Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget East European Zombie Action with a Classic Star
This would be a standard run of the mill zombie b-movie were it not for one man & that man is Ken Foree, who played Peter Washington in the original Dawn of the Dead. This means to us fans, he's the equivalent to zombie royalty. However, I'm not just giving him props for turning up. With his cool vibes & sheer presence, I think he lifts this movie to above average...
Published on 28 April 2012 by Sean T. Page

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies or badly dubbed actors?!
I watched this not expecting much (I've seen plenty of zombie flicks with similar covers and been disappointed e.g Zombie diaries).

This was an good zombie flick from serbia, it does not take itself too seriously and gets on with the zombie action. The plot was wafer thin with many pointless scenes like going down to fix the generator to fix the electric to the...
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by Mr. P. Abbott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Zombies or badly dubbed actors?!, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. P. Abbott "The_abbott" (South of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this not expecting much (I've seen plenty of zombie flicks with similar covers and been disappointed e.g Zombie diaries).

This was an good zombie flick from serbia, it does not take itself too seriously and gets on with the zombie action. The plot was wafer thin with many pointless scenes like going down to fix the generator to fix the electric to the PC and then it never worked anyway. I guess we need some excuses for some dumbass characters to be eaten up by the zombies.

To me, this film reminded me of a zombie game you would play on your console - some scenes are like cut scenes from a game with some bad dubbing going on. Why some actors were dubbed is strange as they are all speaking English anyway. The Professor was dreadful and he wasn't dubbed. The Apocolpyse character voice over had me in hysterics as the voice did not fit the actors motions!!

Ken Foree keeps it together along with Kristina Clebb so there are some good acting amoung the crap. There are a few nods to the original zombie flick "Dawn of the Dead" as Ken was in this film. "Maybe we should find a mall?"!

It's not a great film and lets be honest most zombie films aren't but if you just love to watch zombie films then you will want to see this for the gore. There is also a scene after the credits roll if you want to know what happens to the annoying dumbass reporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low Budget East European Zombie Action with a Classic Star, 28 April 2012
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
This would be a standard run of the mill zombie b-movie were it not for one man & that man is Ken Foree, who played Peter Washington in the original Dawn of the Dead. This means to us fans, he's the equivalent to zombie royalty. However, I'm not just giving him props for turning up. With his cool vibes & sheer presence, I think he lifts this movie to above average.

Apocalypse of the Dead is one of those zombie films filmed in Eastern Europe - mainly for tax & cost reasons. The result I always find is the same - the sets all tend to look the same plus the lighting always seem too dark. For me, I have two gripes with the movie. I mention the lighting as it is a real issue; virtually the whole movie seems poorly lit. The second is the soundtrack - I think there must have been some sync problems.

OK - gripes over. Picture a train carrying a top secret cargo. As normal, there is an accident & a toxic gas is leaked out into a nearby station. Enter zombie madness. There are a few cut scenes to the Serbian President as it seems that this is all part of some government cover up but this theme is not developed that much in the movie.

Ken Foree turns up as a super-cool Interpol agent working on a prisoner transfer. With just one day to retirement (isn't it always the way), he gets caught up the drama...

Throw in a religious nut, a zombie nun, having to shoot your partner, a girl with too few clothes & you got yourself a zombie movie.

The zombies themselves are well-done & seem to be a mix of fast & slow - something for everyone There is even a sneaky joke in there about shopping centres for hardcore fans.

All in all, entertaining low budget horror not to be judged to harshly. The savage reviews on here are too much, these fans should bow to an actor who deserves our respect - Mr Ken Foree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good and gory, 18 April 2010
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
This film is also known as ZONE OF THE DEAD in case anyone spots it under that title as well. A Serbian made zombie flick with lots of nods towards the Romero style of zombie films.A nod to RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD is having a gas cause the dead to rise. This is not a great zombie film, but you could do a lot worse then buying it if you are a zombie fan.It is good to see a different take on zombies from European eyes. The film is dubbed but watchable. It is more enjoyable watching it with friends after the pub though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its actually pretty damn good, 16 Aug 2010
By 
Lewis A. Wiggins "LEW" (uk abdn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
IM gunna assume that like me your a big fan of zombie films. If your like me then youv seen them all and you know just how dreadfull the acting and camera work can be
This film however gave me a shock. The acting is pretty damn good tbh. A few in particular really stand out among the rest. THough there are one or 2 shady performances i garuntee you that youv seen worse. (zombie diaries anyone?)
Another surprise was the make up and sound effects, it does look to a high standard. Not quite romero but its pretty damn close.
i wont bother making a comment on the story as we all know what zombie movies involve plot wise.

8/10 zombie movies id recomend torrenting but this ones worth the buy imo. One of the best ive seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weird, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
bit of a weird zombie film, but i'm a sucker for them all so I did enjoy it, sort of, would recommend to people who aren't that fussy about all the technical parts of a film and just enjoy cheesy zombie flicks that aren't that great over all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ken Foree Forever, 4 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good attempt from Eastern Europe at a Zombie film that does not take itself seriously and has Ken Foree as the main character. The plot was thin in places and had the usually references about going down in dark places, but had agood twist on it. The acting was fine and plenty of blood and guts, however it did suffer from poor dubbing in places and two speed Zombies. Either super slow or very fast. However if a Zombie Apocalypse is around the corner I want Ken Foree in my corner as this gut never gets bitten even when surrounded by a couple of hundred Zombies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The title tells you all, 21 Mar 2010
By 
A. Maffei - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
If You don't expect much, just a dumb
zombie action movie, than You got it right.
The sfx and make-up are very nice indeed,
apart from that there ain't anything else.
Enjoyable though.
I only got one question, how come an
experienced agent, like Reyes is supposed to be,
could be such a moron in almost every action ?
Anyway, prep snacks and beer and You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try it, 3 April 2010
By 
Laura A. Donaghy "laura" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Ok - this is not great, but its not terrible either.

A train carrying biohazardous material gets shot at the contents leak, turning everone that came into contact with it into zombies.

Enter a few kids, a old man, a mental patient doing gods work and of course Peter from Dawn of the Dead, and you have a worthwhile zombie flick.

It has a good plot, acting os ok, effects are good, lots of little marks of respect to iconic movies that came before.

Just don't it too seriously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So awful it will probably end up as a classic, 16 Mar 2013
By 
zombielover "perpetual student" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Just finished this on Lovefilm as I trawl through as much zombie film nommage as inhumanly possible.

Apocalypse of the Dead sets its stock early on with the amateurish artwork on the intro credits. I have seen sturdier houses of cards compared to this plot but hey, who watches a zombie movie to obtain philosophy and life-changing insights.

The film is pointlessly dubbed in places so I can't begin to imagine how awful the actors originally sounded. There are pointless fill scenes and some very sketchy acting and a quite quite awful script.

But there is plenty of action and the film doesn't waste any time in getting to it. The camera work is very shaky for the action scenes and I found myself getting a bit motion-sick in places finding the whole thing a little hard to follow. You get the full impression of what's going on though, and for the zombie-flick lover there is plenty of the good stuff (even if the zombies do move like elastic bands).

I would recommend you rented this instead of buying the DVD where possible, as I can't imagine you'd want (or need) to watch this more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
the film lacks a strong convincing directive and is weak on all other fronts and solely relies on the "dawn of the dead veteran actor Ken foree to help the plot as if he is going to maintain some balance in the going ons of what is a dumb down version of dawn and resident evil type plot it slowly becomes repetitive and cumbersome and lacks alot of visuals that become or overrides by the shaky camera look as if to make it look stylish or modern but it cannot cover up the lack of innovation and the obvious "we have Ken from Dawn so we can capitalize on his presence sort of thing" it just feels a bit cheap in places too, the idea was there but it never really sinks in and engages the viewer (certainly in my case) the dubbing loses any quality and feeling too which doesn't help,on the plus side there are a couple of good scenes but much missed and lost by to much linear and close quarter action and not enough outside external references to the whys and the whos. there are better movies than this with more impact and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD]
Apocalypse Of The Dead [DVD] by Milan Konjevic (DVD - 2010)
4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews