Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange but great
This is an unusual film, but all the better for it. If you have a dry, slightly offbeat sense of humour then this film will be perfect for you. Bill Murray is typically brilliant to watch and the rest of the cast add talent and flair to their roles. Yes it is kooky, and yes it is a little slow at times, but it is original and different and I love it for that alone...
Published on 24 Sep 2006 by Spider Monkey

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... think this may possibly be one of the first worst films ever made featuring a cast of generally very ...
I think this may possibly be one of the first worst films ever made featuring a cast of generally very accomplished actors. It would appear that every member of the cast was told by the director to play "deadpan" throughout. The result is a totally unengaging, drama-less, piece of nothingness and nonsense that seeks to rely on audiences finding Bill Murray's...
Published 1 month ago by Skylark


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange but great, 24 Sep 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an unusual film, but all the better for it. If you have a dry, slightly offbeat sense of humour then this film will be perfect for you. Bill Murray is typically brilliant to watch and the rest of the cast add talent and flair to their roles. Yes it is kooky, and yes it is a little slow at times, but it is original and different and I love it for that alone. Give it a try, you've nothing to lose.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange and Beautiful, 17 April 2007
This is one of those movies, like Lost in Translation or Eternal Sunshine, that you are either going to love or hate. I don't think it will allow a middle ground. As such it's maybe one to rent before you buy.

It's also one of those films that are about nothing and everything all at the same time. So, at once, it's a fable about friendship, the difficulties (and rewards) of marriage, the insidious nature of professional jealousy, the pain and joy of fatherhood. But it's also about pursuing a dream in the face of ridicule. It's about camaraderie, bravery and foolhardiness.

But, arguably, it's also a critique on the sort of men who never grow up and who, metaphorically, will forever yearn to be the omniscient captain of a boat, venturing to sea to hide from their responsibilities and commitments.

And, then again, it's about the hunt for a great big fish.

Strange and beautiful. Frustrating and mystifying. Elegant and elegiac. Surreal and realistic. All of these things and none of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strange, very strange, 7 Dec 2006
By 
ian laybourn (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i absolutely loved it. although i am a massive bill murray fan. still not completely sure wot the point of the film is. murray is excellent, the rest of the cast are great and the music is inspired. give me a red hat and some speedos. watch it. you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I must protest!, 10 Aug 2006
By 
Mrs. S. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't normally review DVDs, but having read the other reviews I feel very strongly that I must stand up for this lovely film. Like Wes Anderson's other masterpiece "The Royal Tennenbaums", this film defies categorisation: if you are looking for a straigtforward action, drama, comedy or romance, you will probably be disappointed, yet this film contains all of those elements and a great deal more, and who wants straightforward anyway? I found the film beautiful, touching, lyrical, astute and very, very funny. If you can appreciate it's unique visual language and subtle humour, you will be richly rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy it., 19 Feb 2006
This film is fantastic. missed it in the cinema, finally got around to being persuaded to watch it on dvd this evening, and am just about to buy it an hour later. Its just awesome. Very subtle at times, but still really nice audio and visual gags, completely over the top and brilliantly stupid at others. Everyone is perfect in this. no-one completely steals the show, because it seems everyone manages too at different times. perfect silly/feel good/want-to-be-an-old-adventurer-taking-on-the-world inducing stuff. just buy it, watch it, and then find yourself some speedos and a red hat. relax and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Taste Worth Acquiring, 25 April 2007
By 
pjr (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Let's start by saying if you only like Bill Murray in "Ghostbusters" then this probably isn't for you. If you like deadpan dry humour with a truly quirky view of the world then it probably is. This was the first Wes Anderson film I saw and I have since seen "Rushmore" which I also like. This really is something else, however.

From the opening shot of the strange cut open boat you should be prepared for something different. There's plenty here to enjoy. The cast is uniformly good and whilst it's not a laugh out loud kind of movie it does manage to be quite funny at times. Too many good performances here to pick out many but Owen Wilson is effectively dorky and Angelica Houston manages to out-deadpan Bill Murray which is quite a feat. Additionally you also have the wonderful Seu Jorge interpreting Bowie songs in all manner of places. Incidentally, if you buy the 2 disc set and you can watch the full performances of each of the songs too.

I really enjoyed this film and freely admit it includes a good many ingredients I enjoy in a movie - some of which I've listed above - and would recommend it to anyone who likes something a little different. It is a slow paced quietly funny film which demands your patience. An acquired taste, but one well worth acquiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly charming, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Wes Anderson's other films you won't be disappointed with this, it's brilliant. If you're not familiar with his work but like a film that's charming and a little different then this may be up your street. Just don't expect a conventional story arc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Order your red cap and speedo's, 22 Oct 2006
By 
This film is most definitely not made for the mainstream, however it has to be ranked as one of the best films of recent years. A strong cast with Wes Anderson at the helm, the pace is somewhat sluggish but this is only beneficial to the quirky and unusual nature of the film. Bill Murray leads his team on the quest to find the Jaguarshark that killed his working partner. Along the way he must come to terms with the arrival of what may possibly be his son (Owen Wilson), derision from a journalist along for the ride and some joyful competitiveness with his rival in both work and love (Jeff Goldblum). The imagery is striking and the narrative is bittersweet and effecting. For those of the necessary disposition this will be one of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a very good film, 29 Aug 2006
I had to write a review for this film because of the other reviews I've just read. Non of them mention 1 very important aspect of this film.

Yes it's quirky and yes it is very funny, but it is also a very emotive film. I don't cry often, being a big butch man, but this film has made me cry - twice. (The only other film that has succeeded in doing this is the big lebouski, when they scatter Donny's ashes).

So, if you like to laugh and like your films shot with imagination with very real characters, no matter how unbelievable the situations they are placed, then watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... think this may possibly be one of the first worst films ever made featuring a cast of generally very ..., 21 July 2014
I think this may possibly be one of the first worst films ever made featuring a cast of generally very accomplished actors. It would appear that every member of the cast was told by the director to play "deadpan" throughout. The result is a totally unengaging, drama-less, piece of nothingness and nonsense that seeks to rely on audiences finding Bill Murray's character's "deadpan" (read "unreactive") behaviour hilarious. I guess there might be some people, probably in the United States, who think that a "drama" lacking in intention and the exposition of tension is nevertheless gripping. I think it moronic.

We gave this film every opportunity, enduring it for 1 hour and 45 minutes although after the first 15 minutes we were shocked by the lack of engagement and considered bringing it to a halt. Even if something extraordinary happens in the final 15 minutes (the film is 2 hours long), it cannot possibly redeem the tedium of all that goes before.

It's as if the director said, "Listen, actors! We're gonna have fun! You're NOT going to act, OK? You're NOT going to produce drama, OK? You're NOT going to be normal human beings, OK? We're going to dare to present a film which is hollow from beginning to end! It'll be great! It'll be, like, TOTALLY DIFFERENT!"

Well, it is "totally different" but great it is not. Instead, it's a tragic waste of talented actors' skills, not to mention time, energy, and the money it cost to produce.

I've seen 100s and 100s of fine films, and this is the worst I've encountered. I cannot recall why I put this film into my DVD club selection. Some lunatic critic somewhere must have recommended it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou [DVD]
The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou [DVD] by Wes Anderson (DVD - 2010)
4.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews