Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but adored
This is one of those movies that polarises opinion. You either get it and love it, get it and hate it or don't get it at all and wonder what the point of it is.

My advice is if you haven't seen the film and intend to do so, DO NOT READ THESE REVIEWS. Far too much is given away in some of them. It is much better to sit down and watch it with no concept of what...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Gaffer_75

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER TIME TWIST THING
Let's say you could live your life over again, would you change anything knowing the outcome is going to be a disaster? You would, but who would watch the movie?

This movie plays on a theme used in "Twilight Zone" episodes and various movies since the 1950's: Where the person sees themselves and integrates their present action to duplicate what has happened in...
Published 6 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but adored, 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those movies that polarises opinion. You either get it and love it, get it and hate it or don't get it at all and wonder what the point of it is.

My advice is if you haven't seen the film and intend to do so, DO NOT READ THESE REVIEWS. Far too much is given away in some of them. It is much better to sit down and watch it with no concept of what is to come. Make up your own mind, one opinion is worth no more than the next, despite what some self-aggrandising critics and reviewers seem to think.

If you haven't seen it, this is all you really need to know. Troubled single mum and coffee shop waitress Melissa George is persuaded by an admirer to join him and some of his friends on board his yacht for a day's sailing off the Miami coast. While at sea, a strange storm capsizes the yacht with one of the party missing, presumed dead. When a passing cruise liner picks them up, they believe they are saved. But once on board, George's character gets one of those "deja vu" moments...

***SPOILERS***

As others have said, this is a film which rewards a second viewing. For instance, the drum in the ship's ballroom is exactly the same as the drum being used by the boy at the car crash scene, something I only noticed second time round. This sort of attention to detail adds to the "dream-like" quality of the story.

Of course the big flaw is the fact that George's character seems to remember certain things but not others. This appears to be explained away by the fact that when she falls asleep her memory is in effect "re-set" and she can only recall the odd moment through deja vu. Convenient! This happens once on board the yacht when she dreams about being washed up on the beach and once in the taxi on the way to the harbour, which explains why she doesn't properly recognise her fellow passengers.

The role of the cab driver as gatekeeper isn't exactly subtle, but it's a good line when he says "I'll leave the meter running - you do promise you'll be back..." I saw on another website one viewer asking why she didn't just get out of the taxi and go the cinema to break the cycle. But of course the point is that her single motivation is to try and stop her son's death. The cab driver himself taunts her at the crash scene by saying there's nothing anyone can do to bring the boy back and she clearly resolves to re-board the yacht to prove that she CAN.

The references to the mythology explicitly covered in the movie courtesy of the helpful poster on board the ship are well covered in other reviews. This is her living hell as punishment for killing her son and she's destined to go through it for eternity. A great idea, although the execution is far from original. The Spanish thriller Timecrimes (highly recommended) explores the same time-loop idea, while Memento is similarly layered and of course there are many similarities to The Shining.

If you've ever watched the old Dawn French series "Murder Most Horrid" there is an episode with Jim Broadbent where her character creates a time machine and uses it to try and stop herself from killing her husband. Some of the ideas are incredibly similar to what is seen in Triangle. We see the same conversation and action take place several times from different perspectives. In Triangle this is taken to extremes and is perhaps one of the movie's biggest flaws. It feels a bit like the director is trying to pad out the movie by showing us the same thing again and again in full.

But Christopher Smith deserves credit. This movie is a quantum leap forward from previous efforts Creep and Severance. Many people will hate it as the litany of one star reviews shows and I can understand why some viewers would feel frustrated by the story. But I always feel any movie that makes you think and discuss afterwards should be applauded. For me it has a satisfactory conclusion and there are some genuinely shocking moments (the pile of bodies on the ship being one that particularly stands out).

The sound and picture quality are excellent, George is solid and occasionally very good in the lead role and while there are a couple of dodgy accent moments from the Australian cast playing Americans, overall the acting and script are sound. It's not a traditional horror movie, far from it, it's much more of a psychological thriller with the odd bit of gore. I very much enjoyed it and would recommend it to fans of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly clever and engaging, 9 Oct 2012
By 
Jwr Davis "PaddyGoo" (plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
I wish I'd watched this film sooner, and Mark Kermode the film critic was right, it's a cracker of a film, a trite description would be to call it The Shining meets Groundhog Day at sea. It's a smart, scary and unpredictable film. You can tell it's smart by the number of people who gave it 1 star because they didn't understand it - I'll say one thing to these people, don't bother with Inception, Adjustment Bureau, Source Code or Memento either - stick to The Fast and The Furious and other films that don't require you to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A confusing ending, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
The first thing I'll say is the american accents are very poorly done by the australian actors. However the leading lady melissa george does a good job of her american accent and acting. Never did i believe the characters were american. The film is set in america, but it didn't feel like it. It was actually filmed in australia. The film has a low budget feel to it. Why did they bother with the fake accents and fake setting. The film would have been better. Interesting film and story idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome film, with a lot of unexpected twists and turns in the plot!!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant film, definitely worth a watch! if you haven't seen this film before, i suggest you don't watch the trailer fist because it is a massive spoiler.. it will basically tell you everything that is going to happen throughout the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
Great Movie, when i first watched it the ending blew my mind away, glad i got it so cheap online because there was no copies left on the high street, and came within the second day of purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless!, 12 Nov 2011
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely beautiful film.
The amount of attention placed into the script, acting, and cinematography is just gorgeous. I won't comment on the film itself, as I wouldn't dare give away any spoilers [although that in itself is a challenge given the nature of how trippy and existential the movie is!]

It advertises itself from the trailer like a generic crappy horror movie, but it is far from it. It has been literally years since I've seen anything that has been written with such depth and tension as Triangle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goes to show that sometimes true gems certainly do go unnoticed, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Quaddy (club tech-noir) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triangle [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
what a great piece of filmaking, not so far removed from something that chris nolan would bring to screen in terms of the intricacy and years of development and mind bending cleverness, surely i dont overstate by much, if at all

this would certainly make my dream night of sitting in front of the big screen tv with some popcorn with friends for a thoroughly time loop themed night

a trio of films would follow, a PRIMER to begin with, followed by a TRIANGLE, and then a dash of TIMECRIMES for good measure

thank god this film was made and that there are others like it

brilliant, a film that scales well with its audience, meaning, if you want to watch it in an unnatached way you can, and its a good little thriller, but if you are someone who wants to invest a little bit of intelligent involvement in it, then you will be richly rewarded with the subtle symbols, clues, and red herrings and can find different theories to indulge the film theorist in you

one of my favourite films for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Triangle" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Problems With The `US' Disc..., 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The time-bending got-on-the-ship-from-Hell slasher flick "Triangle" (starring the scrumptious Melissa George of the superb "In Treatment" and "Hunted" TV Series) has built up a bit of a cult audience - and even sported different sleeves in different regions.

However UK fans should be aware that the `US' BLU RAY on First Look is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Stick with the relatively cheap UK variant and at least you'll be able to ward off those techno ghoulies without having to resort to an axe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER TIME TWIST THING, 12 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
Let's say you could live your life over again, would you change anything knowing the outcome is going to be a disaster? You would, but who would watch the movie?

This movie plays on a theme used in "Twilight Zone" episodes and various movies since the 1950's: Where the person sees themselves and integrates their present action to duplicate what has happened in the past. While it was done well in this movie, it didn't stand out as compared to others.

Did anyone else notice that Melissa George got augmentations after the movie to pose for the cover? The movie drops the F-bomb a few times, but is not bogged down with swearing. It has killing and blood, but spares us gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but still worth a watch., 17 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. P. Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triangle [DVD] (DVD)
Get this for a good price, and you will be satisfied with a routine shocker that is no great innovator, but does what it does well. Melissa George is nice to look at, and gives a professional portrayal of a damsel in great distress. The nice slant of repetitive story-lines, slightly changing in a time shift, has been done before, and done better. This one is perhaps more accessible than some of the others, so worth a try to get you used to the process. Then you can watch the superior efforts, like 'Timecrimes', later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b16150)

This product

Triangle [DVD]
Triangle [DVD] by Henry Nixon (DVD - 2010)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews