Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Blackmore's Night Album, 15 Feb 2011
By 
S. Duncan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
This was the first CD by Blackmore's Night I ever bought a good few years ago and it still comes out at regular intervals albeit on mp3 now. Ocean Gypsy is one of my favourite all time tracks with Candice's vocals and Ritchie's instrumentals working to perfection. Yes, it's *extremely* romantic, and don't go near this if you don't like mandolins :), but I love the mixture of folk and electric sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent album, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Alison Wooding (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I really appreciate this album for its artistry. Amazing musical skill is revealed in the stunning instrumentals, beautiful melodies and poetic lyrics! 'Shadow of the Moon' conveys a Celtic sound and spirit that feels timeless and transports you to other realms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shadow of the Moon: Blackmore's Night - Renaissance fare, 23 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Blackmore's Night, as anyone looking here probably knows, is a project from Rock God Ritchie Blackmore (he of Deep Purple and Rainbow fame) and his wife, Candice Night. They aim to fuse Blackmore's rock leanings with romantic medieval sounds. This is their first album, released in 1997.

It's an interesting idea, and largely works quite well. It comes over as music from a time when ladies wore those funny conical hats and gallant knights went off on quests, with a modern flavour courtesy of Blackmore's guitar. It's all very romantic, and at times flirts dangerously with tweeness, but in the main it all works out well, mainly because of the occasional flash of humour that suggests that not everyone involved is taking it totally seriously.

Especially welcome is the presence of Ian Anderson on flute for Play Minstrel Play. Instantly recognisable, his is a welcome presence on any record.

It's a promising debut album, and I shall be looking for more from this group in the hope that they mature a little and expand their material. 4 stars for this though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Trevor Bottomley "TrevB" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I heard the title track whilst listening to Last.fm, and thought 'Wow, this is great!'. Having then read the reviews on here, I was in no doubt about buying the CD. A blend of Elizabethan, folk and rock music, it's very easy listening music, and you can listen to this whatever mood you're in. Can't say there's any track I don't like - I love 'em all! I certainly want to purchase other CDs by Blackmore's Night, my only problem is which to buy next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not really a Shadow but the Full Moon, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Shrews_Tyke (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I bought this when it came out not knowing what it really was. When I played it for the first time it was a bit of a surprise to say the least. Not really what I was expecting, here was one of my guitar gods and what was he playing? On subsequent plays I got it, this was Ritchie playing what he liked and doing it extremely well not only that the singer was pretty good too. I have subsequently bought all of the CDs by Blackmore's Night and have thoroughly enjoyed every one of them. There have been many snide comments made at this band by people who obviously have their own agenda. Just listen with open ears and you will hear some of the best music Ritchie has ever made. As the years go on with subsequent releases Candice Nights vocals grow more confident and better. With Blackmore's Night Ritchie has played some of his best ever music. I love Deep Purple, and Rainbow and this is just another chapter in the Ritchie Blackmore story. Yes I may be biased, I went to see them live and they delivered that night too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the moon, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I've listened to Blackmore's Night snippets many time, and now decided to collect them all. I admire Ritchie Blackmore, his unique talent, musical visions and feels. I adore Candice' wonderful vocals which has similarities with ABBA's Agnetha and Anni-Frid, and then some Stevie Nicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Love Blackmore's Night. What more can I say, the music is haunting, the vocals are beautiful....will be buying more of their C.D's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relax and enjoy, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
The more you listen to it, the better it becomes.
The recording quality is excellent.
The result is that I ordered 5 other cd's from this group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blackmores Night |Fan, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I like anything by Ritchie and this is up to the usual high standard that one would expect, so not suprising that I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Great songs and textures to this album. Richie Blackmore and Candice Night sound excellent together. Some nice playing by Richie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6fae7a4)

This product

Shadow Of The Moon
Shadow Of The Moon by Blackmore's Night (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews