Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climbing a mountain - Tonbrucket
Berglund means 'mountain grove' in old Norse; having seen the band perform live (at The Stables, UK), I would say that contrabassist Dan Berglund has climbed a considerable mountain following the demise of EST. Not only has he returned with a very credible first self-penned album, but he has also created a new sound - very much as Esbjorn Svensson did long ago in 1993...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by Anthony N. Marshall

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting rebirth
Dan Berglund, bassist for the Esbjorn Svensson Trio, releases his quartet's debut following the death of Svensson and the dissolution of EST. He has stated that the album bears his name, rather than just "Tonbruket", at the prompting of his record company, but this is neither a Bassist's project nor a nuEST venture. Instead, Berglund has a keyboardist who floats, dives...
Published on 26 Feb 2010 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting rebirth, 26 Feb 2010
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
Dan Berglund, bassist for the Esbjorn Svensson Trio, releases his quartet's debut following the death of Svensson and the dissolution of EST. He has stated that the album bears his name, rather than just "Tonbruket", at the prompting of his record company, but this is neither a Bassist's project nor a nuEST venture. Instead, Berglund has a keyboardist who floats, dives and cascades in and around the two stringed instruments in a way that is neither the lead nor the backdrop. The guitarist - lap steel and pedal steel guitars - seems to be the instrument around which the melodies centre, but these instruments are too ethereal as played on this album to sustain a presence that Metheny or BJ Cole would. To be fair, Berglund is writing songs for the first time. Hence the just falling short of 4 stars. Having said that, Berglund wields his bow on the double bass more than in EST and to great effect. There are some surprises and it does grow on you. Not a substitute for the loss of EST but a very promising new direction and not a wasted investment at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Debut, 4 Mar 2010
By 
The Soft Machine Operator (COVENTRY, WARWICKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
Dan Berglund's first post-EST album sees him explore a sound that owes more to progressive rock and world music than Jazz. The opening track, Sister Sad, and the closing track are epic songs with more than a hint of Pink Floyd sound thanks to the lap steel. GI Bop sounds like something you'd hear on a Penguin Cafe Orchestra album. Song for E is perhaps the closest to EST being a piano driven ballad. Berglund's bass playing is solid and interesting, but the album lacks the killer melodies of EST and takes repeated listens to sink in. The electronic sounds from EST are carried over here. I found some of the tracks quite evocative and atmospheric.

It's a good, if somewhat mixed start - I shall certainly be interested in hearing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climbing a mountain - Tonbrucket, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Anthony N. Marshall "Neil Marshall" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
Berglund means 'mountain grove' in old Norse; having seen the band perform live (at The Stables, UK), I would say that contrabassist Dan Berglund has climbed a considerable mountain following the demise of EST. Not only has he returned with a very credible first self-penned album, but he has also created a new sound - very much as Esbjorn Svensson did long ago in 1993. What has replaced the edgy, sensual and occasionally arresting interplay between kepboard and double bass in EST is a remarkable pairing of double bass with pedal steel guitar; Johan Lindstroem provides the perfect foil for Berglund's straining strings. It's different - it's not jazz as we know it Jim, and it's all the better for that; I think it will prove to be a new direction. The weakest link in their current 90 minute set is Tomas Hallonsten on Steinway and a vintage analogue Moog; he's in the mix most of the time, but you sometimes wonder why. Ironically, the most memorable keyboard output comes from Lindstrom - by design or accident, he's the link with EST and it would be good for Beglund to edge just a fraction closer back to his roots. Watch this group because they're going places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new beginnings, 22 Mar 2010
By 
M. Harding (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
We saw Berglund and Tonbruket recently and were mightily impressed - as we had been when we saw EST. I think that this is a great start, the band are young and they'll go far (listen to early EST and you'll see a considerable progression from CD to CD).
I think this album ranks higher than 4 stars, personally. Like a lot of favourite CDs in my collection, the music has grown on me quite considerably, proof that there is real substance here.
Like many EST fans, the untimely death of Esbjorn Svennson was devastating, a loss to music as significant as, say, Jimi Hendrix. Who can say where they would have gone to? But now having seen and heard Berglund, I have to say that his spirit more than lives on here. I applaud Berglund for having the strength to carry on and move into a unique area of his own.
This is a fine collection of songs, perhaps not as melodic as EST, but still plenty of catchy and memorable tunes nonetheless. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grows on you, 24 Dec 2010
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
My greatest regret was not seeing EST live at the Sage, Gateshead. But I did see Tonbruket. After I had got to know their music via this CD. I can only say at first I didn't see the point, but something made me want to listen to it again - and again, and again. It grew on me. It sounds simple, but is actually complex enough to keep you coming back. It's "work in progress", and I look forward to a second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Psurprisingly Psychedelic!, 22 July 2010
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of Sister Sad, the astounding opening number which is one of the most psychedelic things I've heard all year along with the new MGMT album. The album didn't disappoint at all and is still revealing new facets with each listen. The gorgeous keyboards and piano of Soundtrack of Our Lives member Martin Hederos deserve special mention - forceful and delicate by turns and at times quite reminiscent of Jan Johansson's spaciest moments.

The whole album is a truly absorbing listen, surprisingly psychedelic and pleasantly prog (in a good way) throughout. Gotta catch 'em live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DANS THE MAN-SUPERB MUSIC FROM BRILLIANT BASS PLAYER, 8 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
From the depths of despair emeges a thing of beauty,this was always going to be hard,but a fine collection of music has emerged,at times sounding like Terje Rypdal and others like Mike Oldfield,this complex music beguils and bewitches in equal parts.
The usual traits of Scandinavian miscellany are ther for all to hear,wonderful slide guitar sounds,sit alongside icy cold vingettes of electronic soundscapes,a record of fine beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Dan Berglund's Tonbruket (Audio CD)
The album largly replicates the live show and is frankly rather boring. There is absolutely no substance to any of the tracks and the musicians are,at best, adequate.
It's as though alot of backing tracks have been issued in the hope of attracting a soloist. So unless you want some lukewarm proggy wallpaper,I'd advise you to avoid this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dan Berglund's Tonbruket
Dan Berglund's Tonbruket by Dan Berglund (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews