Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Smooth AOR - Foreigner Return!
I have been looking forward to this album for several years since Kelly Hansen joined Foreigner. Anyone who has heard him sing with Foreigner will know that he does real justice to their back catalogue of classic hits. The biggest compliment I can pay is that you can imagine Lou Gramm singing all these songs on this album. That is not to say that Kelly has simply mimicked...
Published on 6 Feb. 2010 by M. F. DONNELLY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Not a bad album but unfortunately no-where near what they used to do, taken in context considering that the best Foreigner days are well gone then this album serves well, just don't expect another Foriegner 4 or Head Games etc!!
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by DAVID J MAYER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Smooth AOR - Foreigner Return!, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
M. F. DONNELLY (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I have been looking forward to this album for several years since Kelly Hansen joined Foreigner. Anyone who has heard him sing with Foreigner will know that he does real justice to their back catalogue of classic hits. The biggest compliment I can pay is that you can imagine Lou Gramm singing all these songs on this album. That is not to say that Kelly has simply mimicked Lou as he has his own brilliant style.

This album is superbly produced perfect AOR and a lot lighter than Lou Gramm's solo album but highlights the strength of Mick Jones' songwriting qualities.

Title track Can't Slow Down starts the album off in fine style and is the heaviest track on the album.

In Pieces is more atmospheric and is my personal favorite and really highlights Kelly Hansen's vocal qualities.

When It Comes To Love starts with signature Foreigner saxophone and is super-smooth AOR ballad. Another outstanding vocal performance from Kelly Hansen on this one.

Living In A Dream is one of those tracks you could really imagine Lou Gramm singing.

A great piano intro starts another great ballad I Can't Give Up.

Ready and Give Me A Sign return the album to a more rocking vibe.

I'll Be Home Tonight is yet another super smooth AOR track with a great chorus.

Too Late has a Maroon 5 feel to it and is yet another quality track.

As Long As I Live and Angel Tonight are typical classic Foreigner.

Fool For You Anyway has a Hall & Oates feel to it and is a great album track but perhaps not the best to close the album.

This is a quality AOR release with consistently great songs throughout and arguably the second best album release by Foreigner since the seminal 4 way back in 1981. The one minor flaw is the lack of any out and out rockers like Urgent, Juke-Box Hero or Dirty White Boy. Also surprisingly there are no power ballads like I Wanna Know What Love Is or Waiting For A Girl Like You. Credit must be given, however, for not simply trying to cash in on past glories. Kelly Hansen is the real star of this album, however, he owes a major debt of gratitude to Mick Jones for providing him with such excellent songs to sing. The bonus disc of Foreigner classics highlights how well Kelly Hansen covers these tunes.

If you like tour rock hard and heavy then I would steer clear of this album, however, if you have a penchant for classic AOR then I would highly recommend this album. One of the albums of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...AOR legends return to claim their throne..., 22 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
It's been a long, long time since the phrase "new Foreigner album" could be bandied around, without people pointing and mocking. In fact, it's been 16 years since the under-performing Mr. Moonlight record was released, and their last with original vocalist Lou Gramm. But Foreigner founder member Mick Jones hasn't been idling since reactivating the Foreigner name five or so years back, after a post-Gramm split hiatus. Instead, he's taken the band around the world and back again, playing live and reminding people of why they sold so many records the first time around. And there was a good reason for them selling over 50 million records worldwide. They had really great songs. It's simple but true, although so many bands seem to forget how essential it is. Which will be why this became the first Foreigner album to crack the Billboard Top 30 since Inside Information back in 1987. And now, us lucky foreigners are getting the chance to hear it for ourselves.

Jones is the only current Foreigner member with any attachment to the name, but the lynch-pin of the new new band is undoubtedly vocalist Kelly Hansen, a singer who deserved to be brought back from obscurity two decades after his star briefly shone with Hurricane. Mick Jones has also picked his rhythm section well with bassist Jeff Pilson (ex Dokken / Dio / MSG) sitting in beside new drummer Brian Tichy (Ozzy / Slash / Glenn Hughes), himself a replacement for Jason Bonham on the drum stool. It's a potent lineup, chock full of rock quality.

But it would all be for nothing if the record itself turned out to be rubbish. Thankfully, Mick Jones' writing mojo is still intact, even if he does err on the side of ballad. Although I suspect that was always going to be the case, given what the general public remember Foreigner best for. But it's when he digs out the rock guitars that it all works best for me. The opener, "Can't Slow Down" is the best of them, a track glistening with AOR class, but the seventies Foreigner throwback of "Too Late" runs it a close second, with it's Ian McDonald style keyboard sound. Elsewhere, "When It Comes To Love", brings in that patented "Urgent" saxophone sound, and there's more upbeat melodic rock in the shape of "Ready" and "Give Me A Sign". However, if it's a ballad you want, then look no further than "I Can't Give Up", which is up there with the best of them, featuring a flawless vocal from Kelly Hansen. The album also has a great sound, courtesy of producer Marti Frederiksen, best known for his Aerosmith collaborations, although Jones does bring in his stepson, Mark Ronson, to produce one number.

The album itself comes in several options with a 2CD / 1DVD edition including a live album and DVD, as well as a Collectors Edition replete with a signed 7" single. There's even a vinyl album version for folks who haven't bought a record since 4 came out. Or you could just get the regular CD.

And you should get it, because it's a fantastic album of quality, melodic rock, albeit one that could have lost a couple of the ballads for more of an impact. However, since it has been 16 years since the last Foreigner album, I'm happy to let that one slide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BACK TO THEIR BEST, 5 Nov. 2009
By 
Stephen Langford "Steve L" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down (Audio CD)
Its been a long time coming but this release is definetly up there with the best Foreigner has to offer.
if you can get the 3 disc version the dvd has some good live footage and the remixes disc comes out well.
Kelly Hanson on vocals has really settled into the band and has a fine voice handling the old stuff very well.
The disc of new material shows that Mick Jones has found a good partner in Hanson with some good up tempo rocking and the slower numbers as you would expect a Foreigner slowy to sound.
overall well worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC - You Suck!, 11 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Firstly can I say please ignore the review from the BBC above. I do not understand why Amazon allowed it to be posted, it is unhelpful and clearly written by somebody who does not like this genre of music. Anyhow, all the 5 Star reviews speak for themselves.

I do not have much more to add that has already be said - This is a great comeback album from the boys which shows new singer Kelly Hansen is more than competent to take the role of Lou Gramm.

There is a new live album due which will complement this one. Foreigner - Don't Slow Down, we don't want you to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back On Form - special edition, 20 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
hmv - £16. I'll say no more. Got this because I'm going to see Foreigner support Journey in June, and wanted to gauge whether or not it would be a totally deflating experience. I shouldn't have worried. On the evidence of one listen and a look at the dvd of the European Tour 2009, Foreigner are back with a bang. Mick Jones has pulled together a band of AOR veterans, and found a stunning vocalist in Kelly Hanson - he is awesome. Jeff Pilson is no slouch on the bass either. Tom Gimbel is a very good second guitarist and saxophonist. Brian Tichy is a showman drummer, only Michael Bluestein on keyboards seemed a little out of place, but competent enough. Compare this to Mr Moonlight 15 years earlier (1994) and its like the band is reborn. Mick Jones is well into his 60's and is rocking like a good 'un. Kelly Hanson is no Lou Gramm copyist, and the album is the better for it. At times on the dvd he does look like Steven Tyler's younger brother. The dvd cleverly cuts up several performances of the same song together, so you get big stage, little stage, white shirt, tee shirt, sunny day, overcast and wet all in the same song which takes some getting used to.
On the basis of what's on offer here, June will be a blast, and Foreigner with this line-up is alive and definitely kicking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply outstanding., 25 Feb. 2011
By 
Stephen Bargh (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Don't take any notice whatsoever of the vacuous excuse of a review by Barney Hoskyns of the BBC. Complete Tosh.

This is simply a superb rock album. The songs are infectious, great melodies, production is crystal clear, playing is first class ("unit of proficient hacks... playing with leaden predictability?? Unbelievable that anyone with an interest in music at all could write that), and as several reviewers mention, Jones hasn't simply rested on the old foreigner laurels; whilst the foreigner "sound" is definitely there on several songs, you also get a funky horn section on a few tracks, and the songs have a more modern feel than just blasting out formula rock.

And for value, hard to beat; a live CD and live DVD thrown in, both of which are excellent.

A fantastic album. SO far removed from the dross of the X factor... Don't be taken in by the BBC review... If you like melodic rock, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb invigorated return by Foreigner, 6 April 2010
By 
S. Robson (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
Many of the songs on 'Can't Slow Down' have been reviewed in some detail by previous reviewers, however it is suffice to say that this album may turn out to be one of the best melodic rock releases of the decade! Mick Jones is not afraid to mix things up stylistically and although never straying far from hook laden songs drenched in melody, there are moments of cool 'rock & soul' on 'Fool For You Anyway'. Rockers come in the form of 'Can't Slow Down' and 'Ready' which has inflections of Cheap Trick at their very best.

Kelly Hansen's Vocal range and tone is simply breath taking. Kelly's heartfelt and emotional delivery of songs such as 'In Pieces', I'll be Home Tonight' and 'As Long as I Live' make you believe he's lived and felt every moment he's singing about. Musically stunning right through from Mick Jones guitar playing to the multi-talented Tom Gimbel's Saxophone and guitar and Michael Bluestein's Keys, underpinned by the powerhouse rythmn section of Jeff Pilson and Brian Tichy.

In my humble opinion this is probably the best album Foreigner have ever produced (yeah even better than 4) - all killer and no filler!
I think in Kelly Hansen Mick Jones has found someone who performs the old Foreigner material like it was just meant to be but who re-invents the band to an extent that rock fans who were not avid followers of Foreigner may just have found their new favourite melodic rock band - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...but they have slowed down, 20 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Can't Slow Down (Audio CD)
Well, if it takes a 15 year hiatus for Mick Jones to write a sackful of quality melodies to get hooked on, perhaps more writers should follow his lead. The songwriting really is the key to what is probably Foreigner's best all round album ever, even if the only remains of the original band is the name and Jones himself. Yes, and despite its title, slower music dominates on this 13 song set, although there are a few faster ones such as the title track. The vocals of Kelly Hansen are unashamedly in the mould of ex-vocalist Lou Gramm, but if they weren't it wouldn't sound like Foreigner. If anything, he sounds better then Gramm, although much of this may be down to engineering.

That brings me on to a couple of negative points. It is a loud well compressed recording which can be a bit hard to take through headphones after listening to the first few tracks. So, it would have benefited from a bit more subtlety in its engineering. In fact, the only old song in the set, Fool For You Anyway, does have far more variation in tone and nuance than the rest. The other criticism is that some tracks do have some pretty naff fade outs which, on a record that must have take so much effort producing, is quite odd. It loses a star because of these points.

Nevertheless, this is by any standard an excellent AOR set which Mr Jones and his new band should feel pretty pleased with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barney Hoskyns is so damned wrong, 9 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I bought this album in Walmart in Baltimore in September 2009, and was blown away on the first listen. It is an album that will rank as one of Foreigner's best.

I'm not sure which album Barney Hoskyns, who wrote the BBC review included here, actually listened to. What is obvious is that he knows little about rock.

Stick to Girls Aloud Barney! Give this album a spin, you'll be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album, 26 April 2010
By 
S. Woodley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Can't Slow Down + DVD (Audio CD)
I've hardly rotated from this album since I bought it!
If you like rock with melodies then you should love this. In fact even if you don't there's such variation that many tracks could cross to different audiences.
Has all the classic Foreigner touches as well as an extra dimension from singer Kelly Hansen, he does a brilliant job throughout, which is not easy with the fair variety of styles on show here. When he needs to rock, he rocks, when it's time for a ballad he's smooth and even when there's a bit of 60's style R & B he takes it in his stride.

In short. A great set of songs, excellent production and excellent band performances.
In this pack you also get a Live DVD and Greatest Hits Live CD - so it's a no-brainer really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Can't Slow Down + DVD
Can't Slow Down + DVD by Foreigner (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews