Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Smooth AOR - Foreigner Return!
I have been looking forward to this album for several years since Kelly Hansen joined Foreigner. Anyone who has heard him sing with Foreigner will know that he does real justice to their back catalogue of classic hits. The biggest compliment I can pay is that you can imagine Lou Gramm singing all these songs on this album. That is not to say that Kelly has simply mimicked...
Published on 6 Feb 2010 by M. F. DONNELLY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Not a bad album but unfortunately no-where near what they used to do, taken in context considering that the best Foreigner days are well gone then this album serves well, just don't expect another Foriegner 4 or Head Games etc!!
Published 18 months ago by DAVID J MAYER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Smooth AOR - Foreigner Return!, 6 Feb 2010
By 
M. F. DONNELLY (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I have been looking forward to this album for several years since Kelly Hansen joined Foreigner. Anyone who has heard him sing with Foreigner will know that he does real justice to their back catalogue of classic hits. The biggest compliment I can pay is that you can imagine Lou Gramm singing all these songs on this album. That is not to say that Kelly has simply mimicked Lou as he has his own brilliant style.

This album is superbly produced perfect AOR and a lot lighter than Lou Gramm's solo album but highlights the strength of Mick Jones' songwriting qualities.

Title track Can't Slow Down starts the album off in fine style and is the heaviest track on the album.

In Pieces is more atmospheric and is my personal favorite and really highlights Kelly Hansen's vocal qualities.

When It Comes To Love starts with signature Foreigner saxophone and is super-smooth AOR ballad. Another outstanding vocal performance from Kelly Hansen on this one.

Living In A Dream is one of those tracks you could really imagine Lou Gramm singing.

A great piano intro starts another great ballad I Can't Give Up.

Ready and Give Me A Sign return the album to a more rocking vibe.

I'll Be Home Tonight is yet another super smooth AOR track with a great chorus.

Too Late has a Maroon 5 feel to it and is yet another quality track.

As Long As I Live and Angel Tonight are typical classic Foreigner.

Fool For You Anyway has a Hall & Oates feel to it and is a great album track but perhaps not the best to close the album.

This is a quality AOR release with consistently great songs throughout and arguably the second best album release by Foreigner since the seminal 4 way back in 1981. The one minor flaw is the lack of any out and out rockers like Urgent, Juke-Box Hero or Dirty White Boy. Also surprisingly there are no power ballads like I Wanna Know What Love Is or Waiting For A Girl Like You. Credit must be given, however, for not simply trying to cash in on past glories. Kelly Hansen is the real star of this album, however, he owes a major debt of gratitude to Mick Jones for providing him with such excellent songs to sing. The bonus disc of Foreigner classics highlights how well Kelly Hansen covers these tunes.

If you like tour rock hard and heavy then I would steer clear of this album, however, if you have a penchant for classic AOR then I would highly recommend this album. One of the albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BACK TO THEIR BEST, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Stephen Langford "Steve L" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down (Audio CD)
Its been a long time coming but this release is definetly up there with the best Foreigner has to offer.
if you can get the 3 disc version the dvd has some good live footage and the remixes disc comes out well.
Kelly Hanson on vocals has really settled into the band and has a fine voice handling the old stuff very well.
The disc of new material shows that Mick Jones has found a good partner in Hanson with some good up tempo rocking and the slower numbers as you would expect a Foreigner slowy to sound.
overall well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...AOR legends return to claim their throne..., 22 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
It's been a long, long time since the phrase "new Foreigner album" could be bandied around, without people pointing and mocking. In fact, it's been 16 years since the under-performing Mr. Moonlight record was released, and their last with original vocalist Lou Gramm. But Foreigner founder member Mick Jones hasn't been idling since reactivating the Foreigner name five or so years back, after a post-Gramm split hiatus. Instead, he's taken the band around the world and back again, playing live and reminding people of why they sold so many records the first time around. And there was a good reason for them selling over 50 million records worldwide. They had really great songs. It's simple but true, although so many bands seem to forget how essential it is. Which will be why this became the first Foreigner album to crack the Billboard Top 30 since Inside Information back in 1987. And now, us lucky foreigners are getting the chance to hear it for ourselves.

Jones is the only current Foreigner member with any attachment to the name, but the lynch-pin of the new new band is undoubtedly vocalist Kelly Hansen, a singer who deserved to be brought back from obscurity two decades after his star briefly shone with Hurricane. Mick Jones has also picked his rhythm section well with bassist Jeff Pilson (ex Dokken / Dio / MSG) sitting in beside new drummer Brian Tichy (Ozzy / Slash / Glenn Hughes), himself a replacement for Jason Bonham on the drum stool. It's a potent lineup, chock full of rock quality.

But it would all be for nothing if the record itself turned out to be rubbish. Thankfully, Mick Jones' writing mojo is still intact, even if he does err on the side of ballad. Although I suspect that was always going to be the case, given what the general public remember Foreigner best for. But it's when he digs out the rock guitars that it all works best for me. The opener, "Can't Slow Down" is the best of them, a track glistening with AOR class, but the seventies Foreigner throwback of "Too Late" runs it a close second, with it's Ian McDonald style keyboard sound. Elsewhere, "When It Comes To Love", brings in that patented "Urgent" saxophone sound, and there's more upbeat melodic rock in the shape of "Ready" and "Give Me A Sign". However, if it's a ballad you want, then look no further than "I Can't Give Up", which is up there with the best of them, featuring a flawless vocal from Kelly Hansen. The album also has a great sound, courtesy of producer Marti Frederiksen, best known for his Aerosmith collaborations, although Jones does bring in his stepson, Mark Ronson, to produce one number.

The album itself comes in several options with a 2CD / 1DVD edition including a live album and DVD, as well as a Collectors Edition replete with a signed 7" single. There's even a vinyl album version for folks who haven't bought a record since 4 came out. Or you could just get the regular CD.

And you should get it, because it's a fantastic album of quality, melodic rock, albeit one that could have lost a couple of the ballads for more of an impact. However, since it has been 16 years since the last Foreigner album, I'm happy to let that one slide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC - You Suck!, 11 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Firstly can I say please ignore the review from the BBC above. I do not understand why Amazon allowed it to be posted, it is unhelpful and clearly written by somebody who does not like this genre of music. Anyhow, all the 5 Star reviews speak for themselves.

I do not have much more to add that has already be said - This is a great comeback album from the boys which shows new singer Kelly Hansen is more than competent to take the role of Lou Gramm.

There is a new live album due which will complement this one. Foreigner - Don't Slow Down, we don't want you to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply outstanding., 25 Feb 2011
By 
Stephen Bargh (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Don't take any notice whatsoever of the vacuous excuse of a review by Barney Hoskyns of the BBC. Complete Tosh.

This is simply a superb rock album. The songs are infectious, great melodies, production is crystal clear, playing is first class ("unit of proficient hacks... playing with leaden predictability?? Unbelievable that anyone with an interest in music at all could write that), and as several reviewers mention, Jones hasn't simply rested on the old foreigner laurels; whilst the foreigner "sound" is definitely there on several songs, you also get a funky horn section on a few tracks, and the songs have a more modern feel than just blasting out formula rock.

And for value, hard to beat; a live CD and live DVD thrown in, both of which are excellent.

A fantastic album. SO far removed from the dross of the X factor... Don't be taken in by the BBC review... If you like melodic rock, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back On Form - special edition, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
hmv - 16. I'll say no more. Got this because I'm going to see Foreigner support Journey in June, and wanted to gauge whether or not it would be a totally deflating experience. I shouldn't have worried. On the evidence of one listen and a look at the dvd of the European Tour 2009, Foreigner are back with a bang. Mick Jones has pulled together a band of AOR veterans, and found a stunning vocalist in Kelly Hanson - he is awesome. Jeff Pilson is no slouch on the bass either. Tom Gimbel is a very good second guitarist and saxophonist. Brian Tichy is a showman drummer, only Michael Bluestein on keyboards seemed a little out of place, but competent enough. Compare this to Mr Moonlight 15 years earlier (1994) and its like the band is reborn. Mick Jones is well into his 60's and is rocking like a good 'un. Kelly Hanson is no Lou Gramm copyist, and the album is the better for it. At times on the dvd he does look like Steven Tyler's younger brother. The dvd cleverly cuts up several performances of the same song together, so you get big stage, little stage, white shirt, tee shirt, sunny day, overcast and wet all in the same song which takes some getting used to.
On the basis of what's on offer here, June will be a blast, and Foreigner with this line-up is alive and definitely kicking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barney Hoskyns is so damned wrong, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I bought this album in Walmart in Baltimore in September 2009, and was blown away on the first listen. It is an album that will rank as one of Foreigner's best.

I'm not sure which album Barney Hoskyns, who wrote the BBC review included here, actually listened to. What is obvious is that he knows little about rock.

Stick to Girls Aloud Barney! Give this album a spin, you'll be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forigner a superb album, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Not one bad song on this album kellys voice is at its best and the music is fantastic true forigner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down (Audio CD)
Not a bad album but unfortunately no-where near what they used to do, taken in context considering that the best Foreigner days are well gone then this album serves well, just don't expect another Foriegner 4 or Head Games etc!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can"t slow down Foregner, 16 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Very Good the product came in the promisd time one of the best records from the band the old songs was ecelent with the new line op of forenger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can't Slow Down + DVD
Can't Slow Down + DVD by Foreigner (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews