Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a Mythos movie
I came to this after a week reading Cthulhu Mythos stories and this movie totally worked for me. I do understand that anyone watching it with "military thriller" expectations might find it baffling. And if you're after a SF movie with a conventional hero and all the answers to the mystery laid out pat at the end, you're going to be frustrated. But if you approach it...
Published 16 months ago by Janine Ashbless

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Never less than Interesting but rarely more
This is a kind of sci-fi tinged military drama set in Afghanistan. Jonas Ball, bearing an uncanny likeness to Burn Notice's Jeffery Donovan in voice and mannerisms, is the CIA operative sent in to lead a team of special forces troops into the desert and find a mysterious target. The CIA fears that Al Qaeda has got their hands on a nuclear bomb or other radiation source,...
Published on 27 Aug 2010 by Benminx


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Never less than Interesting but rarely more, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Objective [DVD] (DVD)
This is a kind of sci-fi tinged military drama set in Afghanistan. Jonas Ball, bearing an uncanny likeness to Burn Notice's Jeffery Donovan in voice and mannerisms, is the CIA operative sent in to lead a team of special forces troops into the desert and find a mysterious target. The CIA fears that Al Qaeda has got their hands on a nuclear bomb or other radiation source, but Ball's CIA goon is under orders to pretend they're going in to get a statement of support for the war from a holy man. And that's as far as I can go without giving away the plot (believe it or not all of the above is laid out via exposition in about the first 5 mins). After that the film is light on plot but heavy on atmosphere. Blair Witch co-helmer Daniel Meyrick tries to make the best of a (very) low budget, and succeeds to some degree. There are well executed eerie scenes in a village that highlight the cutlure clash gulfs to such an extreme that the villagers in Burkas almost feel alien. There are also a few brief combat scenes later on which feel quite realistic. Amusingly one of the plot elements has managed to make it easier for Meyrick to get by on a low budget and few special effects by explaining away generalised mysterious events as part of the overall plot. A few bizarre encounters are dealt with well, although at times this feels like it's borrowing very heavily from Blair Witch (wooden structures in odd places, map reading issues, a group fractuing under the stress of being in a gradually wierder situation etc). The mystery itself is interesting, and is handled well, but while the cast feel nicely varied and reasonably believable as well disciplined military figures, you do wonder why some of them don't freak out just a little more.
Overall, this is not high excitement or high drama - or even high action. It is however a well handled, desert set low budget drama with some nicely handled strangeness, sparing but effective CGI, and good acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An 'Objective' review - pun intended, 14 April 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Objective [DVD] (DVD)
The Objective, from the director of the Blair witch project, is set in the midst of the current Afghan war, which is an original place for a supernatural thriller to begin from; the film follows an elite unit of soldiers tasked with protecting a CIA operative, who is seemingly willing to sacrifice everything in his pursuit of 'The Objective'.

Little is told to the soldiers protecting the CIA agent apart from the fact that they are searching for an Afghan holy-man named Mohammed Oban who may be able to shed some light on finding 'the objective'. As the squad proceeds deeper into the mountains in their search for the objective, the locals insist that they do not proceed into a region held in high regard for religious reasons, it soon becomes obvious that religious fervour is not the only thing keeping the locals out of the area...

The acting is solid, none of the names really ring a bell, but you won't be laughing at anyone's attempt at drama, aside from the rather dodgy bit of equipment the CIA agent lugs around the whole time, the film is genuinely believable and resultantly quite intriguing, a decent watch with some memorable moments, most notably the 'headlights' scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a Mythos movie, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Objective [DVD] (DVD)
I came to this after a week reading Cthulhu Mythos stories and this movie totally worked for me. I do understand that anyone watching it with "military thriller" expectations might find it baffling. And if you're after a SF movie with a conventional hero and all the answers to the mystery laid out pat at the end, you're going to be frustrated. But if you approach it almost as a H P Lovecraft story updated to a modern setting (though without a tentacle in sight), it's PERFECT.

The "Afghanistan" setting (actually filmed in Morocco, I believe) is alienating and majestic, the stress and thirst weighing on the soldiers is palpable, and the unnatural elements are eerie, blurring the line between SF and magic. The sense of human beings utterly out of their depth in this terrain and situation is what works and makes it, in its low-budget way, surprisingly powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CANCELLING THIS MISSION IS NOT AN OPTION, 4 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Objective [DVD] (DVD)
This is a slow moving science fiction story which I found similar to "Yellow Brick Road." In this instance a group of special forces are in Afghanistan investigating an unusual heat signature. As they move along the road strange things happen to them which they can't explain.

It is a good sci-fi action mystery Indie that holds your interest, but not overly entertaining. I wish it had ended like "Yellow brick Road", that way it would explain both movies.

***PLOT SPOILER*** The ending was fairly simple. It was a "Chariot of the Gods" type of thing.

F-bomb, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars objectively speaking...not bad, 27 Oct 2014
By 
Ben Griam "Ben Griam" (Sutherland, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Elements of Apocalypse Now in as much as it has a central figure being escorted by brave but unsuspecting troops to get him to a target, and often using voice-over to let us (at least)know what is happening. Someone else mentioned that the central figure looks and sounds very like the hero of Burn Notice, which I noticed too.
I thought this beautifully shot in impressive landscapes and with decent acting all round. Only problem for me was the sometimes mumbled delivery by Keynes....I just cannot understand his very last line in spite of rerunning the scene. Please someone, tell me.
I just checked something else...the metal aircraft object Keynes steals from the village elder...like one of the Quimbaya 'airplanes'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars war, special forces, Afghanistan, supernatural + + +, 3 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Objective [DVD] (DVD)
How many more angles can you build into a film, current Afghan war, special forces, CIA, supernatural, well all this comes together in this one film, and works really well on all fronts.

From the creators of 'The Blair Witch Project' you get that erie feeling plus more. I can't think of another film that brings all this together so well and would suggest you take a look for yourself, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 24 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Objective [DVD] (DVD)
It's a big anti-climax when you find out what is really going on, towards the end of the film. A mildly interesting story if you have an interest in a certain field of study. A very watchable film, with a storyline that had a lot of potential. But ultimately the filmmakers failed to deliver the goods. It's the films rather limp ending that really lets The Objective down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 21 Dec 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed it! A gripping chiller with talented acting that's very creatively eerie and spine tingling. More realistic than most formulaic sci-fi hollywood comic strips out there in my opinion. If you're someone who relies heavily on CGI and a star studded celebrity cast to gain fulfillment from films, then this is probably not for you. Very understated and brilliantly done. For me, it's up there with "The Sixth Sense".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Filmed in Morocco... bedouin have a heavy ..., 8 Dec 2014
Filmed in Morocco ... bedouin have a heavy north african accent this is not Afghanistan or anything close ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant idea. Watchable enough., 25 April 2012
This review is from: The Objective [DVD] (DVD)
'The Objective' is an intriguing premise. On paper it's a cracking little yarn about soldiers fighting a supernatural enemy, whilst lost in the deserts of Afghanistan. The plot is conceptually masterful. In a recent conversation with a friend, I was forced to reluctantly tell the whole tale, spoilers and all - Such was the fascination of my companion to know what happened next. The Objective wouldn't be out of place as a short story on the Twilight Zone.

Director and script writer Daniel Myrick was half of the directing partnership behind the Blair Witch Project and many of the dramatic strategies used in Blair Witch are revisited here. Whilst The Objective avoids the hand-held camera technique of Blair Witch, it does incorporate first person viewpoints through night vision cameras to similar effect.

Your enjoyment of the film may depend on how you feel about the low budget production value. From the outset the film feels like it was made for TV. Quite why the budget was low is anyone's guess, but stylistic tone does occasionally interfere with suspension of disbelief. Whilst Blair Witch received as much negative criticism as positive, it managed to convey gritty realism effectively in several iconic scenes. Conversely The Objective visually suffers for it's humble budget and you do wonder how the film would run with more professional sheen.

Without providing spoilers, there are effectively creepy moments. I found the acting to be solid for a low budget film. Once you get your teeth stuck into the story, you may find yourself hooked. If you are stuck for something to do on a lazy weekend this is a fairly watchable film, even if the concept is better than the execution. This DVD is pretty good value for money at the time of writing. Those who favour style over substance may become distracted by the use of dramatic tension opposed to special effects. However - With a little perseverance the film becomes enjoyable and you will probably watch until the end just to see what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Objective [DVD]
The Objective [DVD] by Daniel Myrick (DVD - 2010)
£2.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews