Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Language Survival Guide
This is a highly entertaining book, and is essential reading for anyone who wishes to get beyond the idea that Brits working or holidaying abroad will get by by speaking their English louder and slower! When, and when not, to use the words "baiser" or "impossible", the meaning of back-slang, how to organise the numerous public holidays that employees are awarded, what...
Published on 12 Aug 2007 by G. N. Frykman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, Bad editing
Although the content is entertaining and quite relevant to vacationing and living in France it is spoilt in many cases by poor editing after the text has been "kindelized". For example words with accents in them seem to have a random letter added now and again. Now, I'm just learning French and I can pick some off these errors up but I'm not so good enough at the...
Published on 29 April 2012 by Peter L. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Language Survival Guide, 12 Aug 2007
By 
G. N. Frykman (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a highly entertaining book, and is essential reading for anyone who wishes to get beyond the idea that Brits working or holidaying abroad will get by by speaking their English louder and slower! When, and when not, to use the words "baiser" or "impossible", the meaning of back-slang, how to organise the numerous public holidays that employees are awarded, what university you simply have to go to... One is almost becoming sympathetic towards the French when they are faced with idiomatic English. But that would never do! Well done to Mr Timoney on providing this guide to modern French "as she is spoke".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to survive France !, 2 Aug 2007
By 
Andrew Kay (Périgord, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is definitely a Very Useful Book if you're planning to come to France, be it as a new resident or just for a holiday. Moreover it's highly entertaining as well. Don't worry if your spoken French isn't too good, this is not a dry textbook to improve it. Instead the author has compiled a list of words relating to some of the more incongruous, incomprehensible, or downright ennervating aspects of this country and goes on to explain not just what they mean but also what they might imply for the unwary.

The result is not only informative and educational, but also manages to be a very good read at the same time. If France were a desert island this is maybe the one book you'd have to take with you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vive La France, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hastings (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What an excellent read! I can highly recommend this for anyone about to venture to France for their vacation or even to live there. Extremely humorous with a very light touch, this warm-hearted, affectionate read is the perfect antidote for those who've had enough of the bile generated by the Francophobic tabloid press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Mar 2008
By 
Julia Rooney "Jules in Burgundy" (Burgundy, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wish I'd known about this book when we first came to live in France over a year ago. My ancient O-level French was all I had to rely on at the time and that included none of the extremely useful words and phrases I now know since reading Pardon My French. Not only has it improved my understanding of the language but also my understanding of certain aspects of the French way of life which can be so different from our own. Informative, entertaining and very easy to read. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pardon my French, 30 Jan 2009
By 
D. Seyeux "Chouchoulala" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. Being French, this does picture very well the French expressions that you must know before going to France!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK EVER ON FRANCE AND THE FRENCH, 5 Aug 2007
By 
pale rider (Truro, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is essential for anyone who wants to improve their French or just be mightily entertained. Even if your French is A level standard or better you will I bet find words here that have always bewildered you. It helps if you are just buying a train ticket or dealing with a waiter and it also explains all kinds of things they refer to in French newspapers - like SDP (a homeless person) and the arcane details of the French educational system. It's like a cross between Lynne Truss's 'Eats Shoots and Leaves' and Peter Mayle. My favourite is what the French say when smiling for a photograph - they done't say 'cheese' , they say 'ouistiti' - which means 'marmoset'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant, useful, informative., 12 Aug 2007
By 
Geoffrey Plow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So many books of this sort claim to teach you the language as it is really spoken and then fall short. This one delivers, and goes behind and beyond mere words. I haven't in the past come across any language primers that tell you what 'Angleterre' really means in French. Get the book and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on French, 25 May 2009
By 
C. D. Hickman (Charente Maritime France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best books on not only the French language but on giving a good insight into the way France works and thinks. It is a must for anyone living in France as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pardon My French, 11 Mar 2009
By 
G. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great and entertaining read for anyone who speaks some French. You'll enjoy this book if you enjoy traveling in France, trying to use and understand the language and French life. Some very funny observations and lots of deja vu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plus d'Entente Cordiale, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Classified by topical subject and listed alphabetically from "a" for "apéro", this slightly tongue-in-cheek guide sheds light on the expressions in common use which you often don't find in text books, and sets them in context.

Although informative, the choice of terms seems quite arbitrary, and I would have preferred shorter explanations and more words. After all, you can glean a great deal for nothing on the online site french.about.com. Also, the book would gain enormously from the inclusion of a CD to give the sounds of words, but I realise that would add to the cost.

Despite my reservations, with Christmas approaching this would make an appealing gift for a friend keen to understand and speak more authentic French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pardon My French: Unleash Your Inner Gaul
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews