Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uncomfortable to watch but gripping at the same time
This film is harrowing and somewhat disturbing, i would have given it a 18 certificate rather than a 15, but only because of the issues its dealing with...based on a true story about a man who was wrongly arrested and then persecuted for a crime he never committed. Lots of guns in it, and yes...a very bloody ending, but all is put right, in the end. I won't spoil it for...
Published 18 months ago by RICHARD CALVER

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Load of rubbish
What a a complete and utter load of rubbish.Poor acting.Poor script. rubbish story.The lead actor( Eric Braeden) couldn't act to save his life.For some reason he thinks he is Clint Eastwood.The "write up"claimed it is based on the true story of the Thibadaux massacre-it is not.The central story is fiction and the Thibadaux massarce only accounts for a couple of...
Published 21 months ago by porgie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Load of rubbish, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What a a complete and utter load of rubbish.Poor acting.Poor script. rubbish story.The lead actor( Eric Braeden) couldn't act to save his life.For some reason he thinks he is Clint Eastwood.The "write up"claimed it is based on the true story of the Thibadaux massacre-it is not.The central story is fiction and the Thibadaux massarce only accounts for a couple of minutes of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really Shouldn't Have Bothered Coming Back!, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Enthusiasm for westerns is something shared by persons as diverse as Josef Stalin, Winston Churchill and Ludwig Wittgenstein. Oh, and me as well! I can't imagine that they would be too impressed with this one. Stalin's reaction would no doubt have been to send the director Glen Petrie to the Gulags in Siberia, if he could have laid his hands on him, to prevent him from making more horrors like this. My experience through watching modern westerns should have warned me, but I just can't help self immolating myself in them. I think I need help!

The film is based on the Thibodaux massacre in Louisiana in 1887. The story concerns a white overseer, played by Eric Braeden, who demands justice for ex slave workers. These people are mercilessly exploited by white plantation owners who pay them in worthless notes, putting them into debt with the plantations. Under such circumstances they rebel against this draconian system and strike, with the inevitable violent repercussions. After a number of atrocities and a kangaroo court, Braeden ends up in a brutal prison, but it will not be giving too much away to say that he comes back. Good will to all men is not at the forefront of his thinking.

The story line is not a bad one, and the film is certainly better than that other recent dire western "Defiance", which plumbed the depths of ineptitude. It is also marginally better than the pretty awful "Age of the Gunslinger", but not a lot. Lead actor Eric Braeden strives manfully, but how should I put it politely, is a little past his sell by date. It was simply amazing that a man of his age was able to endure such hardship, let alone come back. No wonder he had a permanently world weary look. Braeden has a highly embarrassing love scene with an attractive prostitute, which would have been better omitted, together with everything else. Billy Zane plays a lesser role as a corrupt Yankee lawyer. He worked with Braeden on "Titanic", and was obviously keen to jump on board another sinking ship with him. Respected actor George Kennedy, who must be well into his eighties now, turns up as a corrupt judge. He is not required to get out of his seat often! The worst is saved to last as the film heads to a sickly and contrived ending, that like "Age of the Gunslinger", shamelessly plagiarises a famous Ridley Scott film. I suggest you don't bother watching to find out! Two stars, because it is a western
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mumble She Wrote, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a bold attempt by an independent production to get to the level of a big studio film. It has its moments but is let down in a number of areas. I found the lead and Armand Assante far too prone to mumbling which required the film to be listened to at ear-melting sound levels. Eric Braeden has the body weight and build to hit and hit hard but I think the role needed someone a little younger. There seemed to be a bit of line fluffing, and (most oddly) although the slave plantation was in the woods down by the swamp, the town appeared to be in the desert. This and the rather black and white moralising (literally) with villains so horrid even Simon Legree would jeer at them meant the film lacked much suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uncomfortable to watch but gripping at the same time, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This film is harrowing and somewhat disturbing, i would have given it a 18 certificate rather than a 15, but only because of the issues its dealing with...based on a true story about a man who was wrongly arrested and then persecuted for a crime he never committed. Lots of guns in it, and yes...a very bloody ending, but all is put right, in the end. I won't spoil it for you, but yes, well worth watching if you are able to take 2hours of injustice filled with action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Limp western., 23 Jun. 2010
By 
M. Boost "Boostie" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Billy Zane's traveled down the Straight-to-Video route which is a shame as he is one of the few redeeming things in this movie. He scene steals shamelessly and brilliantly. We should be thankful for him as this movie is a bit of a stinker and a little dull.

It could be great, the premis is excellent, but as someone else has said it's too "clean" and very flat in its direction.

A waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD - The Man who came back., 11 May 2010
By 
Mike Harding "mirose" (Bradford.W.Yorks.UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I enjoyed this unusual western & extremely pleased with the excellent service. Based on a true story of the "Thibodaux Massacre" of 1887 a gripping story of a man taking revenge against a cruel system after his family is brutally murdered. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Brilliantly entertaining brutal yet this movie was was surprisingly not boring like I expected

I'd driscribe it as a style taken brilliant billy zanie preformed well and too top it off a true story

Not for the faint hearted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars BULL**** and it aint whip., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Give This A Very Wide Berth, what a LOAD of HOKEM POKEM. poor acting is an understatement, if it wasn,t so bad it would be laughable.
how this character lived as long ????????

minus five stars and that is kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars if possible as it is slightly better than average, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Familiar story of the wronged man returning to seek revenge. Would have said 3.5 stars if possible as it is slightly better than average. Overall worth watching if you are a western fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars western with the best, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
this was well worth the money - if you like westerns then get this watch it - shove it in a draw and drag it out five, seven months later and you will want to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008]
The Man Who Came Back [DVD] [2008] by Billy Zane (DVD - 2010)
£4.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews