Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddon outta here
NASA discovers a huge meteor simmilar to the one that wiped out the dinosaurs is heading to Earth. Coming up with a plan they recruit a team of oilrig workers to land on the meteor and blow it up before it reaches Earth and destroys all life on the planet. One of director Michael Bay's early films, this is a cheesy, ridiculous film that you can't take seriously for a...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
32 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood at its best/worst
Watched this on TV last night and feel compelled to write a review. I remember seeing this in the cinema as an impressionable teenager and thinking it was the greatest thing ever; explosions, tough nut men and funky gadgetry. Having watched it again now, I can't believe how different my opinion is.

This is the most blatant piece of American propaganda ever. A...
Published on 25 Aug. 2006 by JW83


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddon outta here, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armageddon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
NASA discovers a huge meteor simmilar to the one that wiped out the dinosaurs is heading to Earth. Coming up with a plan they recruit a team of oilrig workers to land on the meteor and blow it up before it reaches Earth and destroys all life on the planet. One of director Michael Bay's early films, this is a cheesy, ridiculous film that you can't take seriously for a second yet also a lot of fun with Bruce Willis in good form and a good supporting cast including Ben Affleck, Liv Tyler, Steve Buscemi, Billy Bob Thornton, Michael Clarke Duncan, Owen Wilson and Will Patton all playing it completely tongue in cheek. Spectacular action and effects and looks stunning on bluray too. One of Michael Bay's best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge film huge characters, hugely entertaining, 22 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
OK, I'm holding back a star. This is tosh. But it's great tosh.

There are so many great bits of fun in this slam bang actioner that it's hard to know what to talk about.

So, in no particular order, the acting from a universally hugely enjoyable cast (if no oscars here):

Billy Bob Thornton-brilliantly quiet and understated.

Bruce Willis- huge fun

Ben Affleck, another enjoyable turn.

Steve Buschemi- humiliating the head-shrinkers and other great scenes

The much-missed Michael Clarke Duncan-as he cuts into the singing of "Leaving on a jet plane" with a voice deep enough to shake out your fillings.

Oh, you could keep on, but for this type of film, the perfromances are perfect.

The medical screening- high order slapstick, and MCD's table dance !

Effects- generally good enough. One bad call, I think we see meteorites from the comet coming in at all angles- well, probably they'd all come from the same place. Aside from that, it wasn't supposed to be realistic, but it's good enough.

The story- well, you know it, but it's well done.

A big film, big entertainment, but fun. Great but not GREAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'BRUCE WILL SURELY SAVE THE DAY' (HUGELY ENJOYABLE SCI-FI MOVIE), 9 Jun. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Armageddon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I, as i'm sure apply's to many of you, just love these apocalyptic type movies with bucket loads of special-effects.
The story tells of a giant 'Asteroid' hurtling toward earth with little over a couple of weeks before impact, a 'team' are gathered together, put through a 'crash' course training regime to enable them to travel into space ,along with an experienced crew, land on the Asteroid shifting through space at 22,000 m.p.h., drill a '800 ft deep hole then plant the 'Nuclear Bomb' to separate the Asteroid, then...try to escape before detonation........not a huge task ?
'Bruce Willis' leads the cast list as 'Harry Stamper' - 'Liv Tyler' plays his daughter 'Grace' 'Ben Affleck' plays 'Grace's' suitor and
fellow 'driller' and mission companion to 'Harry'
This is an exciting and tense roller-coaster ride, maybe a bit 'gun-ho' as many of this type of films are, but putting that aside...it's great fun......'great 'Blu-ray' material.
Both picture and Sound quality - very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So bad that it is compelling viewing, 10 May 2011
By 
M. Kidger "bristolcity" (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
When I give a talk on the subject I always hold up this film as possibly the worst science fiction movie ever made on cosmic impacts. If any scientific fact was right at any stage it was purely an accident. The result is a film that is so bad that it becomes downright entertaining: suspend reality and just sit back and enjoy seeing how it would not be done if you happen to have a musclebound hero that you don't need, when the Earth is in peril. Intended or not, there are some great comic moments. The film was released in direct competition to Deep Impact, which is a far more serious attempt to portray the issues to the public, although both feature a hero and a very big bomb who just happens to die saving the planet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddon: A Classic, 10 Jan. 2011
By 
T. D. Rodwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
Armageddon is one of my favourite movies of all time. Why? To put it simply, it has everything. It has drama, emotion, humour, romance, sci-fi, action and even a big name actor who plays a starring role. From the director who has since gone on to produce both Transformers, both Bad Boys movies and Pearl Harbour, Michael Bay got it right with this one. The budget was big; it had to be. Add explosions and great effects to that list of what this film manages to cram in. It's one of those films you just have to see. It's been out for a good few years now, but even with some of the movies that are about today, I still regard it as one of the best.
Bruce Willis is fantastic in this film. If you don't like Bruce Willis films, maybe this isn't for you.. but at the same time I'd still take a peek at it. It's not a Die Hard sort of movie, where Willis shoots everyone and walks out the only slightly bruised hero. I won't spoil the ending (in case you haven't seen it) but it is played superbly and is one of the all time great tearjerkers.
So what if the story is a bit over the top, or perhaps even unbelievable at times? The ending is perhaps predictable, with a frantic finish to save the world.. but then wasn't that always on the cards? Sure you can criticise this aspect, but if there wasn't a cinematic finale the whole film would be a bit of an anti-climax. Bay, Bruce and literally everyone in this film got it spot on. If Armageddon was the last film I ever saw, before Armageddon actually happened, I wouldn't have many complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "So kiss me and smile for me", 22 Feb. 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you'll wait for me
Hold me like you'll never let me go"
Leaving On A Jet Plane Lyrics - John Denver

Once again the world is threatened by Armageddon. A dangerous asteroid, it is heading straight for Earth. Our only hope will be to send a team of roughneck drillers to dig a hole big enough to place a bomb and shatter the meteor.

This movie is lots of fun on many levels. It is a parody of disaster movies; however the characters don't know that they are parody and play it straight. This allows us to have fun without having to listen to a bunch of campy over-the-top one-liners that don't match the movie. It's a father daughter story; and of all things the father would have to be Bruce Willis who brings his killer formula to the story and fits his part perfectly. The daughter played by Liv Tyler (before her The Lord of the Rings fame) adds a great catalyst to the story. The rest of the team is rounded off by contemporary actors of which you will recognize immediately.

The graphics and action both explosive and human will hold you to the end.

This movie is worth watching over again so you can see the nuances that were missed the first time through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars leavin on jet plane ....., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
Im on a mission at the moment to buy all my classic fav films and this was one of the first I bought have watched it a million times and could watch it a million more.
the all star cast is just amazing Bruce willis liv tyler and Ben Affleck what more can I say... well not alot or i'd spoil the plot lol a must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Film. Pretty Good Blu Ray., 25 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Armageddon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Armageddon, a film released back in 1998... a film that, in my view, is probably one of the best films of all time!! Honestly, that is my first port of call here - I really and truly love this film.

The plot centres on an asteroid "the size of Texas" that has been discovered by NASA. It isn't long before NASA officials realise that there are only 18 days until the Earth's "total" destruction ie. Armageddon.
So, in all their wisdom, NASA send the world's best drillers to space... who are in fact a bunch of roughnecks, led by Harry Stamper in a very good performance from Bruce Willis. The subplot focuses on A.J. Frost (unfortunately!), played by Ben Affleck, who is trying to marry Harry's daughter, Grace, played in a rousing performance by Liv Tyler.
In between all of this, you have a wonderful blend of action, suspense, comedic effect and heartbreak. Seriously, at the film's end, some of you will shed a tear or two!

The film does have some drawbacks. I suppose, the most notable of these is that there is no real sense of danger while the drillers are on the asteroid. Watch the film and you shall see what I'm getting at here... some legendary comedic moments here! Still, sadly, I reckon that's what turns many people away from this film for good...

Anyhow, onto the Blu Ray quality.

Picture: 9/10. There is a lovely improvement in the picture quality over the DVD here. In particular, you should find the 'Meteor Shower' scenes extremely satisfactory; they are splendid in HD! Apart from that, the picture is simply more crisp and sharp now... but an improvement over the DVD all the same.

Sound: 8/10. I would give the sound an 8 simply because I wasn't too sure at all about the quality in some spots of the film. Overall though, it isn't too much of a problem and I would genuinely ask that you do not take my word for that in the slightest. A solid transfer, overall!

To conclude, Armageddon is, for me, one of the best films of all time and was an exemplary upgrade to Blu Ray over DVD. However, there was one flaw that I did notice with my version. It concerns scenes I recall from the DVD that were not here on this Blu Ray release... so that is worth noting, I feel. This Blu Ray release may not be the full cut... either way, it isn't a big issue.

Buy it. Enjoy.

Thanks for reading this. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Get off the nuclear warhead!", 26 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Armageddon [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film never gets old and one you can always enjoy.

A very heart warming story and great enviroments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For All Willis Fans and More, 29 Oct. 2003
This DVD is a msut for all fan of Willis who have not yet purchased these four films, but it also offers a lot to just movie-fans in general. All four films are worth getting on DVD and are neatly and handily packaged in a DVD box set. All four are arguably some of Willis' best films, and a re certainly the four that have been box office hits with the paying public.
The Sixth Sense was simply a cinema master-piece and really revieved Willis from a grey patch in his career. The plot, the storyline and the introduction of a young Hayley Joel Osmon make a movie which delivers so much and leaves you on the edge of your seat right till the end. The twist was spectacular and really was a brilliant film from start to finish. Unbreakable was from the same director and in a subtle way, the same kind of film with a 'big and shocking twist' as the finale. Even though it was still an exciting thriller it lost the edge that sixth sense had via losing the originality. For me Armaggedon is a great film, even though it rates high on the cheese factor it's a powerful tear-jerker that has the pulse racing as Willis and his team are sent to drill a hole into an astroid to save all of mankind. Not only that but there is able support from Ben Affleck and Billy Bob Thorton, plus a great sound-track from Aerosmith. Finally a true cinema classic with Die Hard...Bruce Willis fights crime with a white vest and gets down and dirty to save lives and look out for himself at the same time.
All in all, for just over twenty pounds, this is a great bargain and a great chance to own some cinema classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Armageddon [DVD]
Armageddon [DVD] by Michael Bay (DVD - 2010)
£5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews