Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PHYSICIAN, HEAL THYSELF
A great season. although for a while during it this is not apparent. Doubts are dispelled in two excellent final episodes, revelations explaining much that puzzled and disappointed earlier.

Throughout there has been a man on the edge. The brilliant two-part opener shows "House" at its very best: the doctor, teetering on a breakdown, confined to a sanitarium...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe the beginning of the end..... (Spoilers included!)
The excellent finale to Season 5 is followed up here with a quite brilliant 2-part season opener, after which I was raving to my friends about how incredible it is that House could still be this good despite being into its sixth season.
Sadly, after that it all goes a bit wrong. There is a major mid-seaon slump here, with a run of average-at-best episodes which are...
Published on 14 Feb 2011 by Mr. R. J. Jakeman


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PHYSICIAN, HEAL THYSELF, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
A great season. although for a while during it this is not apparent. Doubts are dispelled in two excellent final episodes, revelations explaining much that puzzled and disappointed earlier.

Throughout there has been a man on the edge. The brilliant two-part opener shows "House" at its very best: the doctor, teetering on a breakdown, confined to a sanitarium. Almost "One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest" at times, this proves very moving indeed. House emerges seemingly less self-centred, at long last recognizing others have feelings too.

Unfortunately he soon appears his old self - arrogantly riding roughshod over all. It takes time for us to realize this is a smokescreen, he still greatly in need of therapy. Wilson is thus not the doormat he seems, but painstakingly (at some personal cost) ensuring House is never on his own - otherwise there could well be further drug abuse and a life again in freefall.

The show's producers take pains to remind us the hospital does not revolve around House (as we might have been forgiven for thinking). Two of the most successful episodes have him confined to the periphery - the focus instead first on Wilson, then Cuddy. We thus appreciate there is far more to their working lives than House being a nuisance.

Such realization comes to House himself in the lockdown episode (which Hugh Laurie directed). For so long the doctor has flamboyantly rejected nineteen in every twenty of the serious cases referred to him. Now he is confined with one of those rejects. The man is dying, House to experience increasing remorse.

By the season's end he is confessing to Cuddy he is "the most screwed up person in the world".

Full marks to all for being so intent on evolving. Strengths remain self-evident: Hugh Laurie terrific, the scripts fine, the cast excellent, many more of those bizarre medical cases that puzzle so much. Despite all the angst, the show remains very funny. (Note episode 4's inspired mime after House promises not to say another word.)

22 episodes. Interesting extras (especially about the sanitarium sequences).

Season 6 offers much to applaud and to think about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never., 13 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Not a review as such, I just wanted to point out for fellow hearing impaired viewers that finally we have (English) SUBTITLES! It really sucks that none of the previous seasons on dvd had them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better, 3 Sep 2010
By 
twotoucans "Sheila" (Greater Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
You'd think by Series 6, a drama where episodes are built around what is basically the same premise, would be getting tired, but with House, not so! They still managed to come up with some fascianting plots but this time round with even more humour and vulnerability from the phenomenal Gregory House, whom Hugh Laurie plays with aplomb.

The relationship between Wilson and House just gets better and better. They make a phenomenal double act and have by far the best chemistry on the show. The rest of the cast are also superb.

The season finale is a brilliant episode, leading the way for a slightly new direction for the team at Princeton Plainsboro'. I know they are currently filming Season 7 and cannot wait for what comes next!

If you have not had the pleasure of House at all before, go back and start at Season 1. You have a mighty fine drama ahead of you and I'm envious :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a class act., 16 April 2011
By 
D. Temblett (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Well season 6 is out and yet again another class act to follow season 5. Whilst in season 5 you see house completly lose the plot this season shows his return to 'normality' (what ever that is for him) whilst trying to be happy and have fun without pills.
Hugh Laurie is brilliant and I am looking forward to many more seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I was quite unsure how a new nicer and more stable House could possibly be as entertaining as the old nasty House, but this show continues to go from strength to strength with another brilliant and unputdownable season. Highly recommended for all fans! Although the medical puzzles in each episode are individual, the main characters and themes continue throughout so I would definitely suggest watching the series from the beginning rather than starting with season 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe the beginning of the end..... (Spoilers included!), 14 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Jakeman "Roly1981" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
The excellent finale to Season 5 is followed up here with a quite brilliant 2-part season opener, after which I was raving to my friends about how incredible it is that House could still be this good despite being into its sixth season.
Sadly, after that it all goes a bit wrong. There is a major mid-seaon slump here, with a run of average-at-best episodes which are the definition of the word 'filler'. The episode '5 to 9', focussing exclusively on Cuddy, is possibly my least favourite episode to date - basically an episode of House with hardly any House in it.
In the end, it is left to Hugh Laurie (as always) to save the day, this time by making his directorial debut on 'Lockdown', which finally brings a run of pretty poor episodes to an end, and from then on the final few episodes are of a reasonably high standard. Unfortunately the writers were not able to muster an ending to match the incredible season 5 finale, and it ends worryingly with Cuddy and House getting together - how many shows have gone off the rails once a will-they-won't-they relationship comes to fruition? I find that for the first time, I am not that excited to see the next season, largely because I am not very interested to see the Cuddy/House relationship played out. Personally, I thought the will-they-won't-they ended with a perfect 'they definitely won't' at the end of Season 5 and am a bit disappointed that it has been resurrected. Now there are two options: either it will work out between them, which I think will be pretty dull, or it won't - which I think could be interesting if, for example, it results in Cuddy leaving and a new Dean of Medicine being appointed. I think if they split up and then carry on as before it will be too unfeasible. Sadly, I am not sure that the writers really have the courage to make such a major change. On a similar note, I think the writers have a decision to make regarding Foreman: either develop his character and give him some decent storylines (but please not getting back with Thirteen!) or get rid of him. I think Omar Epps is a really strong actor but his character just seems to be hanging around doing nothing.
One glimmer of light was an incipient storyline involving Thirteen which is intriguing, and I look forward to seeing where that goes more than I do to seeing House and Cuddy playing at happy families.
So, to sum up: there is absolutely no doubt in my mind that House can get back to top form if the writers/producers are prepared to make some genuinely bold moves - I am just not sure that they will, and my gut tells me that this Season is the beginning of the end for House. I hope very much that I am wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down from prior series, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Though I still love the show, I'm finding that the sixth season isn't quite as interesting as the previous seasons. Add to that, I was really looking forward to seeing the first two episodes again (after having seen them while in the US). Not sure what the problem is, but on this DVD set, I can't turn off the running commentary for those episodes that have it as an "added feature," so basically those episodes are lost. Perhaps it's an issue with my DVD player - will try playing the episodes on my computer to see if I can shut off the commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite DVD collection, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have never seen any house, you are missing out.

To be honest, if they didnt have the very British Hugh Laury (famous from his apperances in Blackadder and Fry & Laurie) then this program would be "ok" at best. As it is, because they have clearly let him have a lot of say in his script, this is some of the best TV ever. I find it perticularly amusing that so many Americans actually think that Hugh is American.

Not only is it very very funny, but it is deep and emotional, and fairly accurate (a friend of mine who is a student Dr actually got a question right in one of his exams which he only knew because he had watch house).

Appeals to any ages, and increadibly addictive - I watched the whole thing almost solidly back to back.

If you only buy one set of DVD's this year, make it house!

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 1 Nov 2010
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Every series of House just seems to get better and better.
This series starts with House living in an institution and trying to combat his addition.
These episodes were among the funniest and most moving TV I have ever seen.
Hugh Laurie is an incredible actor who brings all the contradictions of House's personality in a completely believable way.
This is TV entertainment at its absolute best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fans of House will love it., 18 Sep 2010
This review is from: House - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive House fan. It's the same old formula but somehow I still adore it. The character based side of the show has more emphasis this season and is all the better for it in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

House - Season 6 [DVD]
House - Season 6 [DVD] by Hugh Laurie (DVD - 2010)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews