Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could have been longer, 20 April 2010
By 
Andy K (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because my father used to fly Sunderlands and was based in Seletar. Enjoyed it, just wished it had been longer, there must be more footage out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Short Sunderland Flying Boat DVD (Delta), 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
As an American RAF enthusiast, my opportunity to view film footage of RAF aircraft at better than YouTube quality is rare, so I frequently purchase DVDs from the UK. This production is quite well done, and I would reccomend it to anyone interested in the Sunderland, flying boats, the Short company, and RAF Coastal Command. Much great archival footage, my reason for ordering such DVDs, is abundant, and the script is accurate and well put together.

The interview segments were very interesting, but could have been intercut with more B-roll rather than just locking down the camera on the speaker for interminable periods. One of the elderly gents interviewed experiences a rather unfortunate but quite humorous comb-over malfunction caused by a gentle breeze. Having worked on many video crews I found it surprising that the producers did not cut and fix the poor fellow's hair before proceeding with the interview.

The only down side to this program is the use of extended sequences of the world's last remaining flyable Sunderland (a modified airline version now in Florida with Kermit Weeks), set to absolutely tragic music. I would have liked to see much more archival footage, which, though expensive, does exist. While the production would have been incomplete if mention of the Fantasy of Flight Sunderland had been absent, I felt that the hour was unnecessarily filled up with these nicely shot but overly lengthy sequences.

All in all, however, this DVD is worth watching if you are interested in this classic British flying boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Flying Porcupine, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely to see footage of wonderful aeroplane which was flying before I was born and to learn more about the bravery of the men who flew them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good documentary, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
this covers the Short Sunderland quite well, although I would have liked a bit more on the construction and layout of the aircraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Boats - Short Brothers, etc, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
Have always had a fascination with flying boats of all types, but especially those made by Shorts at Rochester.

A bygone era - luxury living and travel for the minority, what a way to go!

Also a wonderful and efficient workhorse during WWII. Anyone interested in the 30's and 40's should find this account fascinating and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
Good piece of air force history, nicely presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good clips., 17 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
Although there is a lot of footage of the civilianised and only airworthy version of the Sunderland, there is quite a bit of the 'real thing' in b & w.
Interesting comments from ex-aircrew.
Pity about the cringeworthy pronunciation of RAF Seletar as 'Cellar-Tar' it is, as all ex FEAF types know, 'Sell-ee-tar'!
And why do some English people ape some Americans and talk of 'Kill-OM-etters'? Do they say, 'Kill-OG-rams' as well?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD] (DVD)
The Short Sunderland Flying Boat Operational service through the Second World War and the only RAF air craft to preform front-line duties of the whole of the Korean war, the Sunderland was one of the very few types to remain in operational service from 1938- to retirement in 1959. when I built my airfix kit when I was a young boy there was hardly any film material avialable to see these magnificant planes doing their work. this is an Excellent DVD. Also I would thourougly suggest the Excellent magazine SUNDERLAND THE RAF'S LEGENDARY PROTECTOR OF THE SEA LANES ISBN 978-1-907426-28-5 7.95 [...]
wayne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Short Sunderland Flying Boat [DVD]
7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews