Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic genius
I bought this movie because I love Simon Farnaby, and he does not dissapoint. This film is worth seeing just for the artwork in it. The sets are beautifully and artfully constructed from everything from newspaper to glass bottles, and the effect is a dreamy and surreal film which at the same time is delightfully funny and touching. I'd highly recommend it.
Published on 8 July 2010 by Samantha

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmmm
This was 'interesting' to watch, but a little too surreal, weird and wacky for me.
It's not what I'd call 'laugh out loud' comedy...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. G. A. Neumann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic genius, 8 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie because I love Simon Farnaby, and he does not dissapoint. This film is worth seeing just for the artwork in it. The sets are beautifully and artfully constructed from everything from newspaper to glass bottles, and the effect is a dreamy and surreal film which at the same time is delightfully funny and touching. I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boosh haters, never fear!, 12 April 2010
By 
Rambleast Reviews (Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit, given the people involved and the reports of back projection and newspaper sets, I was reasonably worried this would be nothing more than a big screen version of The Mighty Boosh, but I was driven to see it by a flood of fond reviews, and I'm glad I did.

There's a fair amount of comedy in the movie (most of it courtesy of Simon Farnaby, the British Kramer as far as I'm concerned) but a fair amount of drama too. The approach is novel but never a novelty, with the memories of Stephen (an impossible-to-dislike Edward Hogg) played out in surreal fantasy as he's prompted to them by artifacts in his rarely-left home. Essentially, the film is a road trip across Europe, with involvement from curious characters and the sort of amusing threats you'd associate with such a film. Of the cast, most impressive is Verónica Echegui, a barely contained Spanish dynamo of hilarity.

I'd rather keep any other specifics out of the review, as to see it fresh as I did is surely the most enjoyable way. I can say that if you're a curious fan of The Mighty Boosh, you're bound to enjoy it, but writer/ director Paul King's achievement is making it appealing to people outside that group as well, as a proper, heartfelt film and not just a selection of wacky sketches and funny voices. The DVD features a decent selection of extras including interviews with the leads and King, and a Shaun Of The Dead-esque flipchart feature.

A pleasant surprise, and an earnest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative trip around europe., 25 Jun 2010
Paul King's debut feature is a very interesting and imaginative journey around europe with a quirky couple of backpackers. The visual style of the film is very much in the same vein as a Michel Gondry film, but without it feeling 'borrowed'.
I always feel that managing the expectations of a film is key to getting the right people to see it. This isn't American Pie. It isn't even the Mighty Boosh, but it is funny. It is kind of slow, so be ready for that, however I loved it - and Simon Farnaby is brilliant as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bunny and the Bull, 23 Aug 2010
I recently bought a copy of Bunny and the bull on Blu-ray. the story line is amazing and considering it had a low budget the effects (some of which are pretty special) make the film quirky, funny and definitely worth checking out. even though the film is crammed with comic material the genre of the film has to be classified as a Drama, once you get over the funny blanket that is thrown over the film it does feature a very touching story, this i think I'll leave you to find out yourself. cast wise the film often chucks in channel 4 comedians from the Mighty Boosh, the I.T. Crowed and many others. If you get the chance and have some free dosh I think you should get this movie. you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paul king is a genius, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. I ordered it by chance but was amazed by that wonderful story.
I love the plot and above all the somehow simple but incredebly lovely sets and the cuts like the one from the exterior of the snow-ball- thing into the interior!
You have to keep an eye on Paul King, the director, I guess he might be one of Britain's star directors in the future!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic film, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is just as weird and strange as The Mighty Boosh was! There is more depth to it than the TV show though, and Simon Farnaby as Bull steals the show; he is just hilarious. A must watch for Boosh fans, though if you haven't watched these types of shows before, you might not get the quirkiness of it - it is bizarro land!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BOWZIN BOWZIN.....FUNTIME..., 11 Sep 2010
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
This has The Mighty Boosh all over it from actors to directors. Though, it is not as random and very watered down with a more ardent approach. Two mates go on a road trip in Europe. One of them is more focused on the central world (he can count a mile in his head) and the other man likes being the centre of the world (he will do pretty much anything). They go on a road trip and want to get and prove something for their venture. And some weird things happen.

Its a real collaboration of two worlds, that are woven together perfectly in the backdrop of an exquisite landscape. A master piece, as a comedy and a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bunny And the bull, 19 May 2010
By 
J. M. Szulist "jolka" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny movie for Mighty Boosh big fans recomended!!! You ll love it people!
Fast delivery as usual from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
My copy of Bunny and the Bull arrived in the post just the other day and it was in perfect condition - even though it traveled half way round the world to get to me! This film is really quite delightful, and I think that people who are into that quirky kind of film will absolutely love this one. Although the story line is very sweet (for the most part), and quite predictable, I was certainly left with a surprise at the end of it. A great gift - especially for fans of The Mighty Boosh, and you'll be pleased to hear that Noel Fielding and Julian Barrat feature in this also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bizzarely good, 2 Mar 2011
By 
Miss E. Chambers "Hearts&Handcuffs" (Newcastle upon Tyne, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bunny & The Bull [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this because of the Boosh, i think it's weird how we were promised a Boosh film then this came out to confuse us. This really isn't about Boosh - and it's good that it isn't.

It's realllly low budget,the sets aren't real, there's no real effects - so if it's bells and whistles you're after then this isn't for you.

There's some really good acting in this, and a couple of funny moments, the chemistry between the characters is good and the storyline is great. It's cleverly put together and brilliantly explores Stephen's memories and what's going on inside his head. there's loads of special features with interviews with the main people, they explain what's going on and further expand on the story.

It's much darker than i was expecting, it's not a film to cheer you up, but it'll be a good addition to your dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab43bf30)

This product

Bunny & The Bull [DVD]
Bunny & The Bull [DVD] by Margaret Wheldon (DVD - 2010)
3.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews