Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville achieves its potential (mild spoilers)
I've been a fan of Smallville since channel four first started airing it way back when. I've had a love hate relationship with it ever since, finding in it both things to love and revile. Never has a show so utterly and completely frustrated me with its huge capacity for greatness -- only to fall short almost ever single time. I enjoyed season eight very much, it gave a...
Published on 15 May 2010 by Kindle Customer

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really, not that great... :(
Seems I'm against the grain here, but I'll explain why...

I was a fan of Smallville from day one. Season 1 was very formulaic. It was a safe starter for the show like many others where the format allows them to explore characters and relationships just a little bit here and there while providing a tight cohesive story within one self contained episode. You...
Published on 3 Oct. 2010 by A. Chaudry


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
Ms. Melanie J. Wells (south dorset england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville series 9, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Series 9 of Smallville is getting fruity! More suspense, more characters and more addictive. You can't just watch one episode at a time, its impossible! After each episode i'm desperate to find out what happens in the next. Theres action, romance, good versus evil, complex characters and storylines, great special effects etc etc.! What more could you want from a series. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I felt like a kid again....that's not a good thing., 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Winchester "M" (South Africa, JHB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What I mean by kid is that, Smallville was meaningful to mean and it seem great with a far-fetching element yet had a sense of maturity. It carried itself well and was though provoking and always had fantastic goal setting and moral orientated episodes. Then suddenly, I felt like I was watching a Children's program. Smallville - as I will as always stand by - remains at it's peak up till and ending with Season 6. 3 Seasons later and frankly, it's attempts are just sad. Tom Welling, Alison Mach, Justin Hartley, Cassidy Freeman - Still good acting, Tess and Oliver being the most powerful of them all of course. but the special effects that make you love the 'Blur' just didn't cut it for me. Since when did Miles Miller and Al Gough decide on budgeting for Smallville so late in the series. Any creator knows to wait till closing seasons of a series to wow an audience. I mean, how many times did Clark Super Speed away in this season and we didn't get to see it, only hear it. What is that? Lois hanging from a flag pole off the Daily Planet for almost 10 minutes of an episode, what was that? Clark didn't really seem to want to save her. Sure, understandably, he didn't want her to find out his secret then why not call for help or something? No, it was more effective to sit there staring at Lois waiting for something to happen. Even just taking flight, remember when Zod first flew after getting powers, how fake looking was that? Now, I take you back to when Lex was possessed by Zod and he flew off the roof of the 'Ace of Clubs' (i think), that was magic, that was surreal and believable. Many other heroic attempts and Erica Durance as Lois Lane, just all the seasons train smashes, pun intended (train accident in the beginning of the season) - looked like a scene out of a Batman Animation.
Zod was a brilliant addition to the season, specifically because of the way it was executed. A Zod before the destruction of Krypton, How he was and inevitably who he was always destined to be; very clever > but the actor, nothing special, if anything looked like he was ready to cry in every single scene he was in. Honestly, watch it again, you will see what I mean. Clark giving Zod his blood to save him which inevitably gave him his powers. Storylines for every season always had us watching and waiting to gawk at something new.
Unfortunately, it is required to rate a series based on it's entirety. If the show was called Green Arrow or only focussed on Oliver Queen this season, I would give it a 5. I give Smallville Season 9 a 3 based on the Storyline and the inexplicably brilliant Oliver Queen/Green Arrow character, the only reason worth watch this season.

Bring Lex Luthor back and you'll see ratings pick up again. What is a show without it's favourite antagonist?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Smallville Season By Far, 26 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Watched this season front to back and loved it. Tom Welling is the best Superman since Christopher Reeve and he
should be considerd for the movie roll part,he would make it a block buster that I am sure of. Looking forward to
Season 10 on DVD.... and Thanks Amazon you were the best deal around on price when I bought it. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville No 9., 9 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
We purchased Smallville 9 for our Daughter in Law a big Superman fan for Christmas and she hasn't stopped talking about it yet.We were a bit concerned as we ordered it just before Christmas, but Amazon came through and we received it in time and at a very good price. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season of Smallville so far, 2 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Smallville has been a favourite show but one that has definitely had a few highs and lows over the seasons. Season 9 is without doubt the best season so far. Zod / Tess, Oliver / Chloe etc, JSA and much more. Hardly a dud episode in the entire season.

Still, would love to see the series transform into JSA / JLA after season 10.. though I guess many of the characters will never appear (WW, Batman etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mamaville, 11 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
If you haven,t seen smallville from series one, it,s a must do for 2011. good over evil. The characters are strong and Tom Welling was made for the part. You won,t be disappointed.Lex Luther is brillint. The casting is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville S09, 17 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 9 is, IMHO, the best season yet from Smallville and it's finale the best and most compelling episode from the series. Can't wait for the last season to be available. I'll be sad when this is over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars smallville series 9, 24 Feb. 2011
By 
Ms. E. Leigh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
good series nice to see various new characters plus the old favourites liked some of the humour and the chemistry between clark and louis plenty of action and some good episodes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville Season 9, 26 Aug. 2010
By 
Dan Škorpík "DandaPiperWillow" (Brno, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
If u are a big fan of CHLOE (Allison Mack) this is the last season u can enjoy her acting as a full time character. In Season 10 CHLOE's gonna be only in 7 episodes which is absolutely unacceptable. Let's hope they'll give her some GOOD end. She deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010]
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews