Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2011
I bought this as a bit of a punt since I know nothing of the brand, but standalone 802.11n APs seem to be a dying breed unless you like spending great wodges of cash on a professional grade model.

Unlike the previous two reviewers, mine did come with a UK plug - although an adapter is peanuts if you get one with a European plug.

Pros: it seems to work well as a replacement for my previous (failed) Edimax unit. Easy to set up, stronger signal than either Edimax or Netgear units. Power over Ethernet injector, which is a real plus if you're going to locate this in an attic or similar. Multiple SSID and VLAN support.

Cons: none, really. Setup was easy, with the only fly in the ointment being the need to set a static IP address on your configuration PC because the on-board DHCP server is disabled in the AP.

I probably had it up and running within 10 minutes of taking it out of the box. I only had to look at the manual to find out its IP address.

EDIT

Okay, after 18+ months, I've been moved to update this review. It's an appallingly unreliable bit of kit, sadly, and I've never been able to find out why. It's not throughput related, since it will die by simply having a couple of mobile 'phones poll email and Facebook through it, yet survive an 8Gb copy. It will sometimes run for a month - and yet I've had to reboot it seven times today (including while posting this...), and that's after several times yesterday.

If you search on the internet at reviews like this, you'll see a very polarised world: some folks love it (like many here), some have the same stability issues as the one-star reviews here. You find folks pleading for aftermarket firmware like DD-WRT (OpenWRT is only recently supported, but it *is* now supported). You find debates about turning features like QSS off to improve stability.

Truly a device to avoid in my experience, unless you want a cheap device to hack around with. The basic Atheros hardware is sound, so I can only blame the software - yet, all this noise, and not a single firmware update since February of this year for a device that's still offered for sale... not exactly stellar manufacturer support.
44 comments|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
I wanted to use this device as a repeater in a room where the router (a netgear DGN1000) is giving a poor signal. I read and reread the instructions as advised in an earlier post, they are pretty awful.

Then tried to set it up, I connected an ethernet cable and then changed its IP address to 192.168.1.3 to suit my needs and changed it to UNIVERSAL REPEATER and reserved the IP 192.168.1.3 address on my router.

Rebooted the repeater and router it then showed up on my router as an attached device.

I then removed the ethernet cable and then the repeater disappeared from the router list, after trying a few times sometimes pressing the button on the front and sometimes not, I gave up and contacted support who emailed me some instructions, which were basically what I had already done, but this time after pulling out the cable the repeater IP address stayed on the router. There is actually no need to press the QSS button on the WA901ND.

So I now removed it and switched it back on in the remote location and then after about 30 seconds it appeared on the attached devices list on the router and now works exactly as required. We currently connect two Galaxy S phones, a KOBO reader,a windows laptop and occasional visitors phones/laptops and all work perfectly. While some of this was going on I could not login to the router (while the cable was connected to the repeater) and later after disconnecting the cable I could not access the router.

to summarise the installation

connect the WA901ND to the wireless router using an ethernet cable
then open the software for the repeater by typing the default 192.168.1.254 into a web browser
change the WA901ND IP address to be a static address you could leave it as 192.168.1.254 if you wish
change the mode to UNIVERSAL REPEATER
then open the software in the router by typing its IP address into the browser
reserve the IP address used on the router
reboot both router and repeater
remove cable from router once it has showed up on the router, it should then connect by wireless
switch off and take WA901ND to its intended location and switch it on
wait about 30 seconds and all should be well.

I assigned a static IP address for my main computer as well
Router 192.168.1.1
Main Computer 192.168.1.2
Repeater 192.168.1.3

Then any other devices pick up an IP address from the router as long as you have it set to be a DHCP server.

Once working, as someone else commented, for about £20 the device is brilliant our phones were showing a minimal signal from the router and now with the repeater they are getting maximum signal and all work infinitely better. It can now be switched off when not in use and reconnects in a few seconds when required again.

Thus I have given it 5 stars despite the problems with installation.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
I live in large, stone built house so wireless black-spots are to be expected. Looking for a relatively cheap solution I came across this TL-WA901ND unit. I eventually got the TL-WA901ND unit working as a remote Access Point (AP) fed from my BT HomeHub-2 router using a Cat5 cable but it took some time.

As stated elsewhere the manual is not written with the novice in mind, it's too technical, some knowledge of networks and network terminology being necessary. The simple one button automatic set-up feature Quick Secure Setup (QSS) didn't work with my BT router so manual set-up had to be used; again some knowledge of networks and use of an AP being necessary. The TL-WA901ND came with a default IP address of 192.168.1.254 which is the same as the router's default IP address. Therefore, the first thing to do is to change one units IP, as suggested in the manual I did this using a laptop connected to the AP unit by a cable. Using the set-up software (on the CD supplied with the unit) it was easy enough to change the AP's address to use a static IP - I chose 192.168.1.14. I then set the Wireless mode to AP, UK as the Region and Wireless Security as WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK. I then disconnected the AP unit from my laptop and reconnected it to the BT router whereupon the set-up software discovered the BT HomeHub-2 router.

I then relocated the AP to the area of my house suffering a wireless black-spot, reconnected it to the BT Router at which point both my remote desktop PC and laptop found my network and BT Homehub-2 router.

One inclusion I should like to see to the TL-WA901ND is that of a two port switch on the front end circuitry of the unit. I suggest this because the CAT5 cable that previously connected my remote PC to the BT router now fed the AP unit. I had to purchase a five port switch to feed both the AP and my desktop PC.

I now have a strong wireless signal in this remote part of my house so very happy with the outcome. Given the poor manual one needs some technical knowledge in order to install the unit; therefore I have given it a lower rating.
33 comments|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
The TPLink TL-WA901ND Wireless N Access Point completely fixed the problems i was having.

1. i had a dead zone in my kitchen where the signal was was poor and dropped out often
2. Transferring data over wifi to my Synology DiskStation NAS box was also poor (sub 100kbps)

i bought the tp-link TL-WA901ND in the hope that it would fix these issues and it does. I figured that if the repeater function didn't work very well with my Netgear DG834Gv1 then i'd just disable the wifi on the Netgear and use the TPLink AP instead.

Once the TPLink AP arrived i tried enabling it as a repeater, which while boosted the signal in the kitchen i was still getting poor transfer speeds to the NAS box; still sub 100kbps. No good for streaming music to the kitchen let alone video.

I then disabled the AP functionality on my Netgear, plugged in the TPLink and set up it as an AP. I put the TPlink next to my Netgear so i could get a like-for-like comparison of signal strength and speed. The dead spot in my kitchen has now gone and transfer speeds to my NAS box has improved dramatically. I am now getting over 2.5mbps using my laptop which only has a G card in.

All i need to do now is tidy up the cabling to keep the missus happy :)

DG834G connections
- lan to TPLink TL-SG1005D Gigabit switch in the office
- lan to TPLink TL-WA901ND Access Point
- lan to Belkin 100mbps switch in living room

TPLink TL-SG1005D Gigabit Switch connections (office)
- Synology NAS
- laptop 1
- laptop 2

belkin 100mbps switch (living room)
- xbox 360
- ps3
- laptop (for iplayer etc)

further things to note
- The plug on my unit is a UK one and not a Euro one (as i have read for other AP products provided by TPLink).
- i set up my network to run on 192.168.1.xxx to make setting up easier before the AP arrived.
- i am not a network expert. I work in IT but i deliver software solutions
- it's taken me longer to write this review than it took me to set up!
- testing was done in the "dead" zone
--- speed testing done by file copying before and after
--- signal testing done using Network Signal Info for Andriod before and after

Thoroughly recommended
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
I guess as previously noted, this AP (access point) could be tricky to set up if you weren't quite sure what you are doing!

All of my routers seem to come with 192.168.1.254 as the default address - so the first thing to do is to change the IP address of the AP. So plug it into your computer, use the .254 address and change it if it shares your routers' address. I've set mine to .252 as .253 and .254 are existing routers on my network.

Then it's a question of deciding which mode. The key ones for me are either a repeater (it will repeat the wireless signal from your router and therefore extend your range) or set it up as a 'client' which means it will pick up your routers' wireless signal and allow you to plug in a wired computer via an ethernet cable. It has other modes, but these two seem to be the main ones it might be used for.

I've set mine up as a 'client' and it works perfectly. It's receiving the wireless signal from 300 or so feet away from the router and allows me to plug in (hard wire) a remote PC and it's running at 100Mbps without a glitch.

So far so good. Works fine and is inexpensive.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
The only way I have been able to get this to work using WPA2security is as a wireless access point. In bridging mode or client mode it will not work at all, unless you disable security (tried using multiple devices)

TP link have provided minimal support which just makes the situation all the more frustrating
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
v2 review:
I bought one of these as my router simply wasn't cutting it alone any more. I bought this because it can be flashed with OpenWrt, further extending its functionality.

The range is phenomenal, it runs cool, and is a great product!

Edited my review:
After several months of running this, it has died. At first I started to notice strange connectivity issues, devices would randomly drop from the access point and would take several seconds to reconnect, sometimes rejected.

And now today, the radio completely died. It denied all devices from connecting to it and now I'm back to using my router, looking for a replacement.

Before all this started happening, I even recommended this device to my girlfriend, she has the v3 and I can start to see the problems affecting hers... I'm going to have to break it to her that she's going to have to send it back I think!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I've purchased two of these units. I live in a large (almost) bungalow, with all of my network gear in the basement areas of the house, so my wifi has a lot of work to do. I had a Virgin Superhub (huge misnomer) installed about a year ago and I struggled to get a good wifi signal in all but a couple of rooms, which lead me to install the first of these TP-Link devices at the other end of the property linked via ethernet. Great coverage inside the house, though it's worth noting that the TP-Link covers about 80% of the house with a decent signal, while the Virgin Supergrub covers only about 40% of the house with a decent signal.

Anyhow, at long last the weather has changed and I've returned to sitting out in the garden with a glass of wine and my trusty iPad. Problem is that the TP-Link AP is at the opposite end of the house through several walls and the Supergrub, despite having to penetrate only 1 x 9" wall can't cut the mustard. Enter the 2nd TP-Link AP, now I have great coverage in both house and garden.

I've had no issues with the first device, which I purchased some months ago, the second device has installed just as easily and I've had no issues so far, but I'll let you know. A classic case of 'does what it says on the tin'.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
The only good thing about this piece of skit is that over the past few months it has bludgeoned me into becoming something of an expert at wireless networking.
I wanted to extend my wireless network, so tried using it as a repeater. Although it gives every evidence of working, none of my 5 devices can detect a signal from it in this mode.
OK, so I hard wire it to the superhub and try it as an extra access point. According to signal scanner programs on different machines it emits a steady, stronger signal than the hub, a steady weaker signal, a variable signal that every few minutes drops out completely, or a regularly fluctuating signal. This is true even experimenting with different channels, different positioning [but in all case the computers were within 1 metre of it] different or nil security settings, and so on. The one strange thing, mentioned by others, was that even when the signal was measured as steadily stronger, no machine wanted to stay connected to it, showing a preference for the puny Virgin superhub. Oh, and now, whatever the settings, even after a restart, I can no longer access it via my browser at all.
The downside is that it has taken me so long to find that it's not me to blame that it's way too late to return it for a refund.
The very worst thing of all is I can't even chuck it in the bin legally, but I have to make a special trip to a recycling point. Aarghh!
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An advantage of a wireless network is that it can, in theory, be extended and employ an Access Point to provide a remote sub-group of wired connections rather than have them connected directly by cable - an inconvenient and impossible alternative between different floor levels. This device offers that ability which was the reason for its purchase.

The device can be set to be used in several distinct modes but they are not thoroughly explained within the manual, which tends to be rather vague and assumes a higher degree of user knowledge than may be possessed. Matters are further complicated by most of the contained instructions relating to Windows 9x (although it does not specifically say so) and later versions are sufficiently different to confuse the unwary or inexperienced.

I had worked out from the limited explanations which of its modes I needed to use but, although I had selected it and believed that I had chosen the correct settings, I could not get it to connect my media player to my network.

A call to their Technical Support line, a UK number but not UK-based, provided the advice needed once I explained my intentions and the problem. A few changes and it was working. You may need some patience as the support staff appear not to be native English speakers but they are very knowledgeable.

The device provides just one Ethernet port. If you need to connect two or more devices, an Ethernet switch should be added, which is exactly what I had done.

The Quick Install guide is provided in printed form and is more up-to-date in that it refers to Windows Vista although not to Windows 7, but is no more complete or explanatory. The two most current Windows versions are rather similar although not identical in their networking support. The manual is demanding of expansion and an update which, considering that Windows 8 is likely to be released later this year, it may well lead to further confusion. However their Technical Support is good and 24/7, which is an added bonus when you compare the 9-5, Monday to Friday support offered by others.

UPDATE @ 23-5-2012

Although working and completely functional at 3pm on day one, by midnight the same day I had found that one of my media devices had earlier found a previously unknown update. When I attempted to download it, there was then no Internet connection. The router was still connected and active but the access point had failed to connect wirelessly. I have re-checked the settings, which appear to be fine, but it will sometimes connect for a few seconds and then fail again several times in quick succession.

The point of this device is to provide constant Internet access and especially when needed, but it appears to be unable to do that for any length of time or with any consistency. I consequently decided to return it as it did not work for me other than for the briefest of periods after initial installation.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)