Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful
I Bought these for a winter ascent of ben nevis, and didn't take them out of the bag until I got to the snowline and was falling all over the place in my boots. Without even looking at them beforehand they were incredibly easy to put on and they did exactly what I needed them to. They give a good level of grip on packed snow and ice, and are a mile cheaper than anything...
Published 18 months ago by charlie hart

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good quality but no use for large boots.
Was very pleased with build quality, adjustment and baling plates.
I always use Lundhags (size 11) and the heel unit has a mould cut out at the heel leading face. This prevents the location sprags to butt against the heel and as a result the assembly slides backwards no matter how tight the straps are.
This problem may only apply to large boots with wide heels...
Published 9 months ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
I Bought these for a winter ascent of ben nevis, and didn't take them out of the bag until I got to the snowline and was falling all over the place in my boots. Without even looking at them beforehand they were incredibly easy to put on and they did exactly what I needed them to. They give a good level of grip on packed snow and ice, and are a mile cheaper than anything else I found similar. Obviously you can't use them for vertical ascents as they have no forward facing spikes, but on snowy/ Icy trails they were ideal. One thing I will say though is they do now have a bit of rust on them after leaving them wet, so maintenance is important if you want them to last. Overall a great value, easy to use set of crampons for low to medium-difficulty mountaineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good quality but no use for large boots., 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
Was very pleased with build quality, adjustment and baling plates.
I always use Lundhags (size 11) and the heel unit has a mould cut out at the heel leading face. This prevents the location sprags to butt against the heel and as a result the assembly slides backwards no matter how tight the straps are.
This problem may only apply to large boots with wide heels however it is a risk to use these on such sizes. Another issue when using the crampons on large sizes is that the two leading Points are very much to the rear of the sole leading to a foot rocking in certain situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edelrid 6 point crampon, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
If you find yourself walking out on the hills in winter there's traditionally been three possible ways to tackle icy conditions.....

1. Use those flimsy looking things with a rubber overshoe and either coiled springs underneath or little 0.5 cm spikes.

2. Go the full on 3-4 season boots & crampons at around 200 for the boots and another 100 -ish for the crampons

3. Stay at home

I'd been looking for a "halfway" solution and found some half crampons at about 65 before discovering these on Amazon at a mere 23 a pair. I thought "if they don't work then there's not much cash at risk". Edelrid aren't some Mickey Mouse company and make some decent climbing kit so I bought a pair for me and another for my wife.

I'm pleased to say they do appear to be the real deal - very well made and with a wide range of adjustment for width so they fit my size 9's and my wife's size 4.5 boots too. They fit the rear to mid-sole part of the boot and attach much like a regular 10 or 12 point crampon but without the front part. Haven't tried them on icy walks yet (not cold enough) but on grass & mud they're comfortable and provide as much grip as you'd get from a "normal" crampon and way more than you'd have without them. Very easy to put on - takes about a minute for both - and they come off again in 10 seconds. Get the straps tight and they're as secure as wearing a proper crampon on a 4 season boot.

I've always hired 4 season boots and crampons for use on the likes of Nevis & Mt Rainier (USA - Cascades near Seattle) but don't do enough proper winter stuff to justify the expense of buying 12 point crampons and the 4 season boots you have to have to go with them, You wouldn't / shouldn't use these in a climbing situation (no front points for a start) but if you're winter HILLWALKING and encounter moderate icy slopes these are way better and safer than boots alone. I guess the rule is if you'd need an ice axe then you definitely shouldn't be using these. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... stated and i must say that the crampons are great for clambering up and down slippery river banks, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
The item arrived as stated and i must say that the crampons are great for clambering up and down slippery river banks. The ideal item for the fisherman thats got everything!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
I bought these as a last minute, lower cost to full crampons to do a trip up snowdon. They handled the snow and ice perfectly and felt safe and secure on my boots. They obviously aren't designed for climbing, but are great for walking though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great option for winter walking!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
I got these for a trip to Snowdonia this winter because they are much cheaper than full crampons, and my boots are not full crampon compatible. They were superb; really easy to attach and felt very secure. Obviously these are not for ice climbing or really steep ground as they have no front points, but they do give you great grip on moderate ground, and make some easier winter walking safe and accessible for those without full crampons. They are also much easier to use than full crampons, as you are less likely to trip with them. A really well made product, I will be taking them again! Much better than the elastic mini spike things designed for icy pavements, these are proper walking crampons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, compact, light and well-constructed, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
Not suitable for ice or snow climbing but ideal for adding a bit more security when winter walking in Britan.
Much cheaper, smaller, lighter and easier to fit than full 12-point crampons, so probably more appropriate for general winter walking in British mountains. The slightly shorter spikes and absence of lobster claws make them less likely to catch on gaiters or accidentally stab the user in the calf. Adjustment to boot size is quick and easy. Fitting is quick and secure. An anti-balling plate is included in the sole. The material build-standard look very good (but I haven't used them much yet, so can't comment about lifespan). Being so much lighter and compact than full crampons, these are much more likely to be in my rucksac if I come across unexpected icy slopes or hard snow on a winter walk. They fold together neatly into the tough little zipped bag (included) so shouldn't need spike-protectors. Prompt and well-packaged delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent winter walking crampons, 4 April 2014
By 
Ian (Wimbledon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
So, firstly, don't listen to anyone who says that they don't fit boots properly - they do - it's just that these crampons are designed for walking on "relatively" flat ground, so the spikes tend to sit more towards the instep. You certainly won't be doing front pointing and, in fact, if you use these on particularly steep ground you might end up feeling a little uncomfortable. So saying, as a light weight option to carry with you for winter munro-bagginng, you'll find them hard to beat. I was the only one in a group of four experienced hill walkers to use these instead of more traditional crampons on a recent winter walking trip, and the consensus of opinion was that these were definitely the better hill-walking option. And at the price they are a bargain too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fits smaller boots only, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Douglas Taylor (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
Bought 2 pairs of these for my (size 8) and wife's (size 6) boots. Fit perfectly on size 6, but wont fit my size 8. The problem is the fixed distance between (1) the sole barb that fits against the front of the heel and (2) the rear plastic heel strap. Although described as adjustable this applies only to sole width and not length so be aware of this. Otherwise easy to fit and work well as said in other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edelrid 6 Point Crampon (Sports)
Great piece of essential winter kit, if you venture out on the trails off mountains in wintr conditions these at perfect , and fit all boots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edelrid 6 Point Crampon
32.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews