Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...The predator has no teeth."
It's often been tradition for sci-fi films to introduce themselves with a fantastic opening shot - Danny Boyle did it recently with 'Sunshine', and Generations is where Star Trek has a stab at a sensational opening piece. As the music rises from a barely discernable sound to a familiar fanfare, a champagne bottle twists in the vacuum of space and smashes against a new...
Published on 17 Nov. 2010 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Risk is part of the game.....
In the late twenty-third century, the gala maiden voyage of the third Starship Enterprise (NCC-1701-B) boasts such luminaries as Pavel Chekov, Montgomery Scott, and the legendary Captain James T. Kirk as guests. But the maiden voyage turns to disaster as the unprepared ship is forced to rescue two transport ships from a mysterious energy ribbon.

The Enterprise...
Published 5 days ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Trek for everyone?, 2 July 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Star Trek (VII) `Generations' had the difficult job of trying to please everyone (or every `Trekkie' at least) by bringing together both Captains of the Enterprise in the same adventure, while, at the same time, not giving too much screen time to the more tried and tested filmic icon, James T Kirk, in favour of the Next Generation.

So, out went the bankable old crew and in came the untested marketing enigma of whether the Next Generation's success on the small screen would translate to the big screen. And it was made so. Just.

Star Trek lore tells that the even numbered films are better than the odds. And, when you compare to the previous `Undiscovered Country' (number 6) and the following `First Contact' (8), you may be inclined to agree.

Generations is not a bad film. It's definitely one of the better odd numbered Star Trek films, but it was hampered with the impossible mission of bridging the gap between old and new. It does its best. The small time the two Captains are together is good fun to watch, just woefully too short. But then again, it's supposed to be the new lot's film, not another James T Kirk affair. Also, back with Kirk, there were only really three main characters (Kirk, Spock and Bones). Since the Next Generation, every regular cast member has been given his or her own set of episodes, therefore all of them are - almost - given their own screen time. Unfortunately, most people only prefer the more interesting characters of Piccard and Data, meaning you have to put up with Beverly Crusher and Ryker at the same time.

Generations won't really win too many new fans over to the Trek Universe. It's more a labour of love. I don't know anyone who truly loves it. They sort of put up with it as a necessary bridging gap between old and new. It's not the best, but it certainly isn't the worse (films 5 and 9 get my vote on that one).

You probably need slightly more than a mild interest in Trek to really enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nexusspotting, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though it may not be a perfect film, Star Trek: Generations is very underrated, I feel. Its plot's details can't always fight scrutiny and the pace can be awkward, yet it has some intriguing ideas and genuinely poignant moments. For an odd-numbered Star Trek film, I'd say it's pretty good.
In the prologue, retired captain James T. Kirk's attending the maiden voyage of Enterprise-B when two ships, containing alien refugees, send out a distress signal; they're caught in the Nexus, a destructive energy ribbon which keeps its prisoners in states of pure joy. Thanks to Kirk, a handful of them are saved while Enterprise-B just manages to escape, though he's seemingly sucked into the vaccum of space. 78 years later (according to an on-screen transcript; dialogue puts it at 80), The Next Generation crew discover an attacked observatory and rescue Dr. Tolian Soren (Malcolm McDowell), one of the original refugees, who'll sacrifice countless lives getting back to the Nexus.
I was a bit confused by what the Nexus is and does. Apparantly those within it can alter time outside it, which makes me wonder why one character doesn't exploit this to save more lives, or why, for that matter, Soren doesn't simply go back to before he became a refugee. HOW those within the Nexus can control time outside it is another matter entirely. Also, Guinan (Whoopi Goldberg), who was with Soren in the Nexus all those years ago, describes it as though its effect is purely visceral, whereas later we learn that it works in a more psychological way, though that's a minor point.
Soren's a fairly typical teeth-gnashing bad guy. The film could have been truly epic if it had developed him the way it did Picard and Kirk; their story arcs are Generation's emotional core. I found them deeply effective, elegiac even, as they ponder what lives dedicated to duty have cost them. These men share desires and regrets, sometimes expressed by the film with great poignancy. This is where Generations truly shines, and feels like a much-critically maligned part of it. Data's subplot, involving his acquisition of an emotion chip, is also good, but Picard and Kirk are what drive this story. Patrick Stewart and William Shatner deliver great performances (I was, however, amused to see a geriatric Kirk in a fight scene). I wish more time had been spent with Kirk; he takes a long time to re-appear after the prologue, while scenes which aren't really vital pop up. His last scene, however, is really quite moving. The same Kirk who waded through tribbles, witnessed the next step in our evolution, fought Khan twice, lost a son and forged peace with Klingons, ended up 80 years from home, attended by his successor after briefly finding happiness again. It's a powerful swansong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Generation Gap, 6 Aug. 2009
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Released in 1994 and directed by David Carson, "Generations" is based on Star Trek The Next Generations, while at the same time also stars several characters from the original Star Trek (including William Shatner) and is an interesting cross over between the two different series.

The film begins in the time of James T. Kirk, and we are taken aboard the newly commissioned U.S.S. Enterprise B. Kirk along with Scotty and Chekov (all original Star Trek characters and actors) are along for the ride and are described as "three living legends" by the Enterprises somewhat inexperienced Captain. Shortly into the ships first mission a distress call is received by two ships transporting "El-Aurian" refugees who are caught in some sort of subspace ribbon which is tearing them apart. Due to the fact that the new Enterprise is still missing some of it's critical components such as proton torpedoes, tractor beam, and no medical staff, Captain Harriman is initially reluctant to come to their aid stating that the Enterprise is in "no shape for a resume mission." Nevertheless thanks to the intervention by Captain Kirk they are able to rescue some of the survivors on board, however with the apparent tragic death of one of the living legends. Seven decades later we are onboard the Enterprise D, which we came to know through watching Star Trek The Next Generation. From here a Federation Observatory comes under attack by the Romulans searching for an experimental substance. One of the survivors from the attack is Doctor Soran (Malcolm McDowell) who was also on board one of the El-Aurian ships all those years ago. It emerges that Doctor Soran is desperate to return to the Nexus (the ribbon encountered by the Enterprise B) a reality where time and space has no meaning and everything is a personal paradise. He is willing to do whatever is necessary to return including destroyed a populated solar system. It's up to Captain Picard to stop him but he can't do it alone.

While the plot had plenty of promise I found it to be ultimately flawed. There are a number of plot holes left open by the end of the film, and a number of subplots that don't get answered. An example of such is the kidnapping and of La forge by Doctor Soran, there is no real explanation offered, and it seems rather convenient that this random event allows Soran to realize (a lot) later in the film that he actually has a use for him. Often the film seems disjointed and many aspects and ideas seem to have been conveniently created just for the sake of being added into the film to allow the film to actually work.

I felt that the trailers for the film gave far too much of the plot away, while at the same time was also misleading. I'm sure that I'm not the only one who believed that William Shatner was going to play a bigger part throughout the film as opposed to just the beginning and the end.

One aspect that I hated was the idea that the Federation flag ship with massive defensive systems can be defeated so easily by someone reading a short series of numbers from a computer panel. It would be like having all of your passwords written on a post-it note and stuck to your monitor for all to see. This seems insulting considering how much the ship has survived over the years.

What I don't like is the trend that the Star Trek films and even the television series have of reusing old footage. One of the biggest scenes in the film (the destruction of a Klingon ship) is a recycled scene from the earlier Star Trek The Undiscovered Country film, and that same scene is also used in Deep Space Nine several times.

There are several releases of Star Trek Generations on DVD, the original release that I own is very disappointing with absolutely no special features and a very basic menu structure. There is now a release of the film offering a number of special features such as deleted scenes. I would recommend trying to buy the latter for it's increased entertainment value.

Thankfully it wasn't all bad. The acting from the experienced cast is as excellent as expected. Patrick Stewart and William Shatner and definitely noteworthy and work well together. Data is far more human (thanks to the introduction of an emotion chip) and is a great to watch, and many of his one liners add a comical element to the film. Malcolm McDowell delivers a great performance as the bad guy. However I felt that his character wasn't the greatest. His motives were clear but are based on grief and desire more than anything else. The idea the this otherwise brilliant scientist would kill millions just to return to The Nexus seems slightly unlikely and combined with his somewhat tame character makes a rather tame and understated character.

The battle between the Enterprise D and the Klingon Bird Of Prey was entertaining and rather spectacular in terms of special effects.

I found the picture quality throughout the film excellent, as good use has been made of lighting effects such as the glow from a star filtering through the Enterprises windows.

The ending of the film was generally good (sadly due to the trailer and marketing of the film I knew what to expect) however in anyway it seems like it was used only to kill one of the characters.

While I enjoy Star Trek in all it's forms I'm not a hardcore Trekkie, and I expect that many more dedicated fans would enjoy the film more than I would. Personally however while it does have it's moments, Star Trek Generations has to many failings and disappointments for my taste, I felt that the next Star Trek film First Contact was far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I admit it; I cried, 24 April 2008
WARNING: THAR BE SPOILERS

I am the first to admit that I'm not a hardcore Trekkie, only singling out episodes with Data or Chekov in important roles to watch. But the promise of both Data AND Chekov in one movie was way too tempting, and the out-of-character craze inducing emotion chip Data uses sealed the deal. So I went out and bought the film on an impulse-buy shopping spree to help my mood.

I was not disappointed.

Generations, I would imagine, had an iffy reception being one of the odd-numbered films, and a lot of the major plot doesn't come until around the middle. What plot there is, however, is enticing, and incredibly exciting. You do have the niggling feeling that you know everything will turn out all right - it IS a Star Trek film after all. But the epic fight between the two captains and the insane Dr Soran will have you on the edge or your seat.

And I admit, at the end of that sequence, though I'm not a fan of Captain Kirk, I shed more than a few tears.

Thankfully, there is comic relief in the form of Data being extremely out-of-character due to the emotion chip. This device also serves as a philosophical discussion fuel between Data and Picard, and as a viewer, you come away from his movie with some thoughts to chew over. This is what I like and look for in a film.

All in all, Star Trek Generations is a powerful and moving piece of cinema, though it could have either been made longer, or moved a little faster in the beginning in order for the story to come across a little more clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovered Gem, 4 Mar. 2005
When this movie first came out i felt it was a bit of a let down. However, in hindsight i now know that the weight of expectation was so great that the final product could never live up to it.
Watching the movie now and i can appreciate it for what it is. a great movie which bridges the two generations in a clever, and touching way. the story is very good, with all the characters being used well, which is never easy when there are 7 main characters.
there are some minor gripes (eg. the enterprise is destroyed a bit too easily, but the fact it was destroyed is a very dramatic point in the film, and the crash-landing on the planet is better then any white knuckle ride i've ever been on). but these are only minor. Overall, this is an entertaining movie well worth another watch.
this special edition does have some nice extras all worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two captains, one destiny....and one fine Trek film...., 8 Dec. 2003
By 
Alex Diaz-Granados "fardreaming writer" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Star Trek: Generations, the seventh of 10 feature films based on the two series created by Gene Roddenberry, is the final passing of the torch from the Original Series to the Next Generation crew as Capt. Jean-Luc Picard and his crew takes the Enterprise-D on its continuining trek across the stars.
It is also William Shatner's final appearance as Capt. James Tiberius Kirk and, as Spock would say, a logical exit in what amounts to a guest role in an ambitious Star Trek: The Next Generation episode, albeit one made for the movies. It is an appearance fans had hoped for, since the rest of the "Enterprise Four" (Dr. McCoy, Scotty, Spock) had already made either cameos or appeared in major episodes ("Unification Parts I and II" and "Relics") set in the 24th Century.
Writers Brannon Braga, Ronald D. Moore (who is also involved in the Sci-Fi Channel's "reimagined" Battlestar Galactica miniseries) and Rick Berman came up with a creative way to bring Kirk and Picard together without using time travel or technological "cheats" like a transporter feedback loop (which is how Scotty had managed to enter the 24th Century). They would start the film in the 23rd Century, with Kirk doing something typically Kirk-heroic, then go forward in time to Picard's time and have the two captains join forces to face a common foe.
It's 2295. The Enterprise-A has been decommissioned, her crew disbanded and her senior officers retired or reassigned. Above Earth, the USS Enterprise NCC-1701-B is being launched, and Kirk, Scotty (James Doohan) and Chekov (Walter Koenig) are guests of honor at her commissioning ceremony. But the brief PR-friendly cruise to "Pluto and back" is cut short by a distress signal from two El-Aurian refugee vessels caught in a strange energy ribbon. Under the command of Capt. John Harriman (Alan Ruck), the woefully undermanned and underequipped Enterprise-B mounts a risky rescue mission, beaming a handful of El-Aurians aboard, including Dr. Tolian Soran (Malcolm McDowell) and future Enterprise-D bartender Guinan (Whoopi Goldberg).
But before the Enterprise-B can escape the effects of the energy ribbon, a tendril strikes the starship and causes damage. Kirk and Scotty find a way to get the starship out of harm's way...and the former captain of the original Enterprise heads down to the Engineering section to implement their plan. It works, but not before the energy ribbon's lightning-like rays lash out at the Enterprise and open a gash in the great ship's hull...right where James T. Kirk is standing...and the legendary captain vanishes and is presumed dead.
Fast forward 78 years into the 24th Century: The Galaxy-class Starship Enterprise-D is on the seventh year of its exploration-defense-diplomatic mission under the command of Capt. Picard (Patrick Stewart). It's a time of celebration as the crew celebrates Worf's (Michael Dorn) promotion to lieutenant commander, and everyone is enjoying the ceremony in the holodeck. After a light moment highlighting first officer William Riker's (Jonathan Frakes) penchant for practical jokes and Lt. Cmdr. Data's (Brent Spiner) inability to understand humor, the mood darkens when Picard receives a message from Earth that leaves him stunned with grief.
To make matters worse, an unknown force has brutally attacked the Amargosa Observatory, leaving only one survivor, Dr. Tolian Soran....the same man rescued from the energy ribbon nearly 80 years before by the Enterprise-B. Picard assigns his senior officers to investigate. After all, who would attack a scientific outpost...and why?
Soon Picard is forced to put his feelings of grief and guilt aside to confront the mystery at the Amargosa station and to find out why an obsessed genius seeks to destroy an entire star system and cause the strange energy ribbon -- known as the Nexus -- to change course. And in order to stop his unexpected new antagonist, Picard must enlist the aid of another legendary Starfleet captain of the Starship Enterprise.....
Director David Carson, making his debut as a feature film director here, keeps things moving at a fast, steady pace, making Star Trek: Generations an above-average entry in the movie series. Although Star Trek: First Contact is by far more exciting and interesting, Generations still has a good premise, stunning special effects and serves as a launching point for three more Star Trek films starring the Next Generation cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warp 1: engage, 21 April 2013
This film is very moving and contains themes which excel the star trek idea. Firstly, is the philosophy of the "Nexus". In the film, the idea of heaven is focused on via the idea of a temporal "Nexus" or connection. It's hard to go into any more detail because I don't want to give away the themes, but the film focuses on a man mad with a desire to return to the Nexus: this heaven. The film tries to define heaven and in doing so, makes good leaps. But, is flawed in that it attempts to criticise the idea of heaven as being prescribed or false. As Guinan says: "the nexus can be what you want it to be". The film is very philosophical and I liked the action. I just think that the idea of heaven being flawed, which is paramount throughout the film, is in itself flawed. I think that the film is the best star trek motion picture and it gets 5 stars. The two captains were great together: Picard and Kirk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great special effects, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek VII: Generations [Blu-ray] [1994] (Blu-ray)
to be honest its a really good special effects film and updated for the next generation but come on a better storyline would have been good, from all the star trek films to watch and rate this one would apear second from the bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars never should have killed off Kirk, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Tony "apr" (Nottingham,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the transfer film from old to next generation,We begin with the launch of the Enterprise B with Kirk,Scotty and Checkov aboard and it isn't long before their up to their necks in trouble, without giving away plot lines we switch to the Enterprise D, and for once we see the crew enjoying themselves on the holodeck, not long before for all hell brakes loose and we're off on another "Trek".This film is first class entertainment the acting is first rate and for my liking Patrick Stewart has never been better,.I just wish they would have somehow brought Kirk back.Paramount would not entertain idea of bringing the old crew back again at any cost.Shame on them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars best of the next gen films, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek VII: Generations [Blu-ray] [1994] (Blu-ray)
Many give First Contact this award, but for me, that film just felt a little poo faced and the initial borg cube fight was hugely disappointing. I love the Nexus plot in this film and Kirk is given a good sendoff. not sure why it has a 15 rating though. Musical score is second only to Final Frontier

As for the Blue Ray itself. There are plenty of interesting extras to get your teeth into. The picture quality is excellent although the sound is poorly balanced. As is so often the case with 'remasted' films, the dialog is too quiet whereas the action and music too loud. This is particularly bad for the whole series, particularly the later films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek VII: Generations [Blu-ray] [1994]
Star Trek VII: Generations [Blu-ray] [1994] by David Carson (Blu-ray - 2010)
£7.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews