Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You go girl
I really like the two current reviews for this film by 'Jonesy' and 'Mr. S**ploitation' short sweet and to the point which encapsulate the essence of this film nicely. RBR is a great homage to the slew of 70's and 80's exploitation revenge films. Two innocent Catholic schoolgirls (one admittedly sluttier then the other) unwisely turn up in the bad side of town whilst...
Published on 29 Mar. 2010 by Persona Synthetic

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Lord, if I wasn't such a righteous man, I'd pound them harder than the nails in the cross".
Catherine and Rebecca are from St. Mary's school for girls, they've been sent on a trip to sell bibles to help with fundraising. The two of them manage to end up in the small town of Moseley, and knock on the wrong door at the wrong time. They arrive at Lobo's house, the local pimp, drug dealer and murderer. He executes Carla, one of his girls who has stolen drugs from...
Published on 30 Nov. 2012 by West25


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Lord, if I wasn't such a righteous man, I'd pound them harder than the nails in the cross"., 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
Catherine and Rebecca are from St. Mary's school for girls, they've been sent on a trip to sell bibles to help with fundraising. The two of them manage to end up in the small town of Moseley, and knock on the wrong door at the wrong time. They arrive at Lobo's house, the local pimp, drug dealer and murderer. He executes Carla, one of his girls who has stolen drugs from him, just as the girls show up to witness the crime. Lobo's second in command, Clint, grabs the girls and drags them inside. Lobo and Clint leave to get rid of Carla's body, leaving the girls with Lobo's craziest but most profitable girl called Marla. After Marla has her fun with Rebecca, she decides it's time for a game of Russian roulette in which Rebecca loses her head. Lobo, Clint and Marla then take Catherine into the woods where they rape her and she's left for dead, she stumbles out of the woods and later wakes in the hospital. As in all good exploitation films, Catherine sets out for revenge.

The acting in Run! Bitch Run! is terrible, but it's always entertaining. Peter Tahoe is the most memorable as Lobo, he sports the same look as Frank from Shameless and sounds like Michael Madsen. He also gets some absolutely hilarious lines, just before raping Catherine he tells her that he's going to "spray his whipped cream all over that sunday, all over that cherry". Cheryl Lyone is pretty convincing despite her lack of acting talent, she shows just about enough emotion and vulnerability to make us feel for Catherine. Ivet Corvea is suitably weird and threatening as Marla, and John Winscher is okay as the pot smoking, stuttering Clint. The biggest name in the cast is probably Daeg Faerch, the kid that played Michael Myers in Rob Zombie's Halloween remake, he's absolutely awful in his small role as a local kid who steals money from Catherine. Not to be outdone by her son, Daeg's mother Mickey also has a small role as a shotgun wielding local that "don't got no money" to make a donation, she's wretched. Joseph Guzman made his directing debut here and it's clear he's a fan of '70s exploitation, he followed this up with another grindhouse type film the year later called Nude Nuns With Big Guns which seems to be a little more well known than this one.

Run! Bitch Run! really does have it all, necrophilia, filthy language, rape, murder, blood, nudity and a woman masterbating with a toilet plunger. It's not nearly as brutal or graphic as it sounds though, there's an annoying tendancy for the camera to pull away and all we're left with is the aftermath. The film is definitely inspired by I Spit On Your Grave, girl is raped out in the woods, rape is comitted over a rock with the camera looking at her face as she screams, the slow one is sent back to kill her but doesn't, the slow one is the first killed as the victim becomes the hunter. I see this film as an unofficial I Spit On Your Grave remake before the glossy big budget official remake was made, it also happened with a film called Chaos that was clearly a very low budget Last House On The Left remake that was made just prior to the official remake. If there's one thing that this film really did do well it was the music, it's fantastic and fits the film brilliantly, even if it does seem to have stolen one piece of music from Planet Terror. While I mention Planet Terror, I've noticed that since Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino teamed up for Grindhouse with their films Planet Terror and Death Proof, there's been quite a few of these '70s exploitation type films. Since those there's been Guzman's two films, Machete, Hell Ride, Dead Hooker In A Trunk, Dear God No! Drive Angry and my personal favourite, Hobo With A Shotgun. I like that there's a new wave of exploitation films that play out as an homage to the '70s classics, but I feel that none have been as good as the earlier films, and think that certain types of films were perfect for certain decades, like the '80s for slasher films.

The DVD is extremely basic, there's no subtitles and the only extras are three trailers. The sound and picture quality are exactly what you would expect from a film that cost an estimated $25,000 to make, but it actually benefits the film and it genuinely looks like it was made in the '70s. Run! Bitch Run! is as hilarious as it is gratuitous, and it's definitely not for the squeamish. Every single woman in the film that has more than five minutes screen time does get nude at some point, some are basically nude for the whole time they're on screen. It's not one of the better modern grindhouse films but for fans of exploitation it's well worth a look, but I wouldn't recommend the film to mainstream fans as the acting would probably put you off before the film really even starts. I love nonsense like this, but even I feel it's only worth three stars as it's nowhere near the best this genre has to offer. If you've seen this and liked it, Guzman's Nude Nuns With Big Guns is quite similar and also worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Brooding, Nasty- But Better Than Most Exploitation Fakes Out There, 21 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
First off, Run Bitch Run contains some graphic material, sex, killings gore and a lack of empathy. It's the type of film that you feel like having a shower after. However the acting is pretty borderline poor, and the soundtrack that bass soundtrack is utterly annoying to the point that I was hitting the mute button.

However in recent years there has been a spate of exploitation rip off films or homages, call them what you like. Most are dreadful and yes that includes Machete and Bitch Slap, etc etc. You see exploitation films had some soul, but these films have none, they were also made at a time of great shifting impact in Hollywood, and to argue possibly Hollywoods most golden moment the 1970s. These films don't have to be made now- there just made one senses because the alternative is too make a zillionith zombie movie.

So to conclude, if you're easily offended stay away from this movie, though the title and cover should be putting you off anyway. For the rest of us, acting aside, this isn't actually that bad a film. But not of course a film to put you on a high. Double this up with Wes Craven's Last House on the Left for a night of pure shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good., 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
If you like your films with hardly any dialogue,very poor acting and a loud rubbish soundtrack then you'll love this,If not stay well away from it you will seriously regret buying this dross.It's by far the worst film I've ever had the misfortune to watch.I don't want to be completly negative so I'd recommend something like Shuttle [DVD] [2008] orRec (Single Disc Edition) [DVD] if your looking for a decent movie.1/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You go girl, 29 Mar. 2010
By 
Persona Synthetic (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
I really like the two current reviews for this film by 'Jonesy' and 'Mr. S**ploitation' short sweet and to the point which encapsulate the essence of this film nicely. RBR is a great homage to the slew of 70's and 80's exploitation revenge films. Two innocent Catholic schoolgirls (one admittedly sluttier then the other) unwisely turn up in the bad side of town whilst selling their religious wares. The young ladies end their journey at a house of ill repute which is dysfunctional even by hick American brothel standards where catching unsavoury infections is undoubedly the least of ones concerns.
They are soon fresh meat for the maniacal sexually depraved inhabitants who are none too fussy in satiating their desires upon these innocents; dead or alive there's fun to be had. Horrific in concept though interspersed with black humour the girls are used and discarded except on this occasion the abusers have paid poor attention to detail and unfortunately for the murderous clan one of the girls has survived. Replacing her school uniform with a nurses outfit pinched from the hospital she awakes in and with her Catholicism long forgotten she sets out to avenge her dead friend and punish her violaters.
Featuring great dialogue, disturbingly unhinged protagonists and enough violence and nudity to appall even the most moderate of Daily Mail readers this is tremendously entertaining stuff for all well adjusted and balanced individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you like,it's all in here?, 22 Feb. 2011
By 
P. WILLIAMS "huggy bear" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
Freak show entertainment have a "habit" of producing this type of film that even though it's recently made it has the look and feel of being a film from the 70's or early 80's when literally hundreds of cheap sex/horror/gore movies were turned out.This one about two innocent young girls selling Bibles and religious bits and pieces who happen to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and end-up meeting folks from their worst nightmare contains everything you could hope for (depending on your taste of course)including some comedy,lesbianism,plenty of gore,full nudity and MUCH MORE + a good revenge story to boot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Run bitch? by RBT, 30 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
She didn't get far! A definite revenge film but without much horror, violence and gore. A reasonable but simple story filmed on the cheap. The filming was below standard, as was most of the acting but it was okay for an hour and a half but probably not a second viewing, but you never know. With my memory I'd probably watch it again in about a years time and kind of enjoy it again. It's not a film I would recommend but it's okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'If it's the last thing I do, I'm gonna get those Mothers..., 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
Made on the cheap..no subtitles for the deaf don't need any really you can still enjoy this with the sound down. Now what's the deal with a couple of Bible sales girls doing in a RANK 'ol tip of a one horse place like this?..Well to get to get murdered and raped by a bunch of old Drugged out beer swilling sociapaths! Beware! there is REVENGE!..Go get 'em GAL! Not a bad film..made in a day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Give it a Miss, 29 May 2015
By 
Dave Burgess (Spalding Lincs) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
Talk about 2 girls being in the wrong place at the wrong time and this describes this movie to a T. I did find the acting to be very borderline and the soundtrack was extremely loud, there isn't a heck of a lot of dialogue either just a lot of sex and violence. My advice would be don't bother buying this as there are a lot of better films out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a cracker..., 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
Two catholic girls selling bibles and religious stuff door to door, knock on one door to many..it is a rape, and revenge film. but it is a class above the rest..I am not going to post spoilers, but the two girls are so different - the film holds your attention, right from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Film, 22 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] (DVD)
This is "I spit on your grave " for the Noughties. True to the spirit of violent assault/revenge flicks such as the above, and Death Weekend, this sordid little horror pushes the boundaries of good taste and is a bona fide throwback to the Grindhouse films of the 70s/early 80s.
There is gore galore, nudity, sex, necrophilia , nunsploitation.
You name it, the creators of this masterpiece have shoehorned it in.
Avoid this film if you are squeamish, or are averse to the above or copious bad language.
I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Run! Bitch Run! [DVD]
Run! Bitch Run! [DVD] by Joseph Guzman (DVD - 2010)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews