Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's an Epic, Very WELL reMADE, one day people will get it, will understand HIM
Aussie JamieB. and American JamesC. are great (also lady actress, crew, etc are superb). This film is about ABORTION. Intelligent viewers will understand that CODEd Words and IMAGES are about Mother NATURE punishing them but not "Mother" as in Environment/EcoStuff but BAD (WouldBe) MUM/Mother. I don't want to call Jim's Fans unintelligent, but even some critics...
Published 5 months ago by F. Graham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barely enjoyable
Whilst I am a fan of Jim Caviezel this is not one of his better films. Whilst I appreciate the two main characters are not meant to be likeable I felt there was no spark between the actors. Considering they were on screen for almost the whole of the film, it made watching more a chore than a pleasure.

It is not a subtle film either, spelling out far too often...
Published on 24 Jun. 2013 by S. A. Mccarthy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barely enjoyable, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
S. A. Mccarthy "Stargazer" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst I am a fan of Jim Caviezel this is not one of his better films. Whilst I appreciate the two main characters are not meant to be likeable I felt there was no spark between the actors. Considering they were on screen for almost the whole of the film, it made watching more a chore than a pleasure.

It is not a subtle film either, spelling out far too often they were selfish, inconsiderate human beings. The explanation of the reason they had arrived at this juncture in their relationship could have been explored a little more to reveal why the incidents happened.

Not a film I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remake of an Old Aussie Movie., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
As I have the original Australian movie made some 25/30 years ago, was curious to see the modern take on it. Basically the storyline is the same with man slowly ruining his habitat and nature taking revenge. Also James Caviezel is one of my favourites together with Claudia Karvan. Enjoyable but feel the original was more pertinent when it first came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Long Weekday [rental], 10 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Long Weekend (DVD)
The director has only made some cash-ins on "Scream" (which, like most cash-ins, don't understand "Scream" was satirical) and an exploitation flick besides this so if nothing else its good that he tried making a serious horror movie.

However, while the characters do have depth - basically they're alienated from each other over a past incident, but really do care about each other - that's all there is. This couple being at each other's throats doesn't make them endearing.

There should be a sense that something isn't right. There really isn't.

Their friends never show up and some stuff involving animals mirrors the couple's issue. Is the forest an allegory for Purgatory? I don't know. The movie is ambiguous, and I'm not interested enough to resolve the issue.

Jamie Blanks certainly aimed much higher and tried much harder than all his other films combined. That ambition and effort, however, is the thing Long Weekend has going for it, because it didn't pay off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fable sunk by appalling protagonists, 11 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
The idea behind this film is sound and interesting. Mother Nature gets as mad as hell, and declines to take it any more when a couple gets all in her face.

A squabbling couple go for a weekend's camping by the sea. The man is an arrogant lout with no respect for the environment he's supposed to enjoy, while the woman is a sour-faced, snapping cow. Soon strange things start to happen as their surroundings turn against them.

The inventiveness of the screenwriter, in bringing their peril to them, bit by by, is quite effective, with some genuinely shocking and tension-filled moments, but lordy, why on earth did he make the two leads so godawful?

Their hatefulness steams off them like vapour off dung. Their company is so vile - she's so unremittingly sour and he's so boorish and hard-headed - that the scares come as actual relief. It's not so much wanting them to be menaced because they're so awful, just that their being menaced gives us a break from their vicious swipes at each other.

An uncomfortable portait of a marriage and an effective enough supernature-al (see what I did there?) thriller, of which the thriller bit could have been tighter. Worth a look, but doesn't quite live up to its potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's an Epic, Very WELL reMADE, one day people will get it, will understand HIM, 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
Aussie JamieB. and American JamesC. are great (also lady actress, crew, etc are superb). This film is about ABORTION. Intelligent viewers will understand that CODEd Words and IMAGES are about Mother NATURE punishing them but not "Mother" as in Environment/EcoStuff but BAD (WouldBe) MUM/Mother. I don't want to call Jim's Fans unintelligent, but even some critics didn't get what this movie is about. The metaphors and allegories/SYMBOLs, are all hidden messages/meanings. For instance, the "black" Discarded doll Jim found means the rotten/"black"/Flesh and/or BadBlood of a Discarded/aborted "baby" =foetus/egg when a lady has a termination (similar to dark/"black" menstruation blood and even flesh some women discard...monthly),
which can be odourStrong, reflected in the badSmell as both Carla and Jim once pinch/close their noses.
"Corpses", putrid flesh is featured twice as "animals" are God'sBeings...too ie "HUMANs" DEATHs. Also a "baby crying", then a Female/BIRD wanting her "egg"/foetus...back, etc is all about badABORTION especially as, religious James, is ProLife=AntiAbortion in Real Life.

I sensed James had suggested to director Jamie a few things for this remake. Actor James (but soon director and script-writer + producer) Jim/James, did put a lot of input into his work before despite being under movie directors' own improvised-or-not interpretations. I definitely Feel James's Hand,etc in this telling film. Sexy and Smart James and again, a very clever movie of "his" , for Real!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Longing for Nature to Win - Cast Away this is Not, 18 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
Having never seen the original 1978 version of 'Long Weekend' I cannot make comparisons between this film and the original, I cannot tell you whether this remake remained faithful to the original, nor can I inform you which I think is the better movie though in my experience, remakes seldom improve on their original counterparts, so this is my take on this movie from a stand alone movie point of view.

I purchased this 'Long Weekend' 2 Disc Ultimate Edition DVD, on a whim from a charity shop.
With the lights turned down I quite enjoyed this movie to an extent. The premise is good. An affluent city couple (Peter and Carla) with marriage difficulties head off for a long weekend in the Australian bush to relax and heal their marriage. But their total disrespect for their idyllic surroundings has 'nature' striking back... Sounds in the night, angry attacking eagles, restless ants etc etc, in a decent gradual build up of tension that changes the mood from pleasent if a little strained on the couples part, to fear and ultimately terror, with a few nods towards Tobe Hoopers 'Texas Chain Saw Massacre' along the way.

However, what partly annoyed me was the fact that I did not like either of the lead characters, and as these two are almost the only two characters that feature throughout the whole of this film, I was surprised by that notion as there is usually at least one character in all movies that the viewer should like, or at least feel a connection with, or would want to be.

In fact, my dislike of them grew more and more intense as the movie progressed, via a few genuine jumpy moments, I found myself wishing the worst, first upon Peter and then even more so his wife Carla (one scene in particular has her doing something quite appalling that even stops and makes Peter seem almost likeable for a few seconds), with good thoughts of mine only being wished upon their pet dog and it having no harm come to it.

Peter for me was extremely unlikeable throughout. If this was intentional from the film-makers part, then they did an exceptionally good job.

Going into much more detail about this film would spoil the few genuine surprises, including the sudden but well executed ending and what they see, or think they see in the ocean. Do both characters survive the end of the film? You will only find out if you watch it (or continue reading through the Disc Features that I have written below), though pretty much from the beginning I was hoping that neither would.

My over-riding thought at the end of the film however, was not about the film itself, but was knowing that there are Peters and Carlas out there in the real world, blatantly disregarding nature and it's delicate balance, which in itself is a sad thought.

Will I watch it again? Yes I will. And maybe you should give it a try too if you can find it for a decent enough price. Furthermore, I may probably end up sourcing the original 1978 version too.

Product Info:

LONG WEEKEND - 2 DISC ULTIMATE EDITION DVD
DISC ONE:
~ 'Long Weekend' Main Feature
~ Audio Selection Dolby Digital 5.1 & 2.0
~ 'Long Weekend' Theatrical Trailer
~ Also Available Trailers
DISC TWO:
~ Director's Production Diary
~ Interview Gallery
~ Deleted Scene: Jim & The Ducks
~ The Making of 'Long Weekend'
~ Taming The Wild Featurette
~ Peter's Death Featurette: Behind The Scenes With Grant Page and Roger Ward

It is just a shame that there is no Audio Commentary special feature option as I believe such an addition would have justified completely this DVD's 'Ultimate' Edition tag and is the main reason that I have given this product 3 stars instead of 4 stars, as the film for me is a 3½ out of five, but every DVD labelled 'Ultimate' Edition should have an Audio Commentary bonus feature as a minimum start point so, harshly some might argue, I have deucted half a star.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish i'd read the other reviews...., 15 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
This is possibly the worst film i have seen in years!!

Yes i do agree with one reviewer -the idea of mother nature taking her revenge is great -but - crikey - i HATED the 2 main characters. I guess thats the point though.

Myself and my husband were both actually laughing towards the end 'cos it was so bad.

i wish we could give no stars, as this is one film that doesn't even deserve 1 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother., 8 Nov. 2010
By 
Guitar Gal (Greater London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
I like to give films with unfavourable reviews the benefit of the doubt. However, for once I wish I had listened. This is truly an abomination. I ended up winding forward to the end - just to check whether the dog was ok or not (didn't care about the rest of the characters). Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come on, it's really not that bad..., 8 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
Can't say I'm that surprised by all the negativity aimed at this low-budget Aussie chiller because the director does dare to be different.

In brief: warring couple on verge of divorce head to the beach for a "glam-ping" break with friends. Said friends don't show up. Blokey (Jim Caviezel, or Pat Cash's doppelganger) is a boorish, sarcastic, materialistic middle-class oaf who thinks nothing of shooting innocent creatures, litter-bugging etc. Wifey (Claudia Carvan) is a whining hag coming to terms with an affair/abortion, who finds everything about her husband profoundly irritating. Together they are a disgrace to the human race. Eventually their appalling behaviour in the middle of nowhere leads to nature slowly wreaking its revenge...

So of course the leading couple are appalling: they represent the human race, taking Mother Nature for granted. I'm no eco-warrior but the clear message is that we can only push nature too far before we must pay the consequences.

Unlike many horrors, the pace is very, very slow. In these tedious days of gore-porn, I found this a refreshing change. The director is not afraid to use old-fashioned techniques, so there are plenty of fades-to-black at the end of scenes, long periods of dialogue that some will doubtless find dull but with which many long-term couples will identify. So if you like your action thick and fast, forget it. If you want screaming teens being hacked up by tedious masked killers, look elsewhere. The tension here is cranked up slowly but effectively.

Blokey spots a camper van on the other side of the beach and decides to see who it belongs to. He discovers that the similarly selfish owners have been here a little longer.

Things do deteriorate a little in the final 30 minutes: some clunky moments undo some of the earlier good work, but overall there is plenty to admire here. I enjoyed the sense of menace and helplessness. One is also left pondering the somewhat sinister role of the locals at the nearby inn who appear to perhaps be aware of the horrors that lie in wait for the unwitting couple, and even deny the existence of the place they are visiting.

It's not a four or five star movie by any means but the landscape is beautiful, the score is superb, sound excellent and it does at least give you food for thought at the end of a nerve-shredding 90 minutes or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Original was better in this case, 21 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Long Weekend [DVD] (DVD)
Jim Caviezel is a good actor, but in my opinion the movie itself doesn't come close to the quality of the original Long Weekend from 1978.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Weekend [DVD]
Long Weekend [DVD] by Jamie Blanks (DVD - 2010)
£5.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews