Customer Reviews


569 Reviews
5 star:
 (306)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (68)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


187 of 192 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Value - Superb Flexibility
I have an Asus O!Play HD2 media player connected to a TV in a room to which I couldn't easily run a Cat5 cable. The O!Play doesn't have WiFi support built-in, so in order to be able to stream movies from my NAS, I needed a way to convert the Cat5 cable port in the device to a wireless link.

My main wireless router is a BT Home Hub running software version...
Published on 23 Feb. 2011 by Robert Groom

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No initial criticisms... but I was wrong, it's hideously unreliable
I bought this as a bit of a punt since I know nothing of the brand, but standalone 802.11n APs seem to be a dying breed unless you like spending great wodges of cash on a professional grade model.

Unlike the previous two reviewers, mine did come with a UK plug - although an adapter is peanuts if you get one with a European plug.

Pros: it seems to...
Published on 28 Jan. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

187 of 192 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Value - Superb Flexibility, 23 Feb. 2011
By 
Robert Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WA701ND 150 Mbps Wireless N Access Point - Version 2.0 (Personal Computers)
I have an Asus O!Play HD2 media player connected to a TV in a room to which I couldn't easily run a Cat5 cable. The O!Play doesn't have WiFi support built-in, so in order to be able to stream movies from my NAS, I needed a way to convert the Cat5 cable port in the device to a wireless link.

My main wireless router is a BT Home Hub running software version 4.7.5.1.83 (Type B), and what I needed was a device which could act as a network client to the Home Hub and then connect to the O!Play using a standard Cat5 cable.

After a little research, I realised that the TL-WA701ND should be able to perform this function. It has several modes of wireless operation:

Access Point - acting as a simple wireless hub to connect together multiple wireless devices.
Multi-SSID - allowing the device to advertise multiple SSIDs and create up top 4 VLANs.
Client - (the option I chose) this effectively allows it to link the local Cat5 port with a remote wireless hub or router.
Repeater - the device (with WDS enabled) will repeat all packets with an associated root wireless hub or router. This effectively extends the range of your wireless network.
Universal Repeater - the device (with WDS disabled) will again repeat all packets and grow the size of the wireless network.
Bridge - allows the device to act as a bridge with up to 4 similar devices to connect different wired LANs wirelessly.

I was amazed as how configurable it is, and how clear the built in help files are. This is not in broken Google translated English either. It's extremely well worded. The menu system is a breeze to navigate, too.

If you need to build a relatively small but very flexible WiFi network, this device is a fantastic choice.

Configuration is simple - set the IP on your PC to 192.168.1.100, connect to the device using WiFi or the Cat5 cable supplied, and type 192.168.1.254 into your browser. Login with admin/admin and away you go.

It support DHCP, address reservation, WEP, WPA/WPA2, MAC filtering, SNMP info publishing, Ping diagnostics, traffic graphing, continuous Pinging, firmware updates, config backup & restore, and a system log.

And all this for less than 20 quid - unbelievable. Certainly one of the best purchases I've made in a long time. Highly recommended!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

If you're interesting to know what settings I needed to use to get my media player connected to my BT Home Hub (this should work with any similar plug & play wired network device supporting DHCP), they're as follows (note that my BT Home Hub is on 192.168.1.254 / 255.255.255.0) and any settings not listed were left as default:

***UPDATE DEC 2012***
Please note that the menu has changed with the latest iteration of this device, so beware that you may need to hunt around in the menu to find these settings.

NETWORK
Type: Static IP
IP Address: 192.168.1.250
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.254

WIRELESS
Operation Mode: Client
Enable WDS: No
SSID: BTHomeHub2-ABCD (replace with your BT Home Hub SSID)
MAC of AP: (Leave Blank)
Region: UK
Channel Width: 20/40MHz
Enable Wireless Radio: Yes

WIRELESS SECURITY
Disable Security: No
WEP: No
WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK: yes
Version: Automatic
Encryption: Automatic
PSK Password: abcde12345 (replace with the WPA key for your BT Home Hub)
Group Key Update Period: 0

DHCP
Enabled: Yes
Start IP Address: 192.168.1.10
End IP Address: 192.168.1.20
Address Lease Time: 120
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.254
Default Domain: (Leave Blank)
Primary DNS: 192.168.1.254
Secondary DNS: 0.0.0.0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No initial criticisms... but I was wrong, it's hideously unreliable, 28 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a bit of a punt since I know nothing of the brand, but standalone 802.11n APs seem to be a dying breed unless you like spending great wodges of cash on a professional grade model.

Unlike the previous two reviewers, mine did come with a UK plug - although an adapter is peanuts if you get one with a European plug.

Pros: it seems to work well as a replacement for my previous (failed) Edimax unit. Easy to set up, stronger signal than either Edimax or Netgear units. Power over Ethernet injector, which is a real plus if you're going to locate this in an attic or similar. Multiple SSID and VLAN support.

Cons: none, really. Setup was easy, with the only fly in the ointment being the need to set a static IP address on your configuration PC because the on-board DHCP server is disabled in the AP.

I probably had it up and running within 10 minutes of taking it out of the box. I only had to look at the manual to find out its IP address.

EDIT

Okay, after 18+ months, I've been moved to update this review. It's an appallingly unreliable bit of kit, sadly, and I've never been able to find out why. It's not throughput related, since it will die by simply having a couple of mobile 'phones poll email and Facebook through it, yet survive an 8Gb copy. It will sometimes run for a month - and yet I've had to reboot it seven times today (including while posting this...), and that's after several times yesterday.

If you search on the internet at reviews like this, you'll see a very polarised world: some folks love it (like many here), some have the same stability issues as the one-star reviews here. You find folks pleading for aftermarket firmware like DD-WRT (OpenWRT is only recently supported, but it *is* now supported). You find debates about turning features like QSS off to improve stability.

Truly a device to avoid in my experience, unless you want a cheap device to hack around with. The basic Atheros hardware is sound, so I can only blame the software - yet, all this noise, and not a single firmware update since February of this year for a device that's still offered for sale... not exactly stellar manufacturer support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes you can use it as a wireless bridge!, 22 Jan. 2011
By 
Rev. Steve Utley (Corfe Mullen, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WA701ND 150 Mbps Wireless N Access Point - Version 2.0 (Personal Computers)
I spent a good couple of hours trying to work out if this could be used as a network bridge as I wanted to wirelessly connect my Blu-Ray and Humax Freesat HD box.

Having read the reviews on this and also the 54Mbps version, I was none the wiser. I then looked at the TP-Link web site and downloaded the data sheets and after some considerable eye-strain, concluded that you probably could do it.

This is in fact quite a versatile bit of kit and to cut a long story short, you can have this in five or six different modes. If you just want it to connect sat/tv/blu-ray, then select it in client mode. Have a play with the WDS settings depending on your access point. The default address for this is 192.168.1.254. That's the same as my Access Point, but you can change it under your LAN settings. I went with 192.168.1.1, but make sure you gateway is set to the same.

Also, it only has one network socket out, so if you want to connect more than one wired device, you'll need a network switch which you can pick up for under a tenner on Amazon.

I will play around with this as I read that someone had it working as a repeater as well, so they boosted the wireless signal as well as bridging the network.

Anyhow, just watched 3 hours of iPlayer on the Foxsat flicker free, so am a happy bunny. Post an questions in comments and I'll try and get back t you asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice features, 1 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WA701ND 150 Mbps Wireless N Access Point - Version 2.0 (Personal Computers)
Very good device with nice and stable WiFi that easily covers whole building. In past I had to use two APs, but now one is enough. There is also nice surprise, which Amazon fails to mention: devices is Power-over-Ethernet and comes with power injector. That makes installation possible in nearly any place and there is no need for power socket to be near. All you need to connect is one network cable and then you put power supply and injector near the switch on other side of network cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid item, inexpensive, used for Sky Anytime Plus, 27 Aug. 2011
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WA701ND 150 Mbps Wireless N Access Point - Version 2.0 (Personal Computers)
I attempted to set this up whilst half asleep and thought the instructions were terrible! Now I think it's a great little item.

My aim was to use the Router to connect to Sky Anytime Plus. I've got it working!!!

After a fresh start, I first looked at my Sky Router. In Internet Explorer, I entered the sky router setup (192.168.0.1 by default, username admin / password sky. Do not use your regular router ID or password, it's not relevant here!)
I was able to enter Advanced... LAN IP Setup. This is the business part.

The TP-Link has a default IP address of 192.168.1.254. As the Sky Router is 192.168.0...etc, it had problems allowing me to setup the TP link.

In LAN IP Setup, change:
1) IP Address (of the Sky Router) to 192.168.1.100.
2) Under DHCP Range change Start Address to 192.168.1.101 (mine updated when I clicked on it)
Change End Address to 192.168.1.254

Click APPLY

This was all I needed to do on the Sky Router Setup. You will no longer be able to access Sky Router setup under the old IP Address as you have changed it to 192.168.1.100. If you use this, you can go back in to reassure yourself (after the router has restarted - it takes about 15 seconds).

Now for the TP-Link. Plug it in somewhere within range of your PC and allow the lights to come on. System needs to be flashing.

In Windows' Network and Sharing Centre (Win7) I connected to my TP-Link.

1) In Internet Explorer, enter 192.168.1.254 (default remember)
2) If you need a ID/password, it's on your TP-Link, but it should be admin/admin.
3) Go to Wireless
4) FIRST go to Wireless Security. Select the WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK option and add your SKY ROUTER PASSWORD to the PSK Password. Mine is 8 letters, but it will be on your Sky Router. Click SAVE
5) Go to Wireless Settings. Select Universal Repeater instead of Access Point.
I changed my region to United Kingdom - you should, but it won't affect the working of this as far as I am aware.
Click SURVEY.
You should find that either immediately or after a few attempts, your SKY Router ID is shown. Click SELECT.
Click SAVE.
There will now be an option to REBOOT. This is where I had gone wrong originally as my Sky Router had not been setup first. If you now reboot, you should find that again after 15 seconds or so, you can only connect to your Sky Router.

Unplug your TP-Link and plug it in near your sky box. Using the Ethernet cable which came with the TP-Link, plug this into the TP-Link and then the rear of your Sky Box.

After the TP-Link starts up (system should be flashing) the Sky Box will shortly show that a broadband connection has been detected. Click Select on your sky remote.

If you go into Anytime on your Sky box, you should find that you now have the full Sky Anytime Plus range of shows/films/etc. Access will be subject to your subscription.

===============

I hope this helps someone as it caused me no end of frustration first time. I have some IT knowledge but networks are normally beyond me (no training!). Give it a go and good luck.

The product has been reliable so far, it does seem to get a bit warm so place it in a well ventilated area. I wouldn't place it on top of a sky box, but it's probably ok to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the novice...., 7 Oct. 2011
By 
G. Bramwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I live in large, stone built house so wireless black-spots are to be expected. Looking for a relatively cheap solution I came across this TL-WA901ND unit. I eventually got the TL-WA901ND unit working as a remote Access Point (AP) fed from my BT HomeHub-2 router using a Cat5 cable but it took some time.

As stated elsewhere the manual is not written with the novice in mind, it's too technical, some knowledge of networks and network terminology being necessary. The simple one button automatic set-up feature Quick Secure Setup (QSS) didn't work with my BT router so manual set-up had to be used; again some knowledge of networks and use of an AP being necessary. The TL-WA901ND came with a default IP address of 192.168.1.254 which is the same as the router's default IP address. Therefore, the first thing to do is to change one units IP, as suggested in the manual I did this using a laptop connected to the AP unit by a cable. Using the set-up software (on the CD supplied with the unit) it was easy enough to change the AP's address to use a static IP - I chose 192.168.1.14. I then set the Wireless mode to AP, UK as the Region and Wireless Security as WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK. I then disconnected the AP unit from my laptop and reconnected it to the BT router whereupon the set-up software discovered the BT HomeHub-2 router.

I then relocated the AP to the area of my house suffering a wireless black-spot, reconnected it to the BT Router at which point both my remote desktop PC and laptop found my network and BT Homehub-2 router.

One inclusion I should like to see to the TL-WA901ND is that of a two port switch on the front end circuitry of the unit. I suggest this because the CAT5 cable that previously connected my remote PC to the BT router now fed the AP unit. I had to purchase a five port switch to feed both the AP and my desktop PC.

I now have a strong wireless signal in this remote part of my house so very happy with the outcome. Given the poor manual one needs some technical knowledge in order to install the unit; therefore I have given it a lower rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant piece of kit, 10 April 2011
This review is from: TP-LINK TL-WA701ND 150 Mbps Wireless N Access Point - Version 2.0 (Personal Computers)
I have set this up as both a extension to my sky wireless network and as a direct connection for my Sky+ HD box so i can get Anytime+. If there is a downside it took a while to configure and it does require an element of networking knowledge. I set the unit in Universal Repeater mode. These are the settings:

Sky Router
IP address. 192.168.0.1
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Router DHCP range
Starting IP Adress: 192.168.0.10
Ending IP address: 192.168.0.254
Reserved address for TP-Link: 192.168.0.254

TP-Link
IP address: 192.168.0.254
Wireless: set to Universal Repeater
Wireless Security: set to WPA-PSK with automatic encryption (same as Sky Router)
PSK Password: Network Key of Sky Router
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slightly strange beviour, 10 Jan. 2012
I wanted to use this device as a repeater in a room where the router (a netgear DGN1000) is giving a poor signal. I read and reread the instructions as advised in an earlier post, they are pretty awful.

Then tried to set it up, I connected an ethernet cable and then changed its IP address to 192.168.1.3 to suit my needs and changed it to UNIVERSAL REPEATER and reserved the IP 192.168.1.3 address on my router.

Rebooted the repeater and router it then showed up on my router as an attached device.

I then removed the ethernet cable and then the repeater disappeared from the router list, after trying a few times sometimes pressing the button on the front and sometimes not, I gave up and contacted support who emailed me some instructions, which were basically what I had already done, but this time after pulling out the cable the repeater IP address stayed on the router. There is actually no need to press the QSS button on the WA901ND.

So I now removed it and switched it back on in the remote location and then after about 30 seconds it appeared on the attached devices list on the router and now works exactly as required. We currently connect two Galaxy S phones, a KOBO reader,a windows laptop and occasional visitors phones/laptops and all work perfectly. While some of this was going on I could not login to the router (while the cable was connected to the repeater) and later after disconnecting the cable I could not access the router.

to summarise the installation

connect the WA901ND to the wireless router using an ethernet cable
then open the software for the repeater by typing the default 192.168.1.254 into a web browser
change the WA901ND IP address to be a static address you could leave it as 192.168.1.254 if you wish
change the mode to UNIVERSAL REPEATER
then open the software in the router by typing its IP address into the browser
reserve the IP address used on the router
reboot both router and repeater
remove cable from router once it has showed up on the router, it should then connect by wireless
switch off and take WA901ND to its intended location and switch it on
wait about 30 seconds and all should be well.

I assigned a static IP address for my main computer as well
Router 192.168.1.1
Main Computer 192.168.1.2
Repeater 192.168.1.3

Then any other devices pick up an IP address from the router as long as you have it set to be a DHCP server.

Once working, as someone else commented, for about £20 the device is brilliant our phones were showing a minimal signal from the router and now with the repeater they are getting maximum signal and all work infinitely better. It can now be switched off when not in use and reconnects in a few seconds when required again.

Thus I have given it 5 stars despite the problems with installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars frustratingly unreliable, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only good thing about this piece of skit is that over the past few months it has bludgeoned me into becoming something of an expert at wireless networking.
I wanted to extend my wireless network, so tried using it as a repeater. Although it gives every evidence of working, none of my 5 devices can detect a signal from it in this mode.
OK, so I hard wire it to the superhub and try it as an extra access point. According to signal scanner programs on different machines it emits a steady, stronger signal than the hub, a steady weaker signal, a variable signal that every few minutes drops out completely, or a regularly fluctuating signal. This is true even experimenting with different channels, different positioning [but in all case the computers were within 1 metre of it] different or nil security settings, and so on. The one strange thing, mentioned by others, was that even when the signal was measured as steadily stronger, no machine wanted to stay connected to it, showing a preference for the puny Virgin superhub. Oh, and now, whatever the settings, even after a restart, I can no longer access it via my browser at all.
The downside is that it has taken me so long to find that it's not me to blame that it's way too late to return it for a refund.
The very worst thing of all is I can't even chuck it in the bin legally, but I have to make a special trip to a recycling point. Aarghh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfect out of the box, 8 Jun. 2011
By 
D. E. Boston (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The TPLink TL-WA901ND Wireless N Access Point completely fixed the problems i was having.

1. i had a dead zone in my kitchen where the signal was was poor and dropped out often
2. Transferring data over wifi to my Synology DiskStation NAS box was also poor (sub 100kbps)

i bought the tp-link TL-WA901ND in the hope that it would fix these issues and it does. I figured that if the repeater function didn't work very well with my Netgear DG834Gv1 then i'd just disable the wifi on the Netgear and use the TPLink AP instead.

Once the TPLink AP arrived i tried enabling it as a repeater, which while boosted the signal in the kitchen i was still getting poor transfer speeds to the NAS box; still sub 100kbps. No good for streaming music to the kitchen let alone video.

I then disabled the AP functionality on my Netgear, plugged in the TPLink and set up it as an AP. I put the TPlink next to my Netgear so i could get a like-for-like comparison of signal strength and speed. The dead spot in my kitchen has now gone and transfer speeds to my NAS box has improved dramatically. I am now getting over 2.5mbps using my laptop which only has a G card in.

All i need to do now is tidy up the cabling to keep the missus happy :)

DG834G connections
- lan to TPLink TL-SG1005D Gigabit switch in the office
- lan to TPLink TL-WA901ND Access Point
- lan to Belkin 100mbps switch in living room

TPLink TL-SG1005D Gigabit Switch connections (office)
- Synology NAS
- laptop 1
- laptop 2

belkin 100mbps switch (living room)
- xbox 360
- ps3
- laptop (for iplayer etc)

further things to note
- The plug on my unit is a UK one and not a Euro one (as i have read for other AP products provided by TPLink).
- i set up my network to run on 192.168.1.xxx to make setting up easier before the AP arrived.
- i am not a network expert. I work in IT but i deliver software solutions
- it's taken me longer to write this review than it took me to set up!
- testing was done in the "dead" zone
--- speed testing done by file copying before and after
--- signal testing done using Network Signal Info for Andriod before and after

Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TP-LINK TL-WA701ND 150 Mbps Wireless N Access Point - Version 2.0
£27.88
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews