Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Just the job, does what it says on the box
Published 1 month ago by Arvid

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Moderate at best
Ok, so having just invested a fair amount in a Sony Reader PRS-600 (Touch), getting a protective layer is thought by some to be a good idea, so I bought one of these FX-AntiReflex protectors.

This arrived loose in an ordinary window envelope, no special packing except the multi-lingual install cards (two of them) folded around it, plus the receipt which...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by Story Fanatic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Moderate at best, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
Ok, so having just invested a fair amount in a Sony Reader PRS-600 (Touch), getting a protective layer is thought by some to be a good idea, so I bought one of these FX-AntiReflex protectors.

This arrived loose in an ordinary window envelope, no special packing except the multi-lingual install cards (two of them) folded around it, plus the receipt which provided the delivery address - posted from Germany. No damage though - it arrived in good condition. You get a small lens cleaning cloth (like for reading glasses, but only 5cm square) to remove grease marks from the Reader, if needed.

Applying the film is not without its problems:

First note, be careful once you start to peel off the backing as any dust, lint (even from the supplied cloth) or fingerprints will easily stick to the adhesive side of the protector, so handle by the edges only. I doubled-over the backing film so I could keep a hold without leaving finger prints on it. This also meant I could peel the backing off as I placed the film down.

Secondly, unless you have the patience of a God, you will struggle to remove all bubbles. I used a large glasses cloth to rub the film surface down as I slowly applied it to my Reader, but had to lift and reset it several times - and it is still not perfect. For me, this is limited to some small bubbles at the bottom edge where I started applying the film, which I can probably live with.

Thirdly, beware that you don't tuck the film in under the edges of your Reader body. I have ended with my film set very slightly under the menu panel at the bottom. This leaves a small gap unprotected at the top of the Reader screen (about 1mm). Possibly handy for getting a fingernail under it for removal I suppose - it doesn't interfere with reading so have left it.

Contrary to other peoples comments, I have not noticed any significant drop in touch sensitivity - page turn "swipe" motion with finger/thumb works just as before for me. Stylus is unaffected - handwriting/doodles work just fine as well.

There is a slight reduction in glare, but not a huge amount, so don't expect this to work miracles.

My main interest in this product is to prevent accidental scratches on the screen in the early days of ownership. The actual Reader screen seems to be really quite robust. It doesn't seem to show up finger marks either, so unless you are looking for the "anxious new owner anti-scratch protection" factor like me, you may not really want to bother with this or any other type of additional layer. I'll try to remember to update this feedback after some reasonable usage period has elapsed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but not good enough., 15 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
This screen protector fits well and is as easy to apply as any other one but does not significantly reduce the screen glare from the Sony PRS-600 Reader. In fact I have taken the screen protector off as it reduced the contrast of the screen by a small amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for Touch Screen, 9 Mar 2010
By 
A. D. Clift (Bromley Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
Do not buy this for the touch screen reader. It does reduce glare a little but it also reduces contrast, which is already low on the touch reader. Most important is that it totally stopped the touch screen from working, either with a finger or the supplied stylus. Without the touch screen the reader is useless ao this product is also useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FX-ANTIREFLEX Screen Protector for Sony PRS-600 (Touch), 12 May 2010
By 
J B Ford (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
The product was delivered on time, but I found it difficult to apply (maybe it was my fat fingers) and it didn't reach to the bottom of the screen, however,the worst thing about it is the fact that it reflects light almost as bad as the Sony E-reader touch screen. Not a product I can reccomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total rubbish, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
The product is not antireflective as claimed. On my Sony PRS600 Reader it reduces the viewing quality and renders the screen less touch sensitive. Expensive for what it is and unnecessary. A totally rubbish product - do not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Antireflective !, 18 Sep 2010
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
FoliX FX-ANTIREFLEX antireflective screen protector for Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition / PRS600 PRS-600SC - Anti-glare screen protection!

Good idea -unfortunately did not work for me.
The service and delivery were good from the supplier. the item arrived within 48 hours
I must say its not easy to fit
Once fitted I had problems with e-book totally freezing when powered up. screen just refused to respond.
Removed protector and the player works perfectly again.
Read other review of this product and some people have had success with this product so don't know why it didn't work for me.
However can't fault supplier who offered a full refund as soon as he heard about the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars i am still waiting for my purchased item to be delivered since 17/7/10, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
see above please and let me know when it is going to be delivered. thanking you for being as patient as i am
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
Just the job, does what it says on the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the EX-Antireflective screen protector for the Sony Reader Touch Edition, 30 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
Don't buy this screen protector for the Sony Reader Touch Edition. The reader stops working. The screen protector is ok, but once you have put it on the screen, the reader stops working. Don't waste your money on this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied, 9 Feb 2010
By 
D. Linney "Derek" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: atFoliX FX-Antireflex Displayschutzfolie f1/4r Sony PRS-600 Reader Touch Edition (Personal Computers)
This screen protector not only protects the screen but makes it easier to read (less reflections). When it arrived it looked far too small but ... it fitted perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews