Customer Reviews


267 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (63)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable mixed up muddle full of weirdness and silly twists
Anyone expecting a coherent third instalment of the Pirate's series will likely be very disappointed!

All the ingredients are here yet the finished product doesn't quite work. It's like the whole is LESS than the sum of the parts.

The start of the story revolves around finding Jack and bringing him back from Davy Jones' locker which ultimately leads...
Published on 24 Jan 2008 by brainleek007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars
This film is amazing and is not the end to the series of movies as Pirates of the Caribbean 4 is being written now.
Pirates of the Caribbean 3 is one of the highest budget films ever! and lets face it how could it not be after Pirates 2, which was only the 3rd film in Hollywood history to make over a billion profit. This puts the film at the top with such films as...
Published on 3 July 2010 by Rebecca


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars, 3 July 2010
By 
This film is amazing and is not the end to the series of movies as Pirates of the Caribbean 4 is being written now.
Pirates of the Caribbean 3 is one of the highest budget films ever! and lets face it how could it not be after Pirates 2, which was only the 3rd film in Hollywood history to make over a billion profit. This puts the film at the top with such films as Titanic and more recently the dark knight.

The film closes some of the story lines and opens up some new ones to carry on through the 4th film.
The movie was certainly the funniest in the series and definitely pushes the development in the characters. It can get a bit confusing through the movie, but after the 1st time you watch it you shouldn't have any problems following the plot!
The performances in the movie are great. Johnny Depp makes the film what it is, and is amazing as captain Jack Sparrow. He gives a knockout performance in these films, and should have got an award for best actor in them. The love story between Keira Knightley's character and Orlando Blooms character brings it's own elements to the storyline too, and is used to pace some of the action out.
. Naomi Harris is great in the film and plays the Kalipso with a lot of energy. She is a great actress and is one to watch. She has two great films behind her with this and 28 days later.
All other parts in the film were acted out great too.
The film is visually spectacular and has great cinematography a great story that can be enjoyed over and over again. The dialog is great, and is very enjoyable. The music is great and can become a little repetitive like the second film.
The trailer for this film is great and if the you don't want to watch the film after seeing the it then i don't know whats wrong with you.
The DVD product is great too. A lot of special Features that really allow you to see how Gore Verbinski went about directing the film. The only con about the film is that the fight scene at the end does go on for quite a long time and you could find the fight become a bit dry and dragged out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lost Pirates In High Def, 20 April 2010
By 
The third installment At World's End is an excellent quality picture transfer to Blu Ray, however this does not make up for the rather poor story line, which is quite simply stupid. They have totally lost the plot in there direction with this Pirate Saga, which is a shame because I thought myself that the Dead Man's Chest was really good, and by far the best of all 3 films. The HD sound format of PCM 5.1 is also poor in contrast to the first 2 films, no great detail or attention as been applied to it, its as if they have rushed the whole production of this film. 2 stars here from me, though the picture quality is worthy of 5 without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Editor needed, 6 Sep 2008
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Sequels can get very self-absorbed but this one is chiefly notable for its excessive length, one begins to lose the will to listen after 40 minutes (so the plot appears unclear) and after an hour one hopes the heroes will be wiped out to allow us all to escape. I gave up in the end. Surely it could have been punchier than this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable mixed up muddle full of weirdness and silly twists, 24 Jan 2008
By 
brainleek007 (Bracknell) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Anyone expecting a coherent third instalment of the Pirate's series will likely be very disappointed!

All the ingredients are here yet the finished product doesn't quite work. It's like the whole is LESS than the sum of the parts.

The start of the story revolves around finding Jack and bringing him back from Davy Jones' locker which ultimately leads to one of the oddest scenes I've scene in recent film history! I think the only reason this film works at all is because of Johnny Depp. His portrayal of Jack Sparrow (sorry, CAPTAIN Jack Sparrow) is very watchable and he's just so funny in this film. Everyone else is merely supporting him in various states of wooden-ness. Sorry but Orlando just doesn't cut it in this film, nor does Kiera. Sure they both look pretty but neither can hold a torch to Johnny Depp who's quite clearly having a ball. Of course that's just my opinion.

So why 4 stars? Well, however I turn it I can't help but enjoy the film for all it's faults. If you switch your brain off and don't take it too seriously, which, let's face it, won't be too hard then the film is thoroughly enjoyable. The story is all over the show and the twists and turns come thick and fast and I found it impossible to figure out who's crossing who most of the time!

The cast is top notch though apart from the two offenders I mentioned earlier :p. The two pirates from the first two films (the one with the wooden eye and his pal) provide plenty of comedy relief when Johnny Depp isn't running the show.

Being on Bluray the picture quality is simply outstanding. The detail level on a full HD set is simply incredible - these discs really are fantastic when done correctly. It's like the jump from VHS to DVD all over again for me. The resolution is so high that when you see film grain, like you do in this film, it's because the disc authors intend you to see it to retain the more organic feel of the original film stock, not because the media can't actually output a pristine clear picture like older formats. There's an uncompressed 5.1 PCM soundtrack which seems louder and more punchy than the standard Dolby Digital 5.1. Both are great and round out the top class presentation.

A separate mention must also be made of the special effects which are really top class throughout the film. Especially on Davy Jones himself who displays incredible detail. Full HD really lets you enjoy them to the max.

So all in all if you like the Pirates film as I do then buy it without reservation. There will be something here to please you although it's not, I feel, as good as it could have been!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Movie: 3.5/5 Picture Quality: 4.5~5/5 Sound Quality: 4.75/5 Extras: 4/5, 29 Aug 2008
Version: U.S.A / Region A (Disc One) / Region Free (Disc Two)
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1
MPEG-4 AVC BD-50
Running time: 2:48:31
Movie size: 41,492,533,248 bytes
Disc size: 45,035,768,044 bytes
Average Video Bit Rate: 22.14 Mbps
LPCM 5.1 6912Kbps (6.9 Mbps/ 24-bit)
DD AC3 5.1 640Kbps English / French / Spanish
Subtitles: English SDH / French / Spanish

#Bloopers of the Caribbean (Disc-one)
#Inside The Maelstrom
#Anatomy of a Scene - The Maelstrom
#Masters of Design
#The Tale of Many Jacks
#The World of Chow Yun Fat
#Keith and the Captain
#The Pirate Maestro - The Music of Hans Zimmer
#Hoist The Colors
#Inside The Brethern Court
#Deleted Scenes
#Trailers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Funny and Entertaining, 24 Nov 2007
I found Pirates 3 to be a far more satisfying viewing experience than the previous two films in the trilogy. The mood is much darker and grittier than One or Two, apparent from the opening scenes which feature graphic (for a Disney/12 Cert film) mass executions as large numbers of pirates and their associates - including women and children - queue up for the gallows.

This is followed by an almost surreal voyage beyond "World's End", lots of mysticism and rather less in the way of pirate yo ho ho and silliness that made the first two movies rather cliched. All the characters have their own agendas, everyone is double crossing everyone else and the producers have no qualms about killing off several characters as the movie progresses.

The battle scenes are quite graphic - not particularly bloody or gory, but certainly more violent than before and, again, people die on both sides.

The Blu-Ray transfer is superb, crystal clear picture on the Sony PS3 to a Hitachi plasma screen. The movie would really have benefited from a DTS soundtrack but the Dolby Digital 5:1 does a fair job. The music score from Hans Zimmer really immerses you in the action and at times is quite moving.

This is a long film at around 161 mins and could probably have benefited from a bit of pruning. However it is a credit to the story and production that things never really flag and you are not looking at the clock as with some longer movies.

Buy, Buy, Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow and meandering, 19 Jan 2009
Oh dear. I loved the first two movies. But they literally lost the plot with this one. The main characters seem to change their motivation with the slightest provocation. So they keep haring off on yet another CGI-packed sequence without us really caring about why they're doing it. And you lose track of how many times this happens because the whole movie just seems to drag on forever. By the end of it, you feel like you've crossed the international dateline and gone without sleep for 48 hours. By then you will have forgotten why you cared about any of these characters in the first place.

Johnny Depp is still very amusing, convincing, and reluctantly swashbuckling. He's brilliant in fact. And so are the other lead performers. But none of them can rescue that cobbled together script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pirates of Boredom better yet - Yawwwwnnnnn!, 6 Sep 2009
By 
J. Moher (Auckland, NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Is it just me or is this movie the longest, dreariest yawn fest in recent times that relies almost entirely on constant special effects and supposedly dramatic and/or exotic scene settings to hold your attention...? Having not seen the movie before I (perhaps foolishly) purchased it on Blu-ray to watch... I was just wishing it would hurry up and end after it had seemingly gone on for ages and when I checked the running time I was actually only about 40% through...!!! This really is a prime example of a movie that is carried solely by SFX and has a very poor script, average acting, and unimaginative directing. While PotC 1 (Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse Of The Black Pearl [Blu-ray] [2003]) was fresh & interesting, sequels 2 & 3 have turned out to be very formulaic, unimaginative, and exceedingly long boring demos for the SFX company! The higher the number the th elower the script & acting quality. While the picture quality & soundtrack on Blu-ray is excellent you'll want to make sure you hire before you buy - you probably won't want to waste money owning this one in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!!!, 22 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. J. P. Bath (Somerset.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this film from start to finish and was amazed by the outstanding hi def picture quality. The best part for me was when you first see Jack in Davy Jones Locker, the picture is so bright and you can see every single little piece of detail so clearly! Also watching it with surround sound speakers you get really involved (just like your on board the Black Pearl!.) Also the last scene with Jack and scene after the credits (shall not say what happens, you will have to watch the movie) leaves an opening for a forth movie, which I have read the writers are keen to start but say it shall not be for several years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 40 Lashes, For every Sea Dog in this Pantomime!, 29 Jan 2008
By 
D. Wright (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh, where to start? This movie has a silly over-boiled plot, action sequences as thrilling as crown green bowling, terrible dialogue & wooden acting.

Boy, does this movie love its own mythology! This is a dire offering.

By the middle of the movie, I wanted the film to end with the entire cast in a blood red sea screaming as shark fins plough towards them. By the real end, I wish the crew had followed them into my ending.

Off the plank, you scurvy dogs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pirates of the Carribean: At World's End [DVD]
Pirates of the Carribean: At World's End [DVD] by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2010)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews