Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple acoustic melodies with echos of early folk
Being a lover of simple acoustic guitar music in general, particularly fingerpicking styles, I tend to jump on just about anything which has that basic sound to it. So after hearing just one song by Jose (Hearbeats) and loving the beautiful melodies, I grabbed hold of a copy of the album.

Amazon describes these pieces as 'indie pop bedroom songs', which I think...
Published on 17 May 2006 by Nazboy

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Listenable,but not what many would have you believe
I'm about tired of the comparisons with Nick Drake. Gonzalez is no Drake; the only similarities that can be drawn (and they're tenuous ones) lie in certain of the cyclical guitar figures. That aside, the songs and the singing don't really compare. Gonzalez' songs sound like variations on a theme -a looped-up motif from say, one or two of Drake's songs- and listened to 3...
Published on 26 Jun. 2006 by Orryl Oak


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice real nice, 6 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
yeah its good, it aint no nick drake thou! its nice but nit a s nice as ~Devendra Banhart! Its good, but repeatative, you dont need to compare him to simon and garfunkle or nick drake, hes just good! and sounds nothing like anyone else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veneer (MP3 Download)
Boss
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull!, 2 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
José sounds so great. A Nordic/Latin fusion could be no better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This song goes on forever, 9 May 2006
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
Right I bought this album on the strength of the Bravia advert soundtrack _ "Heartbreak". I really do like that song; it has a wonderfully melancholy, summers day feeling to it. But the rest of the album? Dear me it is so dreary and monotone that it blends into the background and disappears without you noticing it was ever there. Jose Gonzalez' guitar riffs are all exactly the same on every track, add to that the moaning vocals that accompany the guitar playing and what you have is something that works well for 3 minutes but balks after 10. As an experiment I've tried listening to the tracks individually, but still they are just so repetitive it hurts.
Very boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Similarities, 9 Jun. 2006
By 
Mme Sonia Thuery "soniaandree" (Bourgogne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
with Gary Jules (the artist who had re-arranged Tears for Fears' "Mad World" for Donnie Darko). The undertones are simple, sweet, moody, yet good as background music. This is the type of music I'd listen to when I'm probably alone, or as a lounge music with guests, since it hasn't got agressive pitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, 7 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
is never going to be a "grace - jeff buckley" or "pink moon - nick drake" or even a elliot smith record, however this yougn man has brought us some nice chillout tunes to put on while your having dinner with friends, really lacks crisima in his live performances too,
there are some highlights however...
2. Remain
3. Lovestain
4. Heartbeats
5. Crosses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jose Gonzalez - Veneer, 20 Feb. 2006
By 
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
BRILLIANT! This album is great! Excellent for background music when having coffee with friends or just when chillin out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming, 18 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
Amid all the knowledgeable reviews of Veneer with their five star recommendations, I have to say that I found it totally underwhelming and a real disappointment. Yes, Gonzales is a master of his instrument so why not let the guitar sing for itself? The songs here are tuneless, his vocals expressionless and disengaged.
I want music to touch me, uplift me or leave me with a pleasurable melancholy, but this album does none of these things. I don't even find it a satisfying bedroom chill album and I have given it a fair try.
A bad buy for me, then. Must be wary of the five star reviews in future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heartbeat a nice song, but the rest is SOOO dull, 3 Feb. 2006
By 
GP "TheGP" (Feltham, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Veneer (Audio CD)
I bought this on the back of hearing Heartbeat - A lovely song agreed, and from the reviews on here it seemed as though the rest of "Veneer" would be worth listening to.
Sadly, whilst much of Veneer is pleasant to listen to, ultimately it is very very dull. There is nothing on there of the quality of Heartbeat, so this is the classic case of a mediocre quality work being promoted by an advert.
Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Veneer
Veneer by José González
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews