Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stronger album than the last one
I was a bit disappointed with the last Purple album, Bananas, and was therefore pleased to find out that 'Rapture' was definately a step up from this, with a bunch of rock solid compositions that might not be Purple classics but are really memorable nonetheless. The two tracks I dislike the most are the 'poppy' ones - 'Girls Like That' and 'Don't let Go', but the rest of...
Published on 17 Nov 2006 by A.Reviewer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great material / bad production.
Great material by DP with the usual overall influence from Steve Morse. Listen to Rapture Of The Deep, Wrong Man and Clearly Quite Absurd and you'll know what I mean. But the production isn't as good as it used to be on albums like Perfect Strangers and Abandon to name a few. It sounds too small to me and the lack of ambience is obvious, especially on the drums. Wrong...
Published on 13 Feb 2011 by Nuka Moller Lund


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stronger album than the last one, 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
I was a bit disappointed with the last Purple album, Bananas, and was therefore pleased to find out that 'Rapture' was definately a step up from this, with a bunch of rock solid compositions that might not be Purple classics but are really memorable nonetheless. The two tracks I dislike the most are the 'poppy' ones - 'Girls Like That' and 'Don't let Go', but the rest of the album is an enjoyable mix of the progressive, heavy, and funky, plus one ballad 'Clearly Quite Absurd,' which, although not being a huge fan of ballads, is, I feel, miles better than the one on 'Bananas.' The epic title track with its Eastern - sounding riff is particularly effective and Don Airey's stamp on the album is much more considerable this time, with synthesizer on the funky 'Back to Back,' apocalyptic keyboards on the heavy 'Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye,' and boogie-woogie piano on 'Junkyard Blues.' The overall feel of the recording is of a band that really know what they're doing with a variety of musical styles, and sound confident and laid back but without being uninteresting or indifferent. Environmental themes are dealt with as on 'Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye' and 'Junkyard Blues' and Gillan gets philosophical on the final, progressive sounding track 'Before Time Began.' One problem with this CD is the sound quality, which could have been much better. On some tracks Ian Gillan sounds a bit muffled and this mix is a bit muddy. I don't know if this is also true on the Tour Edition CD or the vinyl version but I'm sure a better job could have been done here. That aside, this is the only Deep Purple studio album I own from the Steve Morse era, but one which I think is worthy of inclusion with rest of my collection from the Ritchie Blackmore days. As always with Purple, live versions of songs are better than studio versions as they thrive on live appearances, so a well filmed DVD of a recent concert performance would be most welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 25 July 2006
By 
C. Kitsis (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
I was a bit reluctant to buy this CD. Although a DP fan since the mid seventies I did not expect too much from the band these days.

This CD is the best one I bought in the last year. It is real dynamite from beginning to end and I have been listening to it constantly over the last three weeks. The tracks are cohesive and involving. A lot of first class rock music lies in here. The rhythm section is unbeatable, Ian Gillan is still a great if not the greatest rock voice. No new band can beat these tracks.

Buy it and listen to it over and over again, you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RECORD 'EM WHILE THEY`RE HOT!!!, 18 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
"Record them while they're hot" says producer Michael Bradford. With a great band like Deep Purple, the first couple takes are usually so alive and fresh, you can build around a powerful recording and have amazing results.
Deep Purple spent five weeks recording the new album, "Rapture of the Deep". This becomes clear when listening, there's a definite live feel about it. This is a different beast compared to "Bananas" a couple years back. It's harder, darker and more adventurous, a very cohesive album. I was hooked after a few listens and willing to call "Rapture of the Deep" one of the finest in their catalog. It contains NO filler and has plenty of memorable songs.
My first impression is that singer Ian Gillan sounds very inspired and full of attitude. Lots of questioning authority in his lyrics. Guitarist Steve Morse's and Keyboardist Don Airey's interplay is more refined and they get more opportunity to shine here than on the previous album. There's some nice drum work from Ian Paice. The bass lines from Roger Glover are strong and steady. The overall sound of the band is amazing and the recordings easily hold there own next to the new McCartney, Stones and Clapton discs.
Here is a quick run down of the tracks:
01. Money Talks - a well arranged progressive hard rock vibe. There are a lot of things happening in this song and it sets the tone for the album. Stunning. A great opener!
02. Girls Like That - a "radio friendly" song with a pretty nice hook and it has an absolutely cool keyboard solo.
03. Wrong Man - a chugging powerful groove. Once again a catchy chorus. Right out of the gate we get three good rockers and then something special happens...
04. Rapture Of The Deep - an epic with fantastic Arabic riffs and melodies. A very successful attempt at trying something progressive with purpose. Masterpiece #1
05. Clearly Quite Absurd - a simply stunning ballad that doesn't get mushy. Melancholy melodies which suit Gillan's "mature" voice perfectly. Masterpiece #2
06. Don't Let Go - the albums best rocker and a steady groovin' toe tapper. Nice!
07. Back To Back - this one goes many places. Fun stuff that could be called a great filler.
08. Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye - a magnificent rocker, with great lyrics and a good up beat Bo-Diddley type drum feel from Paice.
09. MTV - some fantastic singing by Gillan, superb lyrics again and wonderful solos.
10. Junkyard Blues - breathtaking, just listen to these solos. The energy is contagious. To describe it in words is impossible.
11. Before Time Began - A Deep Purple classic, with a psychedelic touch. Once again, I am impressed by the arrangements and the progressive feel. Masterpiece #3
Highlights: Money Talks, Rapture of the Deep, Clearly Quite Absurd, Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye & Before Time Began.
I have to confess, I've made a mistake questioning a band with such a rich history as Deep Purple. Maybe they don't always hit that "bulls eye" but each time they're written off, they deliver one of their best albums.
Congratulations guys, you're far from retirement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 7 Mar 2008
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
I love this entire album.

Now, after several plays, I usually listen to it from beginning to end, although I did go through a period when I first got it, of one track on repeat, but that was only until I discovered the next.

There is something that jumps out at me for every track, whether it is a lyric or a beat, a twiddle or a scream, that has me reaching for the repeat button just to experience it once more.

I didn't know what to expect from this album as I love Ian Gillan seventies Purple so much, but I wasn't disappointed and now I'm going round everyone I know to tell them that Deep Purple is still very much alive and kicking.

If you like rock music, buy this album. Quite simply, it rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gillan still has it, 13 Jun 2006
By 
Tommy Rotten (North Lincolnshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
Ian Gillan is one of the world's most talented singers, and he remaisn so to this day. The opening Money Talks features incredible vocal talent, remember there are no background singers in Deep Purple when you listen to this. Don't Let Go and Girls Like That are weaker moments, but they are still very catchy and feel-good songs. The title track and Before Time Began are spiritual epics in a style not previouslt attempted by this band. Wrong Man is full-blown heavy rock as Purple do best, while Junkyard Blues is an experimental song with a prolonged lazy bluesy guitar and honky tonk piano solo. The best album released in 2005, rock fans as a whole will be thrilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rapturous return of Deep Purple, 20 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
Well what a suprise this is. Being a long term Purple fan, but having long since given up the hope of them producing a real top class studio recording in their mature years,along comes Rapture of the Deep.
This is quite simply the best record the band have made since reforming in 84, and yes I am including the classic Perfect strangers in that. PS may have contained two bona-fide classics but the rest of the album wasn't up to standard.
This album contains at least three future classics, and the songs in between are of an astoundingly high quality. It kicks off with the first of those classics "Money Talks", full of growling hammond and attitude. The keyboard intro sets the scene and then in comes Gillan with an amazing vocal similar to No One Can from Fireball.
The title track is in the vein of Perfect Strangers or Enya, full of eastern promise and snaking rhythms and another cracker. The required ballad is well above their usual standard in such songs, and thankfully blots out the memory of the contrived Haunted from 2003's Bananas. Final track Before Time Began is a prog masterpiece, one of the best songs Purple have written in two decades, with an astoundingly thoughtful lyric from Gillan.
The remaining tracks are heavy, dense, full of improvisation and musical ambition and played beautifully. The entire album grooves and rumbles with renewed vigour. Simply splendid.
Buy it, marvel at it, and despair of the crock of nonsense younger bands try to pass off as rock music in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
i really like this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rapture is the word, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RAPTURE OF THE DEEP (Audio CD)
This album is great and is typical of their standard of albums. Even though this album is a few years old I have only just bought it and wished I had done so earlier. But at least I have it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Purple the Best, 3 May 2013
This review is from: Rapture of the Deep (MP3 Download)
I have always and will all ways be a fan of one of the best rock bands very. I have just brought "What Now" and that is just great, review to follow. So what about "Rapture of the Deep". Purple do not make bad music. I cannot wait to see the in Birmingham in October. One of the other reviewers made a comment about them getting on in age well we are getting on I am 63 and I do not intend to stop rocking - long live Rock & Roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One not to miss!, 10 April 2013
By 
M. lythgoe (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rapture of the Deep (MP3 Download)
How did I miss this album? I just downloaded it today and love it! In particular lots of Jon Lord's Hammond organ, which was always a feature of Deep Purple I love. Ian Gillan's voice is excellent too - very soulful in places.

All in all great rock music from legends of the genre!

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rapture of the Deep
Rapture of the Deep by Deep Purple
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews