Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gilmore girls
This series is just brilliant. If you ever have one of those days and just need a pick me up then this is it. The script is witty and intelligent. While it is a bit of escapism you will find points which you think that happened to me. Its better than hot chocolate with marshmallows on your sofa with a duvet on a rainy cold day in November.
Published on 27 April 2009 by Karen

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The series working in fits and starts
This one - season 6 - and season 5 are far below the quality of those that precede them. I in fact saw this series, then started the whole thing from series 1, and there is a huge difference between the two. Season 1 was just brilliant, superb. Season 2, 3 and 4 were also excellent, but now we have a series during which I'm hoping that Sukie will get to have a single...
Published on 25 Jun. 2010 by Simon Turner


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gilmore girls, 27 April 2009
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 6 (DVD)
This series is just brilliant. If you ever have one of those days and just need a pick me up then this is it. The script is witty and intelligent. While it is a bit of escapism you will find points which you think that happened to me. Its better than hot chocolate with marshmallows on your sofa with a duvet on a rainy cold day in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant, but not the best. Warning: Spoilers., 20 July 2010
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 6 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The only problem I have with this show is that the creators just love to the aggravate the fans to the tenth degree. We waited four long years for Luke and Lorelai to finally get together, only for Christopher to be thrown back into the picture in the previous season. This time, it's Luke's long lost daughter, April. Why a love child in Gilmore Girls, I'll never understand. So, of course, problems arise for our OTP.
Speaking of OTPs, the whole rift between Rory and Lorelai never quite worked for me. It's ten or so episodes of pure wanting them to reconcile, rather than being able to enjoy the rest of the episode.

On a positive, look out for some fantastic DAR moments, purely for some wonderful scenes with the older Gilmores and seeing Rory back to her old, lovely self. Also, some wonderful moments between Luke and Lorelai, and other hilarious anecdotes from the other characters of Stars Hollow. You can tell the moment the writers decided the whole Rory leaving Yale and hating her mother storyline wasn't working out for anyone, and the season dramatically improves from then on out.

I have mixed feelings about this season. It's still brilliantly written and deserves a lot more credit than it is given, but don't expect quite the calibre of the previous seasons, particularly seasons 1-4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilmore Fest, 19 Aug. 2010
By 
Lynnie (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 6 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Never saw this when it was on TV but my daughter loved it so bought me the first series on DVD - now I'm hooked. Love the characters, it covers three generations so something for everyone - watched them grow up and evolve - all so well acted: the drama, the humour, the pathos, even the scenery! All you need on a long cold winter's (or summers!)day ... cocoa, nibbles and a Gilmore Fest - money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gilmore girls, 26 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 6 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
After tring to catch this series on e4 and found between times that i watched it,that i had missed some not vital parts but pieces that helped know what was happening. Great price for the amount dvds received better value to buy seasons individually than as a complete set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been gilmored, 24 May 2009
By 
Pauline Allen "I've been gilmored" (UK South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 6 (DVD)
I have become an avid fan of the gilmore girls for years now too many to mention, firstly by watching them on pay for view and then purchasing the box sets for astronomical prices when they were first released.

How to do this series justice, its like coming home to dear friends, like going home to Starshollow, (which we want to visit imaginary or not).

It a feel good series and when the box sets became cheaper to purchase I purchased them for my Aunt who was going through chemo and couldn't go out just in case she caught anything else with her imune system so low.

She has now been gilmored and watched an entire box set from start to finish in one day/nite stopping occaisionally for food and necessities.

I want to gilmore the whole world it would be a nicer place and I was devistated when it came to an end.

At least I have the box sets to watch over and over again and can introduce friends and family to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous, 15 Dec. 2006
As both Rory and Lorelai are left to face with the outcome of the season five finale alone, we see them struggling to face the hardships that have come with their seperation. For Rory it means that she can no longer be connected with her Stars Hollow life, and that includes being away from Lane (her lifelong beat friend). We see a dramatic change in the way she lives her life as she moves in with her grandparents, joins the DAR and becomes a young lady destined for society. Her relationship with Logan seems to be the only thing she is happy about, but even he makes several collossal mistakes that may bring the end of their relationship. Lorelai has put all her efforts into her forthcoming wedding with Luke and gets a dog named Paul Anka to fill the empty hole in her life. But when her and Lukes relationship hit some rocks Lorelai is left bewildered and only feels better when her daughter returns home. Another outstanding season in this critically acclaimed season. This is a must buy for all gilmore fans out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been so pleased with this item that i am about to order the last season of gilmore girls from the same seller. Delivery was on time, English is perfect and qualitiy is great. Having waited a long time for season's 6 and 7 to be avaiable in region 2 it was well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need sub-titles?, 21 April 2010
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 6 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Soundtracks are in English, Castilian Spanish and Italian; sub-titles are in English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Italian, Norwegian and Swedish, and in English and Italian for the Hearing Impaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GILMORE GIRLS NEVER LET YOU DOWN., 9 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know that some people have reservations about the later seasons of GG,fair enogth,but i can only say that in my humble opinion every season is equally fabulous.With the right circumstances,the programme could have gone on forever as a superior weekly soap in my view.So many great characters with the terrific backdrop of Stars Hollow would have been fertile ground although i guess it couldn't have remained the Gilmore Girls without Lauren Graham and Alexis Bledel!Never mind,seven seasons has left us fans with a wealth of entertainment to tap into again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We Love The Gilmour Girls, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls - Season 6 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
We all loved the series. However, I regret buying via Amazon and want them to start paying tax on their UK profits. It's all well and good getting things cheaply and quickly but, over the medium term, the unfair advantage given by not paying tax will see the book shops close, High Streets decline and great companies and employers like John Lewis and Marks & Spencer disappear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilmore Girls - Season 6 [DVD] [2010]
Gilmore Girls - Season 6 [DVD] [2010] by Lauren Graham (DVD - 2010)
£16.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews