Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Smooth AOR - Foreigner Return!
I have been looking forward to this album for several years since Kelly Hansen joined Foreigner. Anyone who has heard him sing with Foreigner will know that he does real justice to their back catalogue of classic hits. The biggest compliment I can pay is that you can imagine Lou Gramm singing all these songs on this album. That is not to say that Kelly has simply mimicked...
Published on 6 Feb 2010 by M. F. DONNELLY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Not a bad album but unfortunately no-where near what they used to do, taken in context considering that the best Foreigner days are well gone then this album serves well, just don't expect another Foriegner 4 or Head Games etc!!
Published 18 months ago by DAVID J MAYER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars STILL THERE, 10 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I got this cd after seeing them with STYX & JOURNEY and they were great but they see beter live than on this cd , the LIVE cd is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Love this album and it's production/tempo/great singer...definately buy it. Gutted I missed them at the High Voltage Festival in 2010 but they're back in the UK this year I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long wait was worth it!!!, 2 Oct 2010
By 
N. Fitzgerald (Newtownabbey, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Fifteen years is a long career break by any standards,but Mick Jones has lost none of his renowned songwriting ability and has delivered the goods with this brilliant album.
It's a great mixture of ballads and rockers with Kelly Hanson's superb vocals combined with Mick's guitar pyrotechnics.
It also represents great value for money,you get the new album,a live version of Foreigners previous smash hits to sing along to,plus a recently recorded DVD of the band on their European concert.
Buy it,then sit back and enjoy it.....I certainly did!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Classic Rock, 12 July 2010
By 
Mr. G. W. Jordan "jgary763" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I've been a follower of Foreigner since the early 1980s. To stumble upon this new album after so many years was a nice surprise. To find that there was a second CD of some of their classic tracks rerecorded was a bonus and then to realise that a live DVD was also included seemed incredible value.
There is a nice mix of ballads and balls-out rock amongst the new stuff. I highly recommend it to lovers of 80s-style rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...but they have slowed down, 20 Jun 2010
This review is from: Can't Slow Down (Audio CD)
Well, if it takes a 15 year hiatus for Mick Jones to write a sackful of quality melodies to get hooked on, perhaps more writers should follow his lead. The songwriting really is the key to what is probably Foreigner's best all round album ever, even if the only remains of the original band is the name and Jones himself. Yes, and despite its title, slower music dominates on this 13 song set, although there are a few faster ones such as the title track. The vocals of Kelly Hansen are unashamedly in the mould of ex-vocalist Lou Gramm, but if they weren't it wouldn't sound like Foreigner. If anything, he sounds better then Gramm, although much of this may be down to engineering.

That brings me on to a couple of negative points. It is a loud well compressed recording which can be a bit hard to take through headphones after listening to the first few tracks. So, it would have benefited from a bit more subtlety in its engineering. In fact, the only old song in the set, Fool For You Anyway, does have far more variation in tone and nuance than the rest. The other criticism is that some tracks do have some pretty naff fade outs which, on a record that must have take so much effort producing, is quite odd. It loses a star because of these points.

Nevertheless, this is by any standard an excellent AOR set which Mr Jones and his new band should feel pretty pleased with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise., 16 May 2010
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I dudn't realise that Foreigner were still going until I heard the title track of this album played on Planet Rock. Having heard it I thought it was the old line up. I didn't know that they had a new lead singer. The new guy fits in so well and easily does justice to the older material. There are some really great tracks on this album, but my favourite so far is definitely the title track, 'Can't slow down.'

Foreigner have always been one of my favourite bands and this album is another addition to a great catalogue. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars normal service, 8 May 2010
By 
T. Burton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
now this is aself penned album foreigner can look forward to the future and not look back to the lou gramm days, kelly hansens voice very powerful,mick jones guitar is back at the top of his game ,well worth a purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lou who!, 6 May 2010
By 
R. Baker "styxman" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Three of my favourite bands, Styx, Journey and Foreigner have changed their lead singers. Foreigner have found the best replacement. Kelly Henson, the replacement for Lou Gramm, whilst keeping the same sound without mimicking has kept the traditions of Foreigner alive. A brilliant album, on a par with any other previous Foreigner offering. The oldies on disc 2 have lost nothing for having a new lead singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album, 26 April 2010
By 
S. Woodley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I've hardly rotated from this album since I bought it!
If you like rock with melodies then you should love this. In fact even if you don't there's such variation that many tracks could cross to different audiences.
Has all the classic Foreigner touches as well as an extra dimension from singer Kelly Hansen, he does a brilliant job throughout, which is not easy with the fair variety of styles on show here. When he needs to rock, he rocks, when it's time for a ballad he's smooth and even when there's a bit of 60's style R & B he takes it in his stride.

In short. A great set of songs, excellent production and excellent band performances.
In this pack you also get a Live DVD and Greatest Hits Live CD - so it's a no-brainer really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!, 21 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Magic Album, well worth buying!
kelly hansen voice is awesome as usual!
the whole band put in a magic performance
give the album 10/10
go and buy it you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can't Slow Down + DVD
Can't Slow Down + DVD by Foreigner (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews