Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bargain from BenQ
You'll not regret buying this monitor, do NOT be put off by the cheap price, it really is that much of a bargain. Image quality is top spec, with a DVI-D cable (which is no worse than HDMI except it doesn't carry sound, no problem here since this monitor doesn't have speakers). If you're using a TFT or LCD screen that's just a couple of years old you'll be wowed by the...
Published on 15 July 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for professional users
This is a great cheap 1080p monitor for the masses, but if you are involved with web or graphic design, or photography, give it a wide birth. This review is based on the monitor being connected to a Macbook Pro via DVI.

Being a TN panel, the viewing angle makes colour and gamma calibration impossible. Calibrate the lower half of the screen and the top half will...
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by D. Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bargain from BenQ, 15 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
You'll not regret buying this monitor, do NOT be put off by the cheap price, it really is that much of a bargain. Image quality is top spec, with a DVI-D cable (which is no worse than HDMI except it doesn't carry sound, no problem here since this monitor doesn't have speakers). If you're using a TFT or LCD screen that's just a couple of years old you'll be wowed by the difference this LED screen brings, it's so much sharper, with better contrasts and vivid colours. The bezel around the screen is one of the thinnest you'll see on a monitor of this size, though do be aware there is a slight protrusion for the buttons on the bottom.

The monitor is not height adjustable on the stand, though the orientation is adjustable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent monitor, 13 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
I bought this primarily for photography and video. The preset modes are really useful. There is an eco preset which reduces brightness to save electricity but is also very easy on the eyes. For photography there is an srgb mode which gives a very true interpretation of the photo as out of camera. (Need to set camera to shoot in srgb of course). The movie mode is excellent for watching DVD's and there is also a photo mode. I personally prefer srgb though. For gamers there is also a games mode. All this by just pressing one button.

If you don't like any of these you can also set it up manually. It's a lovely wide screen which allows you to see 2 windows side by side with ease. I have mine connected by DVI-D but it can also be connected by VGA if you don't have a DVI connector.

One little problem I had was when using Internet Explorer and Firefox. When typing into dialogue boxes on the web (forums etc) I had a shadow under the text (looking like a bar code). I tried everything to solve this but with no joy, until I tried a different browser. The problem didn't occur with Opera or Chrome. No one seems to be able to explain this - including Benq. Oh well I was getting fed up with Internet Explorer anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be any better!, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Mike Bradford "Mike" (North Yorkshire, England, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
This screen is incredible.

I've not had a problem at all with this screen, nothing but sheer satisfaction.

- Good looking

- Great contrast - colours are amazing, I can't stop my self from watching Avatar and Toy Story on this(sad I know but they're great looking films)

- Full HD

- Easy menus

What more could you want.

Building in speakers would really only be worth it if they were good quality. Quality costs money, especially with small speakers.

I think Benq have nailed this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value for money, 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
Pros:
Connecting with RGB lead to compact computer running xp
Full Hd 16:9 aspect very wide screen.
using monitor for looking at drawings and spreadsheets.

Surberb matt finish anti glare screen, good overall colour balance and very sharp picture.

using monitor on default settings in xp 1920 x 1080 anything less causes less picture quality. Very old graphics cards would be a no.

For the money this monitor gives an absolutley stunning picture quality even on old rgb socket.

Cons:

No height adjustment on stand. but stand has vesa mounting so you can use any vesa mounted stand or wall bracket.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for professional users, 4 Jun 2011
By 
D. Mitchell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
This is a great cheap 1080p monitor for the masses, but if you are involved with web or graphic design, or photography, give it a wide birth. This review is based on the monitor being connected to a Macbook Pro via DVI.

Being a TN panel, the viewing angle makes colour and gamma calibration impossible. Calibrate the lower half of the screen and the top half will be out be a mile, and vice versa. You could spend a day fiddling with calibration, adjust your seat, and it's all out.

Another major gripe is the sharpness setting. I don't understand why any display would require a sharpness setting. If you are sending a native 1920x1080 signal to the screen, it should be showing that exact pixel-for-pixel image. Well, this display does that, but has a sharpness control that makes the picture soft at setting 1, and artificially edgy at 5. And it's hard to tell if any of the intermediate settings are sharpness 'off', or just less blurry, or less sharp. And just to tease with what should be, the OSD (menu) is definitely 1:1 pixel mapped with no sharpening or softening!

BUT... the good news. If you are a gaming or just the the screen for MS Office and browsing, it's the screen for you. It has a fast response time, and Portal 2 looked great in native 1080p. You'll have more than enough screen space for any website, and you can easily have your facebook and twitter windows open together if you're social networking. So not all bad.

It might also be worth noting that the screen has no speakers. So don't let that catch you out.

Conclusion: Great for everyday tasks and gaming. No good for designers or photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BenQ Monitor, 12 Jan 2012
By 
J. Cawley "aka TheMaxonian" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
I bought this monitor at the end of lat year just before Christmas to replace my 21 inch Viwesonic monitor and I have to say, I'm impressed.

The screen itself is large, nicely finished with a small bezel. The picture is very clear and bright, with great contrast and colours.

My only complaint is where the buttons are located - on the underside of the bezel on the right hand side. Apart from that I;ve had no problems.

I would highly recommend this monitor for anyone who plays video games or watches movies a lot. Nice one BenQ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No eye strain & sparkling images, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. Martin Brown (Romsey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
Having lived with it for a few days I find that it is very easy on the eyes. I also find that the wide screen aids productivity enabling more 'windows' on the screen. The 24" screen seems just about the right size.

For word processing etc the sharpness is no different from any other monitor but when the screen saver pictures start appearing it is immediately apparent that it is a cut above the average. Appropriate pictures really do sparkle and are as sharp as any screen I have seen. I have now set up a folder of 16 x 9 shots just for the screen saver (you can select the folder you want in 'Control Panel') and find myself sitting back to watch the show when they appear.

Update: One year later, I am still delighted with the screen. Highly recommended.
Update: Three years later, it is still working perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D), 10 Mar 2012
By 
s0ulassassin (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
This is a great monitor at a great price! First off I ordered it via a fulfilled order from Amazon which was "OfficeEtc" on free delivery but it arrived the next day.

Easy setup up and connected via DVI-D 2m Cable (Purchased Separate). It was up and running in next to no time. The picture quality is superb from game playing to everyday use.

I tracked this item when it was £180+ but decided to ride it out when the prices lowered..............I wish I'd had purchased it sooner!

Everyone loves a bargain and you won't be disappointed! Even if you use this for everyday use or for the Game Playing/T.V. Viewing to catch up on programmes or due to as a space saving PC T.V. Unit. You cannot go wrong at the price or quality.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benq 24-inch Widescreen., 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
I was a little hesitant about this purchase as it was so cheap, but i needn't have worried. It was easy to set up straight out of the box, needed zero adjustments and did just what it says on the tin.
I'm not into gaming or watching dvd's on my pc so i cant't comment on how well this monitor performs in those areas, but as a day to day work horse it is perfect. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gordons Thoughts on BenQ 2420HDBL, 8 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. G. A. Hunter "G A 15" (Fife Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BenQ G2420HDBL 24-inch Widescreen LED Back-Light Monitor (Full-HD, DVI-D, 5ms,Glossy Black, 5million:1DCR, Vista Premium, Senseye and Photo Technology) (Electronics)
Have had this monitor for a year now,never had a single problem,Looks and acts as if it had just came out of its box,in one word Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews