Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Pen
This is excellent. I've often thought my linework was a bit 'technical' looking & varying lineweight often meant retracing lines to introduce a bit of variation, but it still had that draughtsman quality. This pen is excellent & introduces a life into your linework that might have been lacking with 'fine liner' types. Smooth & very black it allows a good variation of...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by Jimbo Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars brush pen
got to use one of the 'spare' cartridges as pen doesn't have one in it already. it works as it should. will take practice.
Published 2 months ago by Fred A Meyer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Pen, 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
This is excellent. I've often thought my linework was a bit 'technical' looking & varying lineweight often meant retracing lines to introduce a bit of variation, but it still had that draughtsman quality. This pen is excellent & introduces a life into your linework that might have been lacking with 'fine liner' types. Smooth & very black it allows a good variation of lineweight much as a brush, but without the need to refill the brush as you go. Comes with a spare refill cartridge.
First time you fit the cartridge it takes a couple of minutes to flow into the tip (so don't worry about that 'oh no it's not connecting properly' moment I experienced, it is. After a couple of minutes you're up & running. Don't think I'll be looking back. A great addition to my range of pens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product!, 26 Jun 2010
By 
R. Husain (Enniskillen, co Fermanagh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
First of all it arrived really quickly; it was there in a few days. The packaging was fine and nothing was wrong with the documents.
On to the product itself, the brush pen is great! Perfect for varying lines, it's particularly good for oriental calligraphy and manga hair which is what i use it for. Though it's not what I would use to fill in large areas. It's refillable and the ink flows beautifully, definitely a great tool for any serious artist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New form of drawing, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Marco Antonio Vale "Game Artist" (Barcelos, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
If you love drawing and if you love trying out new techniques, this Brush Pen is a brilliant product. Not only does it provide the chance to have a brush without having to carry all the other accessories around, it gives you the chance to approach drawing in a completely new, fresh way. Drawing with this pen is very freeing and it gives you a new way of thinking about drawing and painting. I definitely recommend this if you love illustration or drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy for pen and wash watercolour, 5 July 2011
By 
Johnc (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
I love painting outdoors, sometimes combining an Indian Ink drawing with watercolour washes. Unfortunately my experience carrying around a bottle of ink in my kit has, probably due to my carelessness, has not been good. One can of course use various types of waterproof ink pens, but they give rather a mechanical looking line compared with using a dip pen or a pointed stick (my favourite) and indian ink for drawing. These brush pens are a pretty good substitute and I have had some excellent results using them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brush pen, 27 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
Lovely flexible expressive brush, good ink flow. Takes a little while for the ink to start flowing initially. Great on textured paper as well as smooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely pen, dodgy refills, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
The pen and brush are lovely. The ink is a very deep black and gives a lovely impression - it's just a shame it's not water proof, but then if it was I guess the pen would stick up quickly.
The brush is very nice, and even after a couple of months it has still kept it's shape. It's good for delicate lines as well as the more broad strokes.

My only gripe is that one of the refills has a defect in the top which means it won't fit into the pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
I hadn't used a brush pen before and was doing all my inking with a Pilot fineliner, but I'm really amazed by this pen. I takes a bit of getting used to but it's so much more flexible. I can easily vary the line width and get lots of interesting effects all with the same pen. It also needs very little pressure, which helps to reduce the risk of RSI. I found that after putting in the first cartridge, it only took a few minutes for the ink to soak through to the tip of the brush (I kept it upright by wedging it between two books). I don't know how long the brush will last before it needs to be replaced, or whether there are other brush pens that are even better, but for now I'm very happy with it and wouldn't change it. Definitely not going back to the fineliner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
This is the best pen. The felt tip is great quality and it doesn't dry out. Your drawings always look very fluid. Love this pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for lineart, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
I really love this brush pen. It's easy to set up (as others have commented), and produces a deep black variable line, especially ideal for comic art. It is an excellent brush to use as part of a set of pens, as it's difficult to produce some of the more intricate stuff (use a 0.1 or 0.05 for that). Don't reccommend using it for filling black areas in - there are other markers for that (Faber Castell prings to mind). Very addictive once you start using it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for fast sketching, but brilliant for everything else, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pentel Brush Pen and Two Refills - Black Ink (Toy)
I was expecting the ink flow to be faster, but unless you move the brush tip slowly, you get a dry brush effect. That isn't a problem, though, once you get around that- the line variation you get is just amazing. Anything from half a millimetre thin to nearly a centimetre, all controlled with pressure. It's very responsive, the ink that comes with it is beautifully black and doesn't smudge or leak through to the other side, and what can I say, I just love it.

You do need to get a bit of practice with it to be able to actually sketch with it, though. And most importantly, you need to use the right kind of paper- it bleeds and feathers on rough, toothy paper. I'd recommend using it with bristol board for best results, but I've found that the smooth side of one of my cheap blank notebooks works very well too. Just make sure the paper is smooth, and has as little grain as possible. That way the dry stroke is much, much less frequent as ink just glides over the paper. Then you'll be able to see exactly how amazing this pen is and what it's capable of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews