Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not so Silent Night in Lochdubh!
M.C. Beaton's Hamish Macbeth series takes a holiday in "A Highland Christmas"! And for her fans, naturally, it's a good read: full of the Christmas spirit in everyway, from the local Grinches, Scrooges, and other no-good-niks, to Lockdubh's own angels with their own Spirits of Christmas presents! It's full of holiday cheer and joy, to offset the negative side...
Published on 29 Mar 2000 by Billy J. Hobbs

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, charming but hardly mysterious
My introduction to M C Beaton and her PC Hamish Macbeth. A missing cat, a stolen Christmas tree, a reclusive widow, an over-expectant school teacher, an officious Inspector, Calvinist parents, the residents of an old people's home - all are ingredients of a story told in (welcome) large type in just 164 pages. Easy to distinguish between the goodies and the baddies and...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by G. M. Sinstadt


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 8 Jan 2013
By 
JANET (DONCASTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
I always enjoy Hamish Macbeth novels, this one was no dissapointment, I enjoyed it and read it in a couple of days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A quick, undemanding read, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
Just the thing to while away a damp winter's afternoon curled up in front of the fire. I'd not read any of the previous Hamish Macbeth series but that didn't seem to matter. This is a pleasant and gentle story with the merest hint of religious differences and societal ills. There are none of the nail-biting tension and gritty, detailed depictions of brutality and gore which are found in many thrillers and detective fiction. The plot line is seasonal as reflected in the title and the characters sketched with just sufficient detail to make them believable. The story is likely to resonate most with those who have experience of living in a small, rural community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
A really easy read, just right for reading over Christmas.I will be reading more of the Hamish Macbeth stories fro now on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A highland Christmas, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
A good, light read. A book you can put down in the middle of a chapter as not very much happens. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enyoyable read, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
I haven't read any of the series before - but based I the reviews I read it.... very enjoyable and I will be reading more of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
A lovely book for all the family, can't wait to read the next one.
I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
A light story for Christmas. It is fun and entertaining and the 'goodies' win - a happy ending for a feel good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disapponted, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
I HAD READ SOME OF THESE STORIES IN THE PAST AND ENJOYED THEM BUT I DID NOT FEEL IT CAME UP TO THE USUAL STANDARD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book by a great writer, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Marcus Ward "MARCUS" (DEVON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
buying the whole set of books, great read, and with kindle can read or listen anywhere, trains, buses, planes, etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent festive read, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: A Highland Christmas (Kindle Edition)
My first Hamish Mcbeth novel. It was great to get in the festive mood.
Light hearted and will give you a simple straight forward read, if that's what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbab55c48)

This product

A Highland Christmas
A Highland Christmas by M.C. Beaton
1.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews