Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense, chilling and amazingly crafted.
A disturbing and well executed addition to the seemingly endless cycle of first-person-camera faux-reality horror movies, this one has a domestic setting that helps distinguish it from all the shaki-cam woodland / zombie / monster flicks. Never leaving the confines of its central house and surrounding area, it proves to be a compelling You Tube-era spin on the grim themes...
Published on 20 May 2010 by Puzzle box

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I never want kids!
After watching this movie 2 thoughts came to mind.
1. That was original
2. I never want kids!

I thought this was going to be a bit like paranormal activity, what with the hand held camera trend, but to my surprise it wasn't. Basically two kids act normal at first but then get sick and demented, eventually torturing people. Put a decent twist on the...
Published on 2 Dec 2012 by Jason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense, chilling and amazingly crafted., 20 May 2010
This review is from: Home Movie [DVD] (DVD)
A disturbing and well executed addition to the seemingly endless cycle of first-person-camera faux-reality horror movies, this one has a domestic setting that helps distinguish it from all the shaki-cam woodland / zombie / monster flicks. Never leaving the confines of its central house and surrounding area, it proves to be a compelling You Tube-era spin on the grim themes of psycho kid movies like Children of the Corn or Who Could Kill a Child?. The Poe family moved to a country house. David Poe is a pastor, and Claire Poe is his wife, a psychiatrist. And they have two lovely children - Jack and Emily. You'd say they're absolutely normal children, playful and cute... except they aren't. The film is presented as a series of video clips recorded on the family camera by David, Claire and later Emily and Jack. You could say this is the first "normal" shaky cam film I've seen, by which I mean there are no monsters or zombies of any kind. Like a lot of the movies in this cycle, HOME MOVIE is a slow-burner and, because of its format, has to keep its story's really horrible stuff off-camera and like the best of the movies in this cycle, this fact enhances its overall power. The build-up to the inevitably grim denouement is absorbing and unnerving. We watch the family's decline via the "found footage" home movie excerpts of a successive array of special occasions : Halloween, an anniversary, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Valentine's Day and Easter. Initially, the cannily used format is used lightly : attention-seeking Dad (whose early tomfoolery and cheer is gradually eroded to reveal a very troubled individual). Much more interesting than any teen slasher pic you've seen, this descent into every parent's nightmare has a solid script, is full of top-notch acting from all the players and the kind of psychological tension that makes you hold your breath. Add a big twist at the end and you've got an evening at the movies that you'll be talking about for a while. I'd also like to say that the young Williams children, who play the roles of "Emily" and "Jack" are particularly effective. "Home Movie" is quite an unusual and quality film and definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Home is where the Heart is... Except for the Poe's, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Home Movie is an interesting little film, perhaps even a gem in a time of oversaturated horrors and thrillers. It's strange to say this considering l originally disliked the film.

Plot: Mum, Clare and Dad, David Poe decide to record their lives, subsequently their daughter and son's too, after moving from the city to a more isolated area. But as the footage goes on it becomes clear something is wrong with the two youngsters; their behaviour increasingly more violent and bizarre, can mum and Dad stop the cataclysmic events before it's too late?

Strangely this was a film I dismissed, perhaps too quickly, as on a second viewing I enjoyed it considerably more.

With that familar thud of 'Blair Witch' camera style it is easy to dismiss the film as another poor imitation. In fact it is anything but. Befitting to say that I feel it is much better than 'BW' not just in style but story too.

The idea behind this is simple and it is that simplicity that serves the film so well. Too many films have a litter of sub plots which condense the entire movie so instead Home Movie stays with one consistent idea and it works exceedingly well.

Absolute kudos to Adrian Pasdar for the role of David Poe (father) in a role so different from his usual. There is something slightly unhinged about his character that develops throughout but you still feel that heavy compassion when it goes wrong and it is Pasdar's conviction that brings added depth to the character. The same goes for his on screen wife who delivers a lockout performance.

By the same contrast the location, minor dabs of music are a delightful addition. In fact the camera used in such wilderness adds a captivating and eerie charm, it's not hard to think of hidden terrors in the forest that surrounds them.

Personally I think the small leads up till the thrilling conclusion are just as macabre and creepy. And the fish and dog scenes stand out completely, almost taking your breath away.

And the children? Amazing! To take the ideal of innocence and bring such a sinister undertone shows the capability of what they could do and serves it all in a delicious, delirious wrap of a film.

Home Movie doesn't supply all the answers, some of which continue to bemuse me now but
in a film where the scares are not suppose to be 'jump out at you' I like that some of the mystery remains, not every answer is required. And the climax of Home Movie will leave you breathless, in both the brutality and unexpected nature of it.

Fantastic sound quality, beautifully shot and utterly horrific (enchanting too)... Home Movie is one that deserves a wider audience. Fantastic film, I can wholeheartedly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Decent "Found Footage" Horror Flick, 7 Dec 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Home Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This is a reasonably effective, found-footage home movie horror.
David Poe is a softly spoken, forty-something pastor, who's moved to a secluded country home in upstate New York. Adrian Pasdar plays the pastor - it was really nice to see this actor on screen again, many years ago he had the lead role in the brilliant vampire movie Near Dark - Near Dark [Blu-ray].
David is married to the similarly aged Claire, an attractive psychiatrist. They have two children in their early teens, Jack and Emily. The early found footage shows the family playing baseball and celebrating Halloween. However, it's soon clear that all is not well with the kids - they are impressively dysfunctional, completely uncommunicative, keep to themselves, hide out in the woods, sleep together, speak in a strange language they've invented, and at one point, Jack throws a rock straight at his father's head. Emily is later seen clamping a live frog in a vice.
Given that their mum's a psychiatrist, it's incongruous that Claire seems largely untroubled by the glaringly odd behaviour of her offspring. David senses that something is wrong, but he thinks it's just down to the children adjusting to their new life in the country. Hmm, so a city kid adjusts to a rural life by squashing a frog in a vice? If that was my child, and my wife was a psychiatrist, I think we'd be talking about an urgent referral to a child counsellor/psychiatrist and even contemplating meds for the kids. However, Claire turns a blind eye to her clearly abnormal children, until they crucify the family cat on Christmas Day...
This horror flick is a very good example of the found-footage sub-genre. The acting is convincing, and although one knows from the outset that the children are evil, which makes later events somewhat predictable, the film is still gripping. It's vastly superior to that most famous of found-footage pics, The Blair Witch Project, which is surely one of the most over-rated horror films of all-time. The last ten minutes of Blair Witch has been staggeringly over-hyped down the years, but the final ten minutes of this film are far more chilling.
By the way, another highly effective, first-person camera horror film, is The Conspiracy - The Conspiracy [Blu-ray].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, excellent plot overall, 3 Dec 2014
This review is from: Home Movie (Amazon Instant Video)
A brilliant horror/thriller for a night in. I'd recommend this found footage film over any other I've seen so far. It's not particularly gory, although it does contain a lot of violent references and behaviour from the children. Unfortunately, it does have quite a slow start, but stick with it because it's worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOME MOVIE scared me out of my house!, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: Home Movie [DVD] (DVD)
A very suspenseful creepy horror shot like a home video. log. The 2 kids in the film rebel against their good natured religious parents, and it's to horrific realistic and gripping effect. Better than Paranormal activity for scares - and it is shot in that style. I highly recommend this film to horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I never want kids!, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Movie [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this movie 2 thoughts came to mind.
1. That was original
2. I never want kids!

I thought this was going to be a bit like paranormal activity, what with the hand held camera trend, but to my surprise it wasn't. Basically two kids act normal at first but then get sick and demented, eventually torturing people. Put a decent twist on the latest hand held trend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slow start, but worth hanging in there., 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: Home Movie (Amazon Instant Video)
It's shocking, it's depraved. It's a horror movie without any jump scares or cheap tricks. It's all about suspense, and the fact that it's kids carrying out these depraved and shocking acts of violence. It's a slow start, but then it quickly descends into madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home Movie, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. E. Smith "RobWolf666" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Movie [DVD] (DVD)
To be fair, this is advertised as being the best documentory style film ever made, but I'd personally disagree with that, but that's me. It's also advertised as being a horror, but I didn't find it remotely scary, there were times when I'd sit forward a bit anticipating something bad was going to happen, only for what does happen to be anti-climatic. For a film that was supposed to be scary I actually found myself to be a bit amused by what was happening more than anything else, so i don't know, a black comedy maybe? Don't get me wrong here, it is an enjoyable watch, and the acting is good - although considering it's supposed to be about the kids, they don't actually DO much until towards the end of the film, they certainly don't say anything anyway, and you don't SEE the acts of cruelty etc.

If what the kid actors say in the 'making of' section is true, it sounds like there'll be a sequel, so I'd still buy that, just to see what happens. As for this film, if you buy it, go in to it with an open mind, 'cause I can almost guarantee it'll not be quite what you expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointed, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the trailer for this film, and it looked quite good but the best bits for me were actually shown in trailor! I would'nt waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Movie [DVD]
Home Movie [DVD] by Adrian Pasdar (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: £4.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews