Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD is NTSC Region 0, 27 Jan. 2010
By 
Grace Poole (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this thinking it was a PAL Region 2 DVD. When it arrived it said NTSC Region 0 (Worldwide). I emailed Amazon and they apologised for it being advertised as PAL and offered me a refund. But as it doesn't appear to be out on PAL, I took a risk and opened it and it DOES play on my DVD Player which plays NTSC Region 0. I think it will play on most modern players in UK that play NTSC and Region 0. Am very pleased it plays OK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2010 Welcomed in Vienna, 17 Jan. 2010
By 
John Austin "austinjr@bigpond.net.au" (Kangaroo Ground, Australia) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
Almost 70 years after the first of these new year concerts occurred comes this lavish 2010 production. The now familiar pattern was established by Austrian conductor Clemens Krauss. Here, for the second time, veteran Frenchman Georges Pretre. is the conductor.

Fast polkas and gallops are as dashing as one could wish, and the waltzes have never received such tender, loving treatment. I especially welcome the inclusion of "Wein, Weib und Gesung" with its introduction given in full - the longest and loveliest Johann Strauss Jnr provided for any of his waltzes.

While listening, you'll see acres of gold panelling, tonnes of gorgeous floral decoration, rows of giant chandeliers, some celebrities in the well-dressed audience, and occasional interiors of other Viennese buildings where the elegant dance sequences are filmed.

Otto Nicolai, the founder of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra is commemorated, there is a sizzling polka by Danish composer Lumbye, and an Offenbach overture which later became the Barcarolle from "The Tales of Hoffman" is included.

Amidst so much to enjoy, it seems that no one enjoys it more than the conductor, Georges Pretre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vienna New Year Concert 2010 DVD, 16 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
I had already watched the BBC2 tranmission of the New Year Concert 2010. the video does not give much improvement on the picture quality (although filmed in HD). However the whole Concert is recorded , not just part 2 after the interval as shown on BBC. also the sound quality is marginally better through HOme Theatre System. I was dissapointed that Decca are not doing a Blu-Ray version of the Concert as they did in 2009 ? . All in all, a worthwhile buy for Viennese Waltz fans., and Conductor George Pretre was, as usual, in fine form with the Vienna Philharmonic, who now have 2 female musicians !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Years Day Concert 2010, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
Anthony Spall (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
My father looks forward to the 1st January and the New Years Day Concert every year, he also looks forward to his Birthday in March when he recieves as a gift the DVD of the concert, this gets played along with the special features at least once a month, for the rest of the year until the next one is released...great concert and great DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and full of Gallic charm and joie de vivre, 16 Nov. 2011
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
Georges Pretre makes a particularly successful return to these Viennese concerts after his 2008 début. He is , of course, no stranger to the VPO having first conducted them in 1963 and this long association pays dividends in this concert.

This 2010 edition of the New Year's Day concert follows the well-tried and tested combination of mostly familiar items interspersed with a handful of new pieces. However, one item in particular from the program is worth mentioning for its historical significance and that is the Merry Wives Overture by Nicolai. Nicolai is of great significance to the orchestra because he is the one who was the founder of the VPO and each year the orchestra holds a 'Nicolai' concert to mark this event.

The concert is strikingly strong in Gallic charm and is full of the resultant 'joie de vivre' courtesy of Pretre. The pieces are played with vigour and are generally very lively throughout. Pretre himself has a clear affinity with the dance idiom and this is an invaluable asset in such a concert as this and the packed audience is fully appreciative of his contribution.

There is a selection of bonus material including the usual dance sequences which can therefore be viewed separately. There is also an interesting 19 minute wordless documentary which charts the preparations for this concert including behind the scenes activities relating to music and musicians, the dancers, the costumes for the dancers with emphasis on the designer, Valentino, plus footage showing the arrival and arrangement of the flowers, the cleaning of the hall and the extensive technical aspects to all matters to do with the filming of the event. There can be little doubt about the sheer range of talent, the cost and the skill of putting on such an entertainment.

The concert itself is well filmed with crisp and involving imaging in full colour and with excellent sound presented in wide ranging DTS 5.1 and stereo formats.

In my opinion this is a particularly strong entry in a very popular series and as such should give a great deal of pleasure to a great number of purchasers. It seems only reasonable to award it a full 5 stars therefore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest performances available on a DVD, 23 Dec. 2010
By 
Scott D. Richardson (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
I can not overstate how great this video is. I saw it on television when it was first performed on (of course) January 1, 2008 and thought it was outstanding then. It is that and even more so on this DVD! The commentary by Walter Cronkite (one of his last broadcasts) is missing but they still include the "extras" (dances performed and taped separately ) with it. I wish they could have also included the Cronkite performance as another "extra" but this remains a tremendous video. The Amazon UK DVD is best suited for playing on a Canadian or US video player (it is NTSC).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NEW YEARS CONCERT 201O, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
The year date is immaterial when these concerts are performed every year and no doubt millions of people tune in to this magnificent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert and well presented., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
We always watch the New Year Concert, it's part of the Xmas break. This was an excellent concert and will be watching it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. D. G. Gray (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
perfect condition and great music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Rudi Viszkok (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD] (DVD)
I love this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Year's Concert: 2010 - Vienna Philharmonic (Pretre) [DVD]
£14.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews