Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville achieves its potential (mild spoilers)
I've been a fan of Smallville since channel four first started airing it way back when. I've had a love hate relationship with it ever since, finding in it both things to love and revile. Never has a show so utterly and completely frustrated me with its huge capacity for greatness -- only to fall short almost ever single time. I enjoyed season eight very much, it gave a...
Published on 15 May 2010 by Persephone

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really, not that great... :(
Seems I'm against the grain here, but I'll explain why...

I was a fan of Smallville from day one. Season 1 was very formulaic. It was a safe starter for the show like many others where the format allows them to explore characters and relationships just a little bit here and there while providing a tight cohesive story within one self contained episode. You...
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by A. Chaudry


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville achieves its potential (mild spoilers), 15 May 2010
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I've been a fan of Smallville since channel four first started airing it way back when. I've had a love hate relationship with it ever since, finding in it both things to love and revile. Never has a show so utterly and completely frustrated me with its huge capacity for greatness -- only to fall short almost ever single time. I enjoyed season eight very much, it gave a hint as to the future of the show; what it could become if the writers tried a little harder if they pushed the boundaries... it turns out season eight was a bridge -- a difficult period that foretold of large changes. Yet it was flawed with inconsistent characterisation, muddled storytelling and Lanarama. It held much less of these than previous seasons, but it was there to impinge on its quality nonetheless. The remaining threads of story left by maniacal show runners was thus dealt with in season eight, leaving season nine a clean slate for the new ones. Did they ever make use of it!

Season nine is the single greatest season Smallville has ever produced. The show has fully reached its potential and has created a tense, exciting, beautifully shot, clever and romantic season. One with interesting villains; conflicting needs; searching for the right questions; searching for the truth; love and hate and the fine line between it all; finding yourself and finding others. All with the strong undercurrent of destiny. There are around two 'not so well executed' episodes that fall short of their goals, but even those are not awful. The four or so main arcs of the season are: the return of a weirdly attractive and charismatic Zod, the blossoming relationship between Lois and Clark, the development of the Blur and the Justice Society. This is a season of triangles. Many carefully subtle and symbolic in nature: triangles between friends, triangles between enemies, the triangle for two. There was a distinct sense of care to this season, unlike the others -- it actually felt as if the writers paid close attention to the small things which made the writing feel more cohesive. It's certainly the case, because something as small as a hand gesture in one episode became a very significant thing later on.

The season opens with 'Saviour', as Lois miraculously returns without memory of where she's been. The only thing hinting at a darker side to this is random flashes and visions, confusing memories. Are they dreams? Visions of a not-so-distant future? This is one of the mysteries of the first half of the season. I love this show but they I've never been so engaged as I have when Lois had those first flashes. It was well done and it was gratifying to see Smallville put together a coherent story arc which flowed into other arcs as the previous ones drew to a close. First time ever that I'd been excited to see where the mainplot went!

Tom Welling is now an executive producer so having more creative control over his character is obvious this season -- it has a very positive impact on Clark. Clark finds himself being tested. Learning to cope with juggling an overly-inquisitive Lois, an alter-ego as the Blur whilst swiftly returning to his desk at the bullpen. But ultimately, a key theme of this season is his struggle to maintain a balance between who he is and what he could become. This season firmly asks: who will he become? There was some fantastic development for Clark as a character and his relationship with Lois Lane is centre stage the entire time. The writing for them is careful, precise, intimate and is wonderfully nuanced thanks to the actors. It was well established last season that Lois is in love with Clark, and Clark spends this season rightly demonstrating that he loves her back. The Lois and Clark relationship is one of my favourite arcs in season nine. It was so satisfying to see their romantic relationship moved forward without a painfully slow draw-out. There's a lot of beautiful scenes shared between them and the writers do a brilliant job of showing (yes 'showing', not telling) exactly why Lois is the one for Clark.

Zod (Callum Blue) is a fantastic and compelling villain. His dalliances with Tess Mercer are mesmerising to watch. Oliver Queen returns, having hit rock bottom and kept going since the previous finale. There's a triangle early in the season between Clark, Lois and Oliver. It's very subtle and one can only be picked up on in a few frames a lot of the time -- not something I've come to expect from Smallville, whose usual idea of 'subtle' is huge honking anvils landing on you when trying to convey something. It peeters away as Oliver grows and changes out of this darker period in his life. Lois develops as a reporter and finds a purpose in life she didn't dream of before; her character arc was excellent and benefitted from Erica Durance appearing in 18 episodes instead of the usual 13 (yay!). We see the return of many superheroes as well as meet some new ones. I loved this as it's one of my favourite parts of the series. I liked seeing Bart and Black Canary back in particular. Star Girl was awesome! The superhero epic Absolute Justice (two episodes smooshed together as one) was a highlight of the season and will surely make comic book fans happy. The finale, 'Salvation' was a fast paced good quality closing chapter. It set up the next season and moved the story forward at the same time as closing it. The finale fight scene also did not disappoint! For once! Salvation was very much a juggernaught of emotion which wasn't cheap and empty like Doomsday, but had the weight of a great season of storytelling behind it. It really made all the difference.

This season is well structured with a fascinating story arc which sees time travel as a central concept. In many ways this plotline held far more tension and anticipation than the whole of the Doomsday arc did. I enjoyed feeling fascinated by Zod, insanely wanting answers as to what had happened to Lois when she disappeared, and could barely contain myself when all was revealed in the episode 'Pandora'. Truly one of the best episodes of the series.

Smallville hit all the right notes this season, it's funny, tragic, sad, romantic, and finally addresses the big questions. Instead of floundering in the mediocrity which has plagued the majority of its nine year run it embraced change and grasped the future it could only hold onto if it were to survive. I for one am sorry it took so long, but glad the show has another season in it. Enjoy it; this season is nothing short of spectacular. In the mean time, I'll be over there waiting impatiently for season ten.

Highlight episodes include: Pandora, Salvation, Saviour, Absolute Justice, and Persuasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Lois and Clark, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Finally Lois and Clark get it together. This season with Erica Durance being in more episodes we are able to see even more of a relationship develop between Lois and Clark. it was brilliant seeing the relationship begin. As the main plot of the season sees Zod and the other Kandorians start adapting or working against human life. Whilst Callum Blue is hopelessly miscast as Zod overall the season is excellent. Also this season we also see Clark step up in his role of Protector of metropolis. I also liked that Lois Chose definitivly Clark over Oliver and now i like their friendship much better than when they were together. we build up to an excellent season finale in which the world is at stake.
Highlight episodes; Savior, Metallo,Rabid, Echo,Crossfire (the first Real kiss), Idol (an excellent episode in which Lois takes a chance on Clark), Pandora,Disciple, Absolute Justice,warrior, Pursuasion, escape,Charade,Hostage, Salvation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville Season 9, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Fantastic season and great buy. Some great episodes, my favorites are,

Rabid
Echo
Absolute Justice
Warrior
Persuasion
Escape
Salvation

Great season. We are introduced to a new season regular, Callum Blue (Zod). This season contains possibly the scariest episode of Smallville, Rabid, and the funniest episode, Escape.

A great season. Much better than season 8. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Redemption!, 15 Jun 2013
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
1 of my favourite series to date! Smallville finally showing its full potential after some average so so seasons. The finale with Zod and Clark with the rooftop matrix esque battles was superb! If anything they didn't use the most of Zod and he probably wasn't in it as much as he should've been.
We get so see more of Lois and Clark in this season, which was definitely a bonus! Also I think Oliver Queen/Green Arrow was a great addition to the show.
If I'm gonna be picky my criticism is that theirs still some pointless irrelevant episodes you can get away with not even watching ( like the Lois lane quits her job an turns into Mary poppins stay at home mrs episode ). You can get somewhere with a few episodes and finally start getting answers, then the next is pointless! I still find that very irritating after 9 series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed series, 23 May 2013
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
As Smallville reaches its ninth season Clark finally begins to embrace his destiny but finds that something is still holding him back. Meanwhile Tess Mercer gets in over her head as she finds she has released a battalion of depowered Kryptonian soldiers lead by Major Zod and a secret government agency begins to prepare for a war they believe is coming.

Season nine of Smallville is an entertaining, if inconsistent, instalment of the show that includes some very good episodes as well as some unfortunately lacklustre episodes. This season is somewhat darker than previous seasons but still has some good humour her and there. The special effects are generally good but some of the props used in some episodes have an unfortunately plastic look to them (such as the Cosmic Staff).

This season sees the introduction of a number of characters and organisations from DC Comics. Metallo, Roulette, Mia Dearden, the Wonder Twins and Silver Banshee all make appearances in one form or another as well as versions of the Justice Society of America (Hawkman, Stargirl, Dr Fate along with references to a number of others such as the Golden Age Flash and Green Lantern) and Checkmate (Amanda Waller, the Suicide Squad and Maxwell Lord). There is also a character in one episode very loosely based on Captain Marvel.

The episodes of this season are generally entertaining with 'Crossfire', 'Idol' and 'Checkmate' being favourites but it is the double length 'Absolute Justice' that is the stand out episode of the season and is probably my favourite episode of the entire show. On the downside, many of the episodes concentrating on Zod and the Kandorians are somewhat dull in places.

The performances of everyone in the series are generally on a par with that of the previous seasons. Callum Blue is reasonably good as Major Zod (he is somewhat hammy but this is somewhat appropriate for the character) and Julian Sands is very good as a younger Jor-El.

Overall this was a good season of Smallville but while there are some individual episodes that I would give a full five stars, I feel the series as a whole deserves a solid four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, not to be missed, many hours viewing, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
i have loved the whole series, pity they are not making any more, this has been a brilliant series, fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smallville, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Smallville so this was a winner for a Blu-ray at the price. Brill season a must for Smallvile fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantabulous, 31 Jan 2013
By 
KR (Middx, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Smallville is a passion of mine and watched all teh seasons on tv and purchased the dvd's so I could see it all over agaain. shame it's ALL OVER NOW AS THEY COULD HAVE GONE ON FOREVER. loved my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 23 Jan 2013
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
loved it loved the new cast the actors have grown so much since the first season overall fantastic and worth while buy so happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super..., 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Loved this series, I felt it went from strength to strength as the seasons passed, pure comic book by the end, even loved the black Blur/Superman look of this season...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smallville: The Complete Ninth Season [DVD] [2010]
14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews