Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good
I wouldn't set too much store by some of the pretentious reviews giving this film only 1 star. It doesn't pretend to be a work of fine art after all. But the plot was reasonably good with a good twist here and there, and the action scenes entertaining too.

No, not the "best film ever." but a good coupld of hours of entertainment.
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by Brian Sheeran

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
Kept going fuzzy .not a lot to say about it as I didn't c most of it . it will not stop me buying more as others have been great.
Published 3 months ago by jeanette laws


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Brian Sheeran "Brian S" (Warrington, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wouldn't set too much store by some of the pretentious reviews giving this film only 1 star. It doesn't pretend to be a work of fine art after all. But the plot was reasonably good with a good twist here and there, and the action scenes entertaining too.

No, not the "best film ever." but a good coupld of hours of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death Wish with gadgets, 10 May 2011
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Law Abiding Citizen [DVD] (DVD)
'Law Abiding Citizen' sees Glaswegian hard man Gerard Butler take on an American accent as he fills the bitter, vengeful shoes of the Philadelphian errant genius Clyde Shelton. Shelton's life is turned upside down when his wife and daughter are murdered during a raid at their home. After watching one of the killers escape with a lenient sentence under the terms of a plea bargaining arrangement he picks his moment, waits ten years, and then proceeds to murder most of those connected with the case including the judge and officials in the DA's office.

Always one step ahead of the law enforcement agencies, he devises ingenious ways of making his point and avenging those who oversaw a criminal justice system that perpetuates injustice in the name of legal practicalities.

'Law Abiding Citizen' is a watchable, elaborate affair. The tale of one man hell-bent on vengeance has been done many times before but this plot mix is augmented by the protagonist's particularly cold and calculating cruelty - much of it achieved from the confines of his prison cell.

Gerard Butler does well here, although I'll never be convinced by a Scot who adopts an American accent. For many he will always be Leonidas from 300, but he has achieved much beyond this and should be credited for the diversity of roles that he has now undertaken.

Overall, a high-tech brutal tale of anger, pathological hatred and cat and mouse belligerence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Law Abiding Citizen, 31 July 2012
Thinking about going to bed, this film started late on Film 4. Thought I'd watch the beginning out of curiosity as I have never seen Gerard Butler in a bad film to date. However, once it started, I could not leave the film; it was really gripping. I agree, this film is not for anyone who is adverse to extreme violence, but taken in its entirety, the violence is in keeping with the story and the mindset of the character that Gerard Butler plays. Jamie Foxx and Colm Meaney are also extremely good and the interaction of characters in the story is well done. This is a clever film that is gripping, psychological, thrilling, full of unexpected twists and keeps you not only on the edge of your seat, but guessing right to the end; an ending, which is unexpected! I am not going to go over the story, that is apparent in the film's write-up, but I will say this, if you enjoy a really good psychological thriller and can accept violence in its context of the story, then for 109 minutes you will be immersed in a film that does not let you leave it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action film, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gerard Butler is a normal guy with a wife & young daughter. 2 burgulars break in to his house and kill his wife & daughter. The law system sucks and does not do him any fair justice, so revenge will be taken on everyone that has helped to do him wrong! A really great film, with his actions quite unexpected. I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this thriller/action film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far-fetched fun, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Law Abiding Citizen [DVD] (DVD)
There is only one thing you need to know before watching `Law Abiding Citizen' and that is: how much can you suspend your disbelief?

If the answer is, `Not a lot - I like my films realistic,' then don't bother watching this. However, if you can overlook one plot hole after the next and just gloss over the numerous coincidences which need to occur simply to move the plot forward, then you'll probably enjoy this.

Luckily - for me - I simply allowed myself to get swept along in what is quite a novel and fast-paced story where `everyman' Gerard Butler's family gets killed, but the killers cannot be prosecuted, thanks somewhat to lawyer Jamie Foxx. Therefore, ten years later, Butler decides to invoke his own style of justice.

What follows is one pretty clever and gruesome way of killing someone after the next. You'll find yourself both sympathising and hating Butler's character, while Foxx isn't to be outdone on the acting stakes, as he comes across as both slick and vulnerable all at the same time.

Basically, if you like your action/revenge/thrillers loud, dumb and full of loop-holes, then you'll like this. If you're expecting absolute realism then you'll hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, Suspenseful And Thrilling Movie., 28 Mar 2010
By 
Law Abiding Citizen begins with Clyde Shelton (Gerard Butler) with his family until they are brutally murdered by two robbers. At the trail, Nick Rice (Jamie Foxx) tells Shelton that the real killer won't get the death sentence which will go instead to the other robber.
Stunned and shocked at this, Clyde simply disappears from sight. Ten years later, both of the robbers are dead with grisy and unsettling ways. The police arrest Shelton, then Rice asks for a confession from him. But what he and the rest of them don't realise that Shelton has a disturbing plan to bring down the flawed system with brutal and shocking acts.
This film will grab your attention within the first few minutes right to the very end, it will leave you on the edge of your seat and your jaw will drop several times. It's hard to feel for any of the characters, at first you are deeply saddened for Shelton and against Rice but as the film goes on it's up to you to decide who you will root for. It is violent and bloody so anyone who dosen't like gory images stay away from this one, also this film is the director's cut where it has a few minutes added in the running time. Pefomances are oustanding from the co-stars to the leading men. Foxx suits his role as Rice, the family man who may have made a mistake with his descion of the court case. But it's Butler that really steals the show. From a broken man to a unsettling murderer, he gives you chills whenever he comes on screen and gives one of his best pefomances so far in his movie career. He also prodcued it so that's a added bonus. The one thing I didn't like this was the ending, not to give anything away but it's not one I would say it sastified me. So if you want a thrilling suspenseful movie for a Friday or Saturday night entertainment, I highly recommend Law Abiding Citizen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can’t fight fate. Right?, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Law Abiding Citizen [DVD] (DVD)
Gerard Butler stars as Clyde Shelton, a man forced to not only watch his wife and daughter be raped and murdered in his own home, but to also have to sit there and watch the justice system fail him. So he wages a one man war against pretty much everyone involved.

Hoo-Hah! The big hitting critics hated it, with comments ranging from it being sub-normal, preposterous, ugly and morally corrupt, to it being a comic book film of moral hectoring! Naturally, as the critics were at pains to point out that it would, it made a pot load at the box office and is generally well liked by a good portion of the action/revenge/thriller loving populace.

There’s always a big grey area with revenge/vigilante movies that really brings out the debate crowd, but what rarely gets said is that through the actions of these cinematic waste layers is the chance for many, many, folk to live vicariously. Yes! 99% of the common man and woman do indeed sit back and trust our respective legal systems to do what’s right and just, but oh how we feel that given similar circumstances we would want to vent spleen with furious anger.

Law Abiding Citizen is a riot, at its heart it does have something to say, even asking some pertinent questions. Do these social smarts come bursting through the bloody haze to make a point? No, they get submerged in a whirl of kinetic fury and socko violence, but they are there, caustically so. But hey! For shocks, twists and outrageous set-pieces, this picture rocks the big one. Vicarious living through cinema – wonderful. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When does revenge turn criminal?, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Law Abiding Citizen [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not really that much of a fan of Gerard Butler's acting (I like the guy himself, always comes across as sound in interviews), but I found him to be rather good in this movie as was Jamie Foxx and Colm Meaney. Although the story follows what is a familiar route for the most part, the ending caught me by surprise and I also found the movie did well at playing with my feelings towards Butler's character Clyde. I started off obviously feeling sorry for him after his wife and daughter is murdered and even agreed with the character as he takes revenge on the actual killers but as his 'payback' towards the system spirals into darker and darker moments, it is increasingly difficult to root for him and to agree with his methods. One of the better blockbuster thrillers of recent years. Recommended. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film I've watched in years!, 14 Jun 2011
Great movie. The ending is controversial but it makes you think about the movie alot more instead of it being the typical perfect ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A confusingly toned but exciting thriller, 17 Aug 2010
Director F. Gary Gray's efforts range from the supremely tense and exciting 'The Negotiator' to the flat incoherence of 'A Man Apart' This is the middle ground. When Gerard Butler's Clyde witnesses professional criminals murder his beloved family before his eyes, he looks to Jamie Foxx's hotshot prosecutor to nail them. Instead, he cuts them a deal, shattering Clyde's trust in the law. When the bad guys start to die in murderously gruesome ways there's only one suspect, as Clyde comes after the men who killed his family, and anybody who he feels cheated them out of justice...
Gerard Butler tries hard as Clyde, and his character is charming, broken hearted, chillingly intelligent and wrathful by turns, but he's not given a deep or well-written enough role to be truly convincing as a grieving husband and father. Similarly Jamie Foxx's character can be largely defined by one word - 'ambitious' - and although he's given a little more meat than Butler, his character also feels shallow. The bad guys are little more than 1-dimensional cut-outs, and the other characters in the movie are largely just functional. However, it is an enjoyable movie that's well directed and has many stand-out moments. The opening is harrowing, and the first revenge scene is cringe-inducing. The violence goes quite far throughout the film. There is a brilliantly executed 'jump-out-of-your-seat' moment thrown in there, and some truly fiendish traps and killings. Butler's character is also clearly driven, and his actions are enjoyably clever and hard to understand until the big reveal. The ending is nicely tense and quite brutal.
What is confusing is the tone of the film. We start off with Butler as our hero for about the first twenty minutes, then after setting Foxx up as arrogant and a little hard to like, the film switches and presents him instead as our hero. This is a confusing tonal shift that distracts from the movie, and they would have been better off establishing their characters a little firmer earlier on. It's a hard uphill battle to like this guy after he's just sold out a grieving father and his brutally murdered wife and little girl - not enough justification or agonising about it is done to make it easy to understand his character's decision, let alone forgive it. There's also a revelation about Butler's character that is hard to believe and never properly sold - it's just thrown out there and we're expected to either believe it or not. A bit more effort in the writing, and this could have really enhanced his character.
Overall there's some very exciting violence, a twisting sadistic plot, and some good shocks. The characters in Kurt Wimmer's script needed more work. However it is an enjoyable Saturday night thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews