Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy gadget for emergency top ups
The gadget itself is light and kind of frail so don't chuck it about, and needs to be kept in a pouch to save scratching the panel and to keep the adaptors together. Charges off a USB point in a couple of hours and then will provide about a half charge to a phone or MP3 player. Left in the January sun/daylight for 5 hours it charged fractionally, enough to give my phone...
Published on 14 Feb. 2010 by Ges

versus
44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underpowered in all respects
Solar charging is such a good idea, but currently so poorly executed. The Pico is no exception.

The only way to get a decent charge out of it is to have it in direct and bright sunlight all day - forget leaving it in your car or your conservatory, it won't work. Even with a full charge, the internal battery is weak and at full capacity will only give an iPhone...
Published on 31 Aug. 2010 by Mr. R. J. Matthews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars freeloader pico charger, 22 April 2010
By 
Mr. G. Anderson (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The pico freeloader solar charger is easily portable,but I find that it takes longer to charge than what it tells you it takes.I also found that it doesn't fullly charge my Samsung mobile phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great idea..., 7 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Great idea, however, charging via the solar panel doesn't take 8-10 hours as suggesting in the manual. More like 8-10 days. Works a treat if charged over USB and will give you're mobile that extra talk time you needed. If you're thinking that you can use it as a green energy device think again. I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ineffective as a solar charger, 27 Aug. 2012
By 
G. Ward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The Freeloader Pico substantially fails at the job it is supposed to do.

In the year I have owned it I have never been able to complete a successfull solar charge of the Pico and in turn charge my mobile telephone from it. That is despite on occasion placing it outdoors in good sunlight day after day. I even wonder if my Pico is faulty.

The internal battery of the Pico is rated at 800 mA/H. This is about half the capacity of the battery found in current smartphones so the Freeloader Pico is at best a top up charger, you'll never fully recharge a Smartphone in one go from the Pico. The solar cell itself is rated at 75mA/H, this figure is based on ideal, full blazing sun, conditions and even with that, you're looking at ever ten hours in ideal conditions to charge the Pico's internal battery.

I have found the Pico to work well when charged from a USB port on a computer but this is little consolation. The whole point of a solar charger is to facilitate recharging away from mains power and computers with USB ports.

The totally smooth flat design of the Pico doesn't assist with positioning it in the sun etc. Some kind of clip or other arrangement to help with mounting or positioning the device would be an advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars doesnt charge ipods, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I thought getting this charger would be a really good idea, and as it says above it can be used for charging ipods. Firstly when i recieved my charger it did not have an apple attachement so i plugged in my usb cord which came with my ipod, but when i plugged it in it said this device is not supported by apple and refused to charge.

Don't buy this if you are wanting to use it for apple products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't contemplate this flashy piece of fluff, 12 Jun. 2011
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Firstly, my freeloader was dead as the dodo on arrival. Wouldn't accept a USB-driven charge, and wouldn't flash any LEDS.
Then, the alternative freeloader specimen in the shop had condensation inside the panel.
Thirdly, the gel protector cover (aka battery cover) sold as an accessory to this phone accessory prevents the charger micro-USB from attaching, and has to be removed to charge.
Fourthly, the freeloader has to be placed in direct sunshine, not under glass, at 45deg to the sun, and still won't charge from empty to full in one complete June day in UK. And it is said to die if it gets wet.....charging outside in british "sun"..... so that's not likely to happen then.
All in all, don't waste time or money on this flimsy idea which preys on the common forlorn hope that UK sunshine will mysteriously appear for two days at a time, and rain will pause at your convenience, and all your phone charger worries will be over. It won't happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars pico poopoo as much use as a dead cat.. in a bag, 17 Nov. 2014
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
quite possibly the worst charger ive tried. it actually drained my phone. it powered a led light after full mains charge for only 3 hours solar charge well im mot close enough to the sun, i think that rosetta's lander has more juice than this junk. and solartechnology customer service is appalling i sent 15 or more emails and they just don't care that the product doesn't work. one response was . well i don't know what you want me to do about it! do not buy freeloader tech your better off going to the pound shop and getting a solar garden light and hacking that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Done what's needed, 4 July 2014
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I have had one of these for somewhere around the 5 year mark.
I would agree with most of the reviews here that it is not great, however it has done what I needed it to do.
I got it originally because I was going hiking in the mountains of Scotland and would have no access to power.
Thankfully the Scottish weather broke and we had good sun for 4 days I hooked the Pico to my bag and walked for 8-10 hours a day this kept enough juice in the thing to power a phone call to my kids in the evenings. very pleased
This said it is now not possible to charge from the solar panel it will only work on USB power now but this is no real issue for me as can charge it and any other device before I set off and all sorted.
With the leaps in charging tech these days ( wow sounding old) with solar panels in umbrellas and kenetic charging etc Freeloader may need to step up their game if they haven't already. generally happy with the Pico though it did what I wanted at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does not last long, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The Free Loader Pico Solar Charger cannot fully charge my blackberry. Not ideal if one is in an emergence situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only used it once before if died, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Don't buy if you live in England, took to an f1 race, it was change in the car on the way there used charge to power iPhone, left its out on a sunny morning to charge, had a small shower and It wouldn't charge via the solar panel anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars dissatisfied unable to charge my phone after all day in sun, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Useless but looks good,just did not get it to charge anything to more than 5%
Sorry spend more money and get something else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FreeLoader Pico Solar Charger
£17.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews