Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who did the sub-titles?
The plot was great, the special effects were good, the acting was good. The whole thing was let down by the post production. Much of the movie takes place outside and in the snow. Whoever decided to make the sub titles white wasn't thinking. Several scenes were completely wasted on me because I don't speak Russian and the sub titles disappeared into the background.
Published on 19 Mar 2010 by Kirby Browning

versus
45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely uninvolving
There are plenty of action scenes in this film about the siege of Leningrad (rather than 'the attack on'), but it frequently slows down into strange dialogues delivered by a bewildering number of people. The role of some of these characters in the whole, is not always obvious. The almost unreadable sub-titles certainly don't help to define what they are going on about,...
Published on 24 Feb 2010 by B. Olsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who did the sub-titles?, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Kirby Browning "Kirb" (Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack On Leningrad [DVD] (DVD)
The plot was great, the special effects were good, the acting was good. The whole thing was let down by the post production. Much of the movie takes place outside and in the snow. Whoever decided to make the sub titles white wasn't thinking. Several scenes were completely wasted on me because I don't speak Russian and the sub titles disappeared into the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strangely uninvolving, 24 Feb 2010
By 
B. Olsen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Leningrad [DVD] (DVD)
There are plenty of action scenes in this film about the siege of Leningrad (rather than 'the attack on'), but it frequently slows down into strange dialogues delivered by a bewildering number of people. The role of some of these characters in the whole, is not always obvious. The almost unreadable sub-titles certainly don't help to define what they are going on about, and I also seem to detect some dodgy dubbing, notably on the main character 'Kate Davis' who appears to be speaking in a rather lifeless voice.

The film delivers a chilling portrayal of a city under siege and there are strong scenes of life - and death - in the cold, windy streets. Many of these scenes seem to have been re-created from period documentaries. However, for some strange reason all German bombing raids appear to be carried out by Messerschmitt 109 fighters, visibly carrying no bombs! Since these scenes are computer animated anyway, one should think it would not have been to difficult to show Luftwaffe bomber aircraft instead. At least it would have been more authentic. The characters also look remarkably healthy throughout, even if starvation is a big issue and actually took several hundred thousand lives in Leningrad during the siege.

It is not a bad war film as such, but I found it strangely uninvolving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a good history lesson, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Leningrad [DVD] (DVD)
There is a split around this film with reviewers and I can see why, I initially felt this film was plodding a bit too slow, but it does try to deal with what was one of the worst sieges in modern history, in terms of the human casualties. Then it gets things historically wrong, such as using Mescherscmitt ME 109's to carry out the bombing (without bombs in the under carriage) which is just rubbish and was done using CGI so they could have done a real bomber. The characcters do lack real development, but there are some good performances, ostensibly by the children and everyone does look too well fed, but it might be asking a bit much of 'extras' to go without food for 6 months just for arts sake.

They did finally deal with the alleged canibalism and also the activities of the NKVD, but it did feel a little too revisionist with feigns at the emotional heart tug scenario, which just failed to come off - Schindlers List this most certainly is not. That said one of the reviewers here has said that 'Enemy at the gates' is a betteer film, I beg to differ as it has that talentless clothes horse Jude Law ruining an above adequate plot and is so historically inaccurate that it could have been written by the Polit Bureaus propaganda department. If you want a good real Russian WWII film try 'Star'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good war film with feminist intent, 30 Dec 2010
By 
M. P. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Leningrad [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good film overall. The two lead female characters are well-acted, slightly to my surprise not ending up in bed with each other, given their mutual attraction. However, the 'attack' of the title eludes me - a few vaguely amateur aerial shots, citizens being worn down by starvation and privation, but no 'attack' as such. The lead male seems to be just someone bunged into the film to give it some sort of balance and/or a recognisable name, and the device of having a western reporter lady stranded in the city is OK as far as it goes. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unengaging Horrors of War XXXX, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Gisli Jokull Gislason "Jokull" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Leningrad [DVD] (DVD)
First off, "Attack on Leningrad" is a very misleading title. Long drawn siege would be better. The action scene on the cover is also very misleading. At the start there is a battle scene redone from "Enemy at the Gates" and some CGI Aircraft bombing but that is only for about 15 minutes of the whole movie, this certainly is no "battle movie". More accurate would be to have Mira Sorvino lying in a bed huddling to children trying to stay warm.

This is a Russian film trying to bring the story of Leningrad to life with a cliche script exploiting on some sort of "Horrors of War porn" without brining anything new or even being interesting. Into the plot are drawn a myriad of characters with thin and uninteresting stories and a sub plot about the Stalin regime. Added to this a completely unneccessary view from the German side and a love story.

On the whole the film felt as if it was trying so hard to cater to everyone and completely forgot to be interesting for someone.

Not that the siege of Leningrad isn't worthy of a good story. It certainly is. Its just that this story isn't good, just moves along in an unengaging way. Possibly worth watching but hardly a keeper and even then it is never a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real letdown!, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. T. Evans "Tombo The Great" (Worthing, near brighton, in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased the movie on Blu-Ray after watching the trailer. Thinking it looked like a brilliant move i was sorely disappointed.

I am a big WW2 movie buff, have a solid 100 movies based in this genre. This one wont be making my long-term pile.
The 'big' actors in the movie were out-acted by the child actors (never a good sign in a movie). The main actors in the film were completely timid and flat. Bryne was in it for a grand total of about 7 minutes, so God only knows why he has his name plastered allover the movies advertising.
The cinematoraphy was awful, the true impact of the time the movie was focusing on was not absorbed into the makeup of the film. I agree with the other chap. For people who were starving, the actors in the movie looked overfed!

Easily the worst movie Sorvino has ever taken part in. Sometimes it showed as she looked quite bored...

To the other people who say this is one of the best WW2 movies they have ever seen. I suggest you check out movies such as 'Dresden', 'Enemy At The Gates' and 'Downfall'... Movies such as these make this movie look like the tat it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A peek into the Russian soul, 8 Mar 2014
Negative reviewers of this film are being a little picky, I think.
This is a film made by a Russian team, so you cannot judge it fairly using anglophone cultural standards.
You also need to bear in mind that WWII put a massive scar on the psyche of the Russian people, as anyone who has been to Leningrad/St Peterburg can attest to.

Films like Stalingrad appeal more to western audiences because they are made using anglophone teams (whether UK or american actors).

Enjoy it for what it is, an attempt to capture how human beings behave in the most extreme of circumstances AND a work of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The siege of Lenningrad. Based on a true story, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a film I really enjoyed about an émigré journalist who returns to Russia to report on the war for the Allies. The film concentrates on the privations of the people of Leningrad. Well worth watching for a different perspective on war....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping part of history, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not for those who like their viewing sugar coated. However, if you are looking for a view of history not in the usual catalogue of 'war films' then this is for you. It is a graphic depiction of one of the most brutal sieges in history. The devastation caused by continual bombardment, the starvation of the citizens and the desperation some went to to stay alive is all too vividly portrayed. Put this in a background of snow, ice and freezing conditions without the means of providing heating and you will have a fairly clear idea of what you get. I recommend it for an adult audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First class response to my order, realistic price ....will use this dealer again.. great film , a shame Star Wars are not on single disc would buy them .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack On Leningrad [DVD]
Attack On Leningrad [DVD] by Alexander Buravsky (DVD - 2010)
5.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews