Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was the ten year wait worth it? I think so!
Describing Sade's music is quite difficult and I cannot profess to be an expert in musical descriptions. Having said that, I can say that her voice is very smooth and a lot of her songs seem to have a jazz based feel to them. I own every one of her albums and if I'm honest was excited at the prospect of getting my mitts on her new album to see how much the music had...
Published on 31 Mar. 2010 by Best Crime Books

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real let down
I sat down to listen to this with great anticipation. One reviewer said this was a return to the form of Love Deluxe. Having bought all her albums from day 1, I thought Love Deluxe was her career peak, a view shared by many of my friends when they heard it. After the disappointing Lovers Rock here was I expecting Love Deluxe pt 2.

Not so by a long mile. I'm not...
Published on 26 Feb. 2010 by Martin J. Bushell


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solider of Love, 22 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
It's been a long time coming, I heard her interviewed on Radio 2 and listened to hear input on some of the tracks and appreciate the amount of work that's gone into this album, and the reason for its delay. I really like this new album, but it is nothing very new from her, I guess 'tried and trusted' is what it is, but very easy, mellow listening which put me in mind of Norah Jones first album in some ways... Certainly worth adding to your collection, even though it is a bit on the short side!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has Sade lost it in the intervening years?, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
Dr. Tucker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
Arrangements, so typically Sade, so superb, the production so spot-on and professional; Sade it would seem is back!

In away, it is perhaps a disappointment - one expects that Sade would not be able to produce a new CD as special and exceptional as Lover's Rock, her last album released in November 2000. But in Soldier of Love, Sade is able to reach back to those past days and bring back those haunting vocals and stirring arrangements that was her hallmark back in the 80's running into the noughties.

There is a familiarity that many will enjoy and recognise, yet there is still a new edginess in Soldier of Love that shows a new outlook or focus.

In summary, light a fire, pour yourselves a glass of good wine and sit and enjoy this new CD from Sade.

Yes, nearly thirty years on, Sade does manage to demonstrate that she still has what I takes, I Promise, despite Love Is Stronger Than Pride: E. Lynn Harris's New Novella Plus Four Novellas from Debut Authors, this Diamond Life Lovers Rock.

No The Best Of Sadehas not Lost it.

David Tucker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another sophisticated album for Sade, 21 July 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
Sade has always been a very classy act - great production, sultry vocals and solid songwriting. After a ten year hiatus from recording new material, Sade offers us ten new tracks on "Soldier Of Love".

"The Moon And The Sky" is a typical Sade song - smooth and jazzy. However, the title track and lead single "Soldier Of Love" has a rougher edge to it, with the military drums and sharper vocals. It still remains very effective and is the only slight change in direction to the album. "Morning Bird" is a classic Sade ballad and the reggae tinged "Babyfather" has a very cool vibe as do most of her songs. The atmospheric and dreamy "In Another Time" is a very beautiful ballad. "Skin" is yet again another mid-tempo cool groove. The album ends with an acoustic gem sung beautifully, "The Safest Place".

On the downside, Sade's albums sometimes can veer into indifference and this is what happens halfway through the album with "Long Hard Road", "Be That Easy" and "Bring Me Home" and is why I have knocked a star of the album's rating. Still, it is yet again another solid release from this sophisticated lady and her band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eds 1, 3 April 2010
By 
Mrs. P. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
so pleased to see the return of without doubt the greatest female artist this country has produced.Very good album, jazzy, classy, well written, with the usual great percussion you would expect from this artist. 'In another time' is the best ballad i have heard in 5 years.....pure class sade.....take a bow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving On, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
R. Wyatt (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
Let's assume that Sade and/or her record company know what her fans really like about her music. If so, then her greatest hits collection should reflect this. In that collection about 75% of the material is groove based, you can tap your feet to it, dance to it and the lyrical content is pretty much irrelevant. I would imagine these groove based tracks are more or less put together by the band as a whole and Sade writes a few words to go with them. The other 33% of the collection are songs by Sade herself and show that she thinks about the world, has a conscience and can write as good as the best of them. In all honesty, I like the grooves and the songs too but I feel that the ratio is about right. On the studio albums the ratio is closer to 50-50 but it is obvious from the greatest hits collection, that the groove based stuff is what the majority of people like most.

On this lastest album, the former is nothing like the gameplan - it is approx 100% song based. The songs are very good but this is probably not what her long term fans wanted. Anyone who liked Lovers Rock will probably like this too. That album had very little to dance to either. To my ears it was her weakest album to date and the material was improved considerably with the terrific Lovers Rock Live album which gave it more oomph ( shame about the american audience though! ).

This album is better than Lovers Rock but I for one wanted to hear more of the band based stuff. Matthewman, Hale and Denman are seriously good musicians who really know how to lay down a groove but here I feel that they are definitely playing second fiddle to Sade herself. They offer tasteful backing, but I dont think that they have contributed much of their own. I hope they make another Sweetback album where we can really hear the best of what they do. I think that its too much to expect Sade itself/herself to go back to that kind of music. Clearly, they/her have moved on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love deluxe 2, 6 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
Sade has not been prolific over the years, but that has meant that she's been able to plough her own distinctive path and the sameness of much of her work has not been an issue. After discussions surrounding the 'Soldier of Love' single suggested that she would be moving in more electronic direction, I am pleased that this has not been the case. This CD marks a return in places to the sound of Love Deluxe, particularly with the track 'Skin'. The pace is generally slow and reflective, but beautifully sung and played - a real chillout album and a welcome edition to Sade's catalogoue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
It has been a long wait, but like Sade's vocal delivery, unrushed is fine by me, because what we get is a beautiful CD of new music from Sade and her sublime band!

I could listen to Sade forever, and this has, as other reviews have said, that Love Deluxe vibe to it. That is a huge compliment to this set - but despite its leanings towards her earlier recordings, there is something very new sounding about this set.

Stand out tracks, are the title track, which really is a perfect composition, briliantly executed, and I think, a different overall sound for Sade. "Morning Bird" is a short but exquisite track, haunting vocals which bounce out clever lyrics and with a really nice very laid back tempo - piano soul at its finest! Just wish it went on and on for abuot 10 minutes!

"Be That Easy" and "Skin" are, once again, tracks in which Sade really trades so effectively on what she does best, smooth vocals, poignant lyrics and very relaxed melodies.

If I have to make any complaint, it is 42 minutes only, 10 years is such a long time to wait and then it feels a bit of a tease to have such a compact set of songs - but that is really just nit-picking! Great to have Sade back with brand new material. Now, one last thing - when is the TOUR????

BUY THIS ALBUM 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That great Sade sound, 9 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
Not really any upbeat songs like the ocassional ones from her older stuff but still great and if you love Sade you will love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not really good, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
Once again the voice helps me get through this. Pleasant background music, but nothing that really stands out like her earlier stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sade's Triumph, 1 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Soldier of Love (Audio CD)
There's a heart beating and a cry running through the tracks of this cd. On top of this comes some hauntingly melodious music and Sade's silky vocals. It wraps round and envelops you. This is classy, jazzy, sensuous, atmospheric stuff. It's the best thing I've heard in ages, outstanding. To compare this with food it's like some of the most sumptuous chocolate you've ever eaten, there's variety, richness, light and dark but always smooth and always a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soldier of Love
Soldier of Love by Sade (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews