Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars39
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2010
The recent resurgence of electronic music has been an interesting one to observe. It has manifested itself in a variety of forms. Initially a few years ago there were artists like Klaxons, Shiny Toy Guns and CSS who balanced the use of guitars, synths and various effects and samples. Then more recently Friendly Fires and Late of the Pier continued the trend before it was overtaken by a plethora of female vocalists to varrying degrees of success. Now though Delphic are taking it back for the bands.

Their debut album, `Acolyte', has been heralded as "the first great album of the decade" and has been compared to early New Order. I am as of yet unconvinced by both of these statements, but it is none the less a good offering. The whole album does run on an almost constant high from start to finish with glittering synths and crisp vocal harmonies. But if you peel off this glossy pop film there is actually something quite interesting underneath. They haven't just confined themselves to making radio friendly chart fillers that could have been oh so simple. Instead there is more focus on the actual music that drives the whole the beast. `Red Lights' and the title track are both prime examples of this where the clicking and bouncing rhythms take centre stage for much of the track and the vocals are used more as an instrument. Obviously there are also moments of pure pop with tracks like `Doubt' but because of the quality of the music underneath these also stand up to scrutiny.

Delphic then have produced an intriguing album with many very nice moments of both pop, and intelligent dance. It is well worth a listen as gems can be found within.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2010
I stumbled across Delphic weeks ago after good reviews both from customer and critic alike, and I haven't been disappointed. Without a doubt this is the best collection of tracks released by one artist over the last few years. The album is euphoric to say the least. Its like listening to New Order and The Chemical Brothers all at once. Tracks like doubt and acolyte stand out obviously, but other tracks creep into your subconscious. Counterpoint builds, telling a tale, whilst the lead guitar leads you on. Halcyon has the energy of late nineties dance, but with the intelligence of, world (price of love). This is definitely a great album with a number of earlier influences, whilst at the same time sounding different to any album that I have heard before.
Definite must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
In the past I've bought albums because I liked a few of their songs and have been disappointed with the rest of the album before. I bought Acotyle for the same reason, hoping the same thing wouldn't happen again. It didn't. I bought it because of Doubt, This Momentary and Counterpoint. I've discovered they've done lots of other great songs too, Clarion Call and Halcyon for example. Some I liked better than Counterpoint. I can listen to the entire album without getting bored - it's great! Delphic are genius, I can't wait for their next album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
Too much has been made of Delphic's supposed debt to New Order . Sure their are echoes, but which British dance act of the past ten years hasn't been influenced by our most criminally under rated dance band? On 'Acolyte' Delphic show that they've got much more to offer than mere pastiche. Their debut rattles, shakes and pulsates to its own internal logic. Played loud it's a party on its own, played quiet it has the depth and subtely to keep bringing you back time and again. There's a real emotional pull to songs such as 'Submission' and the more upbeat songs like 'Acolyte' and 'This Momentary' get you on your feet.

Get yourself a big PA system, flick on the lasers and lose yourself in the euphoria.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
The chances are most people have bought this album on the strength of singles Doubt, Counterpoint and This Momentary. The albums good, but some of the songs around these three feel like filler. Submission for example, is just begging to be released as a single. The minute I heard it on the radio I liked it, though I didn't expect it to be Delphic, and to be honest when I found out it was Delphic I was a bit disappointed - it could in all honesty be any other band, and isn't consistent with the totally unique nature of the previous Delphic singles, or in fact the rest of the album. It's a good album, though calling it album of the year is a tad premature, and if nothing better arises in the next 11 months, 2010 will have been a distinctly average year for British music.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
I thought it had to be said. One track is very close to that band's 'Belfast' I think. After two rather promosing singles, the Delphic album itself is good (and better than, say, Unicorn, Chew Lips' first effort) but does not fulfill all the promises and is certainly not the gob-smacking best album of 2010 some reviewers think it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I needed little convincing about this very fine album.
One listen and I was hooked. It's addictive stuff!

The ten compositions in this collection form a
coherently uplifting sonic experience.

Messrs Boardman, Cocksedge, Cook and Hadley have
concocted a strong musical identity which manages
to combine the best of what they have learned from
the past with their own uniquely imaginative hallmark.

A dense but sharply-focussed amagamation of sparkling,
luminescent synths, driving dance-friendly rhythms and
intelligently constructed vocal melodies and harmonies.

The marvellous 'Red Lights' positively glows with
incandescent energy. Rushing along like a boisterous
puppy on a lead, it can barely contain itself!

The spirit of Pet Shop Boys occasionally smiles from the wings.
Both 'This Momentary' and the beautiful 'Acolyte' owe a
not insignificant debt to Mr Tennant and Mr Lowe's legacy
but the influence in worn lightly and with obvious affection.

'Counterpoint' is arguably the project's highpoint.
Each time I have listened to it my heart beats faster!
The raucous enthusiasm generated by this music is truly uplifting.
Chiming guitar, wildly clattering percussion, a madly spiraling
synth ostinato and the ecstatic central vocal performance catapault
this momentous composition out into the spaces between the stars!

Coming in at less that two minutes the dreamlike 'Ephemera' is,
none-the-less, a haunting and affecting little miniature.

Final track 'Remain' delivers yet another big tune and
winds up this terrific debut album in very fine style.

'Acolyte' is a startling achievement by any standards.
Delphic are to be warmly congratulated for their labours!

Essential.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Someone lent me this a few years ago and I thought it was a fabulous album. It reminded me of a modern New Order and there's some really decent tracks on there. At £3 to own it's a bargain and something that's still in my top 10 car CD player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
Good debut album,
but a bit repetitive and some of the songs tend to and an repeat themselves and repeat themselves and repeat themselves...
looking forward to next album.Hopeully a bit more honed down.
Wonderful potential in this band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
In a musical world where electronic guitary music seems to merge one song/band into the next, it's refreshingly and genuinely different from anything of the last couple of years. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)