which is a real joy to listen to.

I won't refer to the content of the show in great detail as I'm assuming if you're reading this review you are already a fan of Ronald D. Moore's clever interpretation of all things Battlestar.

I'm going to put my neck on the line and say that I actually prefer this to Battlestar Galactica. The two shows are incredibly different and as a prequel set 50 odd years before events depicted in BSG, Caprica can certainly be watched with no prior knowledge of Moore's reimagining of Battlestar Galactica.

That said, I'm not really sure why anyone would want to as BSG is an astonishing piece of television and the links between the shows are subtle but really flesh out the rich and convoluted universe created by a writing team who really understand the concept of highbrow sci-fi.

I'm of the opinion that Caprica is much more subversive. It still follows the themes of religious clashes, political and class struggles that formed the backbone of BSG but in its short run of 18 episodes it manages to be more profound and political. It also dispenses with some of the ambiguous and lazily written prophetic overtones of Battlestar that could let it down.

Whilst it is disappointing that Caprica only lasted for one season don't let this put you off watching it. Like Twin Peaks what this crafty and slick series manages to do in 18 episodes most shows would struggle to pull off in several years. And although it is frustrating that we never get to see events running directly up to the war that forms the backdrop to Battlestar Galactica the ending is absolutely brilliant.

This is a near perfect blu-ray set that really does justice to one of the best series ever made. Don't hesitate to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fantastic series, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For some reason the only place Caprica was released on Blu-ray was in France, but after having watched (the re-imagined) Battlestar Galactica on in high-defintion I didn't want to watch Caprica in standard-definition, so I dusted of my Tricolore text book and plumped for this one.

Despite all of the menus and options being in French, I found the discs mostly easy to navigate (with my basic and rusty GCSE French). Some resellers offer translation sheets for those who are totally unfamiliar with French.

Just as with BSG, Caprica was shot with a subdued colour palette, often with a lot of film grain, but there is a distinct difference between the shots in the real world and the shots in V World. This means that the disc is not reference quality, but it is very good indeed as is the lossless 5.1 audio (both for English and French). Being made on a much lower budget than BSG some of the CGI is a little bit plasticy looking in places, but this doesn't detract too much from the overall look and feel.

The show itself was one of the best sci-fi shows I've watched in years, though the shows pacing means that watching a few episodes back to back is probably the most rewarding way to watch it. Despite the show being cancelled after the first season, the series wraps up in a rewarding way, with no dangling cliffhanger.

If you enjoyed BSG, then I think you'll love Caprica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For English buyers, 15 Sept. 2012
I bought this set from Amazon fr. as it was a lot cheaper than the prices being charged on UK Amazon. I played the blu-rays on my PS3, and can confirm that it is possible to watch them in English. Each blu-ray has a configuration (set-up) option, along with the choice of watching individual episodes or all (tout), and without subtitles (sans).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and meaningful spin-off, fresh and engaging!, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Kevin Berne (Nussloch , Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Being a spin-off from BSG I first had trouble adjusting to this show's premise, which got aggravated by the fact that the first few episodes of this only season's episodes are clearly the weakest of the entire run. But once I got into the proper rhythm I developed an intense appreciation and in fact love for what the creators of Caprica were actually trying to pull off: the first Sci Fi family saga. Fancy words, but contrary to BSG with its military feeling this show follows two families on the brink of the advent of artificial intelligence in their society and the fact that the Cylons were created with the best intentions in mind. I can honestly say that the show, the fantastic actors, the innovative artistic concept and the emotionally gripping soundtrack managed to impress me immensely and I am truly sad that after one season this fantastic prequel got cancelled due to very low ratings. I can easily recommend this to all BSG-fans and actually anyone who likes properly executed drama not necessarily in a semi Sci Fi - setting!

As for this french Blu Ray import, all the menues are french but easy to navigate, the soundtrack ist English 5.1 DTS HD master, the picture 1080p @ 50Hz and all subtitles removable. It is coded region B for european customers and, at least according to Bluray.com, locked region B meaning that America and other parts of the world are unable to play it. Shame on Universal for that by the way, only releasing Caprica on BD in France and then locking it's region code!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated gem, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After it became clear Caprica was never going to get a satisfactory Blu-ray release, I decided to import the series from France, which seems to be the only place it's available in HD on home video.

I'd seen the first nine episodes on Sky One, but as the US Sci-Fi/SyFy/The Sci-Fi Channel split the season in two, I missed the second half of the show. It's the story of Admiral Adama's immigrant family in their poverty-ridden early days on Caprica and their tragic links with the wealthy Greystone family, who create the Cylons about 58 years before the start of Battlestar Galactica.

As the first prequel to the revamped 2003 version of Battlestar Galactica, the show has a lot going for it: a great cast giving superb performances, generally excellent effects and the opportunity to understand how the decadent society of the colonies was prone to both vulgarity and criminality leading to its downfall. Caprica is the Galactica equivalent of uncovering the murals in Pompeii!

Pacing is the show's big problem. The original pilot (literally) opens with a bang and the fallout from it. But the next several episodes really drag. It's less of a problem in a box set, but was disastrous on a weekly basis. Annoyingly, in the second half of the show's run, things really pick up. Certain supernatural aspects from Galactica return, the Matrix-esque scenes in the virtual world of New Cap City are wild and everything ties together to make a terrific climax for the season, also explaining some perceived inconsistencies with BSG... but by then the show had been cancelled. A second season would have been very good, I think, and the show could have really blossomed. Kudos as ever to Bear McCreary for his mostly-unreleased score.

The only other thing to note is that the first episode on the Blu-ray set is the original pilot version, not the broadcast first episode. The differences are minor: there is a little more graphic nudity and violence, certain visuals were changed, such as the Greystone Industries building and a shot establishing Gemenon as Caprica's sister planet. A couple of sequences were reshot for broadcast, but the changes are really slight.

As for the discs themselves, the (very attractive) menus are in French only and discs default to French audio, with optional English audio with removable French subtitles. The sound on my TV is absolutely fine, with no one element overpowering the other.

The video quality is stunning: it's pin-sharp and colourful when it needs to be and grainy and contrasty in scenes set in New Cap City.

I would caution that this release is sourced from 1080i50 broadcast versions. The original version would have been 1080p24. The interlaced transfer is still gorgeous, but is subject to speed-up issues. I can't tell if the audio has been pitch-corrected to compensate. But people in countries where TVs only handle 1080p24 and/or 1080i60 should beware.

I very much recommend this release to anyone in the UK who wants an HD version of the series. It has its minor flaws - the 1080i50 issue and the lack of a broadcast version of the first episode - but is more than made up for by the quality of the series. In light of there being no official US or UK release, this is the version of Caprica to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !!!!, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant , why oh why is this French only , although if there were an English version I am sure all the extras would not be present as we always seem to get the raw deal , great service , fast and efficient , thanks !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
David (MUSSELBURGH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A disappointing very Slow confusing start to a prequel. I know it is scene setting but for me it had no real hook to grab my interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No BSG, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I thought this was going to be the whole 1st series - it is just the first part. A bit disappointing. But to be honest I could kill time watching this but it doesn't' come close to Battlestar Galactica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prequel not to be missed., 14 May 2013
By 
Giorgio (Como (CO), Italy) - See all my reviews
All Battlestar Galactica fans should have a look at this.

While the show lasted a single season, it still managed to shed light on the pre-Cylon 12 colonies' society.
I mean, the writers went and invented a whole culture here (well, several of them - you know, 12 colonies).
Very, very interesting indeed. For one, if you ever wondered where all of the religious rambling in Battlestar Galactica came from, you'll find your answer here.

It would have been nice to see the show go on, eve if just for one more season. But, unlike other series prematurely cancelled, this one makes perfect sense on its own. I also loved the way the series finale manages, in the last few minutes, to link with the events described in the BSG main series.

One word of advice: do yourself a favour and get the French blu-ray edition. Preferably, on Amazon.fr or even Amazon.it: it'll be considerably cheaper. The experience will be worth the extra cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice prequel to the Battlestar series, explains how the Cylons came to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews