Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner.......
Firstly i've given this four stars as its not quite as good as season one which got the full five (see adendum below). It is excellent and any fans of the previous series won't be disappointed. It does start as a little bit of a slow burner but the momentum continues to grow to an absolutely brilliant finale. There is however a slightly different tone compared to the...
Published on 24 Nov. 2010 by P. F. Yardley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Californication Season 3 (Review)
The first two were awesome so when I sat down to watch Season 3 with anticipation and was a little disappointed with the first episode. I decided to continue watching to see it it got any better which it did by the end of episode 3 and I enjoyed the rest of the episodes.
Published 8 months ago by Gerard Lamb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner......., 24 Nov. 2010
By 
P. F. Yardley "Paul" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly i've given this four stars as its not quite as good as season one which got the full five (see adendum below). It is excellent and any fans of the previous series won't be disappointed. It does start as a little bit of a slow burner but the momentum continues to grow to an absolutely brilliant finale. There is however a slightly different tone compared to the previous series. Rather than the rather harrowing drink/drugs/writer's block back ground storyline this time is seems a bit more comedic. I wouldn't for one moment say it's no longer risque, its still very adult themed, but seems to have lost a little of its darker edge. I won't go into the storyline or back ground but needless to say the main cast of Hank, Karen, Becca and the Runkles are excellent and are backed up by a great guest / supporting cast with Kathleen Turner at the forefront. A no brainer purchase for followers of the show.
Added 27th November:
After just finishing rewatching this season I have amended my rating to five stars. The further veiwing has allowed me more time to discover the depth of the quite excellent dialogue and acting and become more submersed in the plotlines and detail of the show. The premise for the season can really be summed up in two parts, Hank's own perception of his morality along with the changing relationship he has with his daughter as she grows older. Moody's sincere belief in his own behavoir is difficult to argue but when sat side by side with modern society is somewhat at odds and through all the good times the imbalance must at sometime come to bare. In closing I would very much suggest a second viewing which will add so much more depth to the original watching experience. Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Below par, but still worthwhile, 5 Jan. 2011
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Californication follows the trials and tribulations of writer Hank Moody, played by David Duchovny. Hank drinks, does drugs, gets far more women than he should, alienates his friends, and somehow shambles on through life without managing to pick a direction. He should be a terrible character, but in fact he's a delight to watch, mostly because Duchovny produces a career-best performance most episodes.

In the first season, Hank had lost his long-term girlfriend Karen, was unable to write, and had a bad relationship with his teenage daughter Becca. His best friend and agent Charlie Runkle was too far into Hank's charismatic spell to pull him out of it. As this season opens, Karen has come back to him but then moved to New York, he is unable to write, and he is stuck raising Becca alone. Runkle is still his best friend, and is still unable to control him.

The main plotline amid the chaos is that Hank is offered a job as a college professor, which inevitably puts him in range of pretty students and man-eating staff. Amid this he is making a bad job of his long-distance relationship with Karen, and failing to control Becca. The season does a good job of broadening the cast, bringing in the other characters, but one of the main sub plots is the disastrous relationship between Runkle and his wife, which has been going on since season one, and is getting a bit tired. None of the ideas this season really live up to the expectations from seasons one and two, and one episode is by far the worst from any season. There's a lack of focus that makes this the worst of the three seasons.

The real triumph of this show is that Duchovny should probably have been stuck in a typecasting nightmare after playing Mulder, but you don't even think of that role when you see him in Californication. The series lives or dies on his character, and he is the real reason to watch this show.

Overall, this is still an enjoyable season of Californication, and it looks like season four may be a return to form, so it's well-worth carrying on watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LA fun, 9 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely LOVE Californication. Had Season 3 on pre-order and got through it within a week of arrival. As addictive as the drugs Smurf was snorting in Season 2! Having just got back from a hols in California at Christmas it made me smile all the more. Will refresh you with sunshine cheer and light-heartedness in these UK winter months. Hank...you've gotta love him! Enjoy.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Change of tone but change of direction, 17 Dec. 2010
I loved Californication seasons 1 and 2 I'm sure much like anyone reading this review. I wouldn't be put off by Grandpa's review of this series, as although the tone changes and it can seem a little ridiculous it's good to get a few more laughs in.
It also helps make the finale the real shocker that it is - no surprises there after the unexpected finale's from the first two seasons.
A definite watch - I can't wait for the fourth season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fornicating in Californie, 12 Oct. 2010
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
More sex, drugs and middle-aged tribulations for Hank and co. Not so sleazy as Cal.2, given that Charlie has moved out of porn and back into being an agent. Hank the writer drifts yet further out of the scenario, replaced by Hank the hopeless creative writing teacher. Karen is now in NYC without him - all because Becca wanted to stay for her boyfriend in Cal.2 - so Hank's domestic situation is still shakey. Cue many flings, a trio of demanding lovers all connected to his new job, and plenty more mischief involving the Runkles, etc.

Given the title, Californication, it might have behoved the writers to dump Hank and crew in Cal.2 and create a whole new set of characters with love-life problems. It often happens that characters in US shows wave their rights to our sympathy by failing to learn from their mistakes. By not developing. Hank was supposed to be a mess because he had lost Karen to another man. Since Cal.1, he has remained a screw up, despite having her back, albeit temporarily.

To conclude, Californication 3 is more watchable than its predecessor, but neither season has matched the first year for plot development, humour or wisdom. Still, I'll never forget the episode where Hank wakes up with three strippers and has to hide them and soon every one else in his life in different rooms of the house as, one by one, everyone he knows rings the doorbell that morning. Farcical fun. And a superb supporting role for the now shockingly butch Kathleen Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Californication Season 3 (Review), 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The first two were awesome so when I sat down to watch Season 3 with anticipation and was a little disappointed with the first episode. I decided to continue watching to see it it got any better which it did by the end of episode 3 and I enjoyed the rest of the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. J. Bytheway (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoying the series, good value quick arrival, looking forward to watching the whole series. David Duchovny in a completely different light from the x-files days .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
My package was perfect. I am very satisfied. Thank you very much. I will recommend this to my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Californication - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived quickly and in great condition, as described. Very pleased as I love this show and had been meaning to buy this season for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Californication - Season 3 [DVD]
Californication - Season 3 [DVD] by David Duchovny (DVD - 2011)
£15.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews